Re: World Cup U-19: Pakistan Watch
not necessarily, we have decent A team, besides our U-19 team performed brilliantly last time around I blv.
^ I don't think you can read too much into these tournaments. Most of these guys will probably never make it to the senior team.
what do you mean? This is where the talent comes from.They are supposed to be best under-19 in country. Are you saying none of current Pakistan players(Butt,Frhat, Arafat, Asif etc) played under-19 for the country...
I for sure know that many Indian pl,ayers came through under-19. Kaif, Yuvraj and Irfan being some. In present team we have Piyush .Dhiman and Nadeem who are expected to play for India soon. Piyush may play as early as next year.
I’m with Fair and balance here. Why the hell do we even participate in this useless U19 tourny if we don’t care what players we send in since it does NOT represent the future players of pakistan.
^ I also remember when India won the u 19 world cup some years ago, the captain was a guy called Sandhu or something. A very good bat. He played for India once and have never been seen since. How many of that team are now playing for the senior team?
Did Inzi, Imran, Akram, Waqar and others play for the under 19. Yes you get a few of them coming through but don't try and place too much emphasis on them. They are not useless tournaments, they give exposure to your youngsters who might represent your country in future. All I am saying is that not many make it.
The players who manage to come into senior team are usually from other domestic teams, U-19 team players probably go and join them (domestic teams) and prove their worth.
No..Kaif was captain.
This was the team…
http://usa.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/1999-2000/OTHERS+ICC/U19-WC2000/SCORECARDS/FINALS/SL-U19_IND-U19_WC-U19_FINAL_28JAN2000.html
Out of 11, 5 went on to play for India and 2 of them are regulars.
I looked at Pakistani team from same torunament and 7 of 11 played for Pak later
http://usa.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/1999-2000/OTHERS+ICC/U19-WC2000/SCORECARDS/FINALS/SL-U19_PAK-U19_WC-U19_SUP-SEMI1_24JAN2000.html
Yep..but some start showing promises from under-19 time itself.
In India usually all under 19 players are Domestic first class cricketters. They start playing Domestic cricket at the age of 17-18 itself.
No the match I am talking about was the final played at Lords where India beat Pakistan.
Only Yuvraj plays regularly for India, Kaif is not a regular member of the team. From the Pakistani team you have listed only Danish is a regular member of the team and that only in tests. Says it all.
Anyway, I think I will be very happy if Pakistan actually manages to beat NZ, qualify for Super-6's, and go on to win the tournament, or at least give a worthy fight to Aussies in the final. Then we can, again, as usual forget about the abberation of losing to Bangladesh.
Right now, whether we admit it or not, every one is a touch bitter about the loss, especially since it was against Bangladesh. Kinda re-ignited some memories of '99.
Whether these under 19's go on to play for the senior team, or for that matter, should even be considered as a potential future senior team players, remains to be seen.
But Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umar, Imran Farhat, Hasan Raza, Faisal Iqbal were given many many chances, no?
are bhai..Do you expet all of them to go on to play for senior team. Definitly not. fact is that most of them playd for national team and some became permanent members in tests, some in ODIs, some are on fringes ( In and out). That say that U-19 team is a good feeded for senior team.
PS: Kaif has played more than 150 ODI for India. Its lot sir.
U-19 team of 5 years back gave Imran Nazir ,Taufeeq Omar , Imran Farhat , Hasan Raza ,Faisal Iqbal, Yasir Arafat & Danish Kaneria. Aur kya chahiye bhai?
1997-1998 Kaif,Sehwag,Harbhajan Razzaq,Bazid,Hasan Raza,
Shoaib Malik,
1999-2000 Kaif,Yuvraj, Sodhi,Ratra, Imran Nazir ,Taufeeq Omar ,
Vengopal Rao Imran Farhat , Hasan Raza ,
Faisal Iqbal, Yasir Arafat
& Danish Kaneria
2001-2002 Parthiv,Pathan Umar gul, Junaid Ziua,
Salman Butt
2003-2004 S Raina, Karthik,RP Singh Riaz Afridi
^ Well than you agree with what I said to start with. What's the problem. Ja kay so ja.
I think you are talking to Reetinder Sodhi…Sodhi, Yuvraj and Kaif played together a lot of times..That was a good team and it was combined effort of theirs which won the cup..Off course you can look at other members of team, gotta do some research…but you se atleast 3 of them made the team…
No ..I dont...
You said...
^ I don't think you can read too much into these tournaments. Most of these guys will probably never make it to the senior team.
This is not correct. On the contrary most of them go on to play for senior team. Chaliye Budhpe nazar aane laga hai aap ke argument me. Bahut jaldi bhool djaate hain.. :D
"Most of these players", Two from India and one from Pakistan playing regularly for their countries proves my point. The rest come and go. Enough of this argument. :)
is new zealand hard team to beat?
Your statement was about making into nationa team. Eveidence suggests that most of them go on to make it to national team. What did you expect..All of them to become Inzimamul Haq. :D