Originally posted by hayaa:
**Who is the enemy? Who are you fighting against? What part did a 10 yr old inside the towers on Tuesday play in the killing of this child? Can you kill one kid for another and call it revenge? Do two wrongs make a right?
One thing's for sure: The state of mind of anyone slamming a plane into a building or opening fire on a kid, is definitely questionable.**
I wrote this in another thread of mine in the world affairs. Will repeat it here. Just a small example.
The gulf war ended in '91. or did it?
It was followed with sanctions....that started an economic war against Iraq. Sanctions affect civilians...not the government, hence we can say that the US intentionally targeted Iraqi civilians via the sanctions, knowing fully well they wont cause Saddam Hussain to lose any sleep.
Since '91, 10 years have passed. The sanctions are directly responsible for the death of 600,000 Iraqi civilians, mostly children under the age of 10. That calculates to 60,000 civilian deaths a year....5,000 deaths a month.
The WTC bombings are being reported to have a similar number of casualties...about 5,000. So Iraq has been witnessing a WTC tragedy every month for the past 10 years.
Now lets answer your questions. What part did those 600,000 kids play in anything? Can we right a wrong by killing 600,000 kids?
Last but not the least, can we question the state of mind of the country(US) and organistion(UN) behind these monthly massacres?
Figures like the above certainly make this heinous trade center tragedy understandable, but not right of course.
[This message has been edited by Akif (edited September 14, 2001).]
You guys arent putting yurself as a kids parent and I guess not thinking about it enough. Yes I would do it, maybe a lot more if I feel that my loved ones were taken away cuz someone or some nation. I am not into killing innocent ppl, so I would just call it collateral damage (hmm where have heard that before) and carry on. I think its pretty hard to loose ones child to a bullet. I dont have any yet but still it sends shivers down my spine.
Aatif..You wouldnt know who killed yur son. You cant pin point one person. and what if you loose another (God Forbid, may allah give yur family a long life).. what would you do then?
[This message has been edited by confused (edited September 16, 2001).]
Originally posted by who---me:
**Well said Akif...
You guys arent putting yurself as a kids parent and I guess not thinking about it enough. Yes I would do it, maybe a lot more if I feel that my loved ones were taken away cuz someone or some nation. I am not into killing innocent ppl, so I would just call it collateral damage (hmm where have heard that before) and carry on. I think its pretty hard to loose ones child to a bullet. I dont have any yet but still it sends shivers down my spine.
Aatif..You wouldnt know who killed yur son. You cant pin point one person. and what if you loose another (God Forbid, may allah give yur family a long life).. what would you do then?**
i second that!...
jo bhi hua america khud responsible hai iska...public hi hamaisha nuqsaan uthati hai to yahan bhi yehi hua hai...kuch ghalat nahin hua...
God bless u all...
DerVaisH
muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni...
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni...
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein...
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni...
[This message has been edited by confused (edited September 16, 2001).]
I think that what happened to the people there can never be justified. But there is a reason behind everything and there is a pretty strong one behind this.
We might think and we hear in the news that it was "not an attack on an USA army base" to show an act of war but it was "an attack on civillians" and that makes it an act of terrorism. But there is one thing that we should keep in mind; attacking there army bases would be like tickling a giant on his feet. If you are being constantly harrassed then you can't afford to fight without breaking the rules "YOU HAVE TO HIT WHERE IT HURTS" so the enemy doesn't harm you again.
BUT AGAIN .... THIS DOES NOT JUSTIFY THE ACT WHICH HAPPENED; IT'S JUST THE REASON BEHIND IT.
Originally posted by Razi ud din:
**I think that what happened to the people there can never be justified. But there is a reason behind everything and there is a pretty strong one behind this.
We might think and we hear in the news that it was "not an attack on an USA army base" to show an act of war but it was "an attack on civillians" and that makes it an act of terrorism. But there is one thing that we should keep in mind; attacking there army bases would be like tickling a giant on his feet. If you are being constantly harrassed then you can't afford to fight without breaking the rules "YOU HAVE TO HIT WHERE IT HURTS" so the enemy doesn't harm you again.
BUT AGAIN .... THIS DOES NOT JUSTIFY THE ACT WHICH HAPPENED; IT'S JUST THE REASON BEHIND IT.