World Cup Final: AUSTRALIA WORLD CHAMPIONS

If you or any one of your pals have any problems with us discussing Indian Cricket, Why dont you run to the moderator/Admin and cry infront of him instead of abusing Indians. They may listen to you and may ban all the Indians from posting on KK.

I also know quite a few guppies who keep talking about painting Sachin Tendulkar’s a$$ ruby red and claim themselves as ‘Great Contributors’. These ‘Apne muh mian mithus’ ,who until very recently talked about ‘Dhotiz on fire’ or ‘Yateem’ or calling Tendulkar as ‘Tattikar’ or some other name every time we tried to talk cricket, claim that they are the great contributors. Some of these same posters started threads to bash Ganguly and Dinesh Mongia after India reached the finals, then no one said anything. But If an Indian starts a thread about the story of an Indian player he is called names and accused of flooding and abusing this forum.:disgust:

Once again, If anyone has a problem with Indians posting on this forum, why dont you go and cry infront of mod/admin, But that will be too much to ask from you guys, you guys would rather calls us a$$holes and accuse us of abusing this forum, but will not post anything meaningful.

Can anyone tell me, When was the last time someone started a meaningful discussion on pak cricket and an Indian tried to abuse/flood that discussion ??

Allah ke Bande - Kuch bhi naam rakh lo - Galiyan dene wale denge hi.

Stopy crying, this is a Pakistani form Things here should be disscussed mostly about Pakistani sports and little about foreign teams. 2 or 3 topics about Indian cricket is fine, but to fill up the whole forum with useless Indian article is not the way to go.
If you are going to post useless articles about Indian cricket, then do it in one thread. Just like how I posted all the Pakistan's articles in one thread at the begining of this tournament
I mean who gives a monkey A$$ what M Kaif's mother thinks about the WC.
There has to be limit on flooding, specially Khail Khilari, if you want to flood and discuss useless article then go wander off in Cafe.
Have a nice day :)

You guys are the ones who is crying here, How many times do I need to tell you that If you have to cry do it infront of Mods/admins, they may help you. We didn't start a thread on India-Kenya SF, neither did we start a thread on Ganguly and nope we didn't start the thread on Dinesh Mongia either. And for your Information TUMS (a Paki) had already posted this article in the India Aus - Final thread. Certainly he does give a monkey's a$$ about it and that's why he posted it there. The other day you posted an Article by 'Bishen Singh Bedi'. So when you or your paki buddies post useless threads after threads about India , it's okay, but the moment some Indian does it you guys start calling names and accuse him of flooding ??

So the point is you pakis cant live without discussing India, Indian player or Indian teams either. The fact is that You guys are having tough time digesting the fact that India has reached the finals and it is getting so much attention.

Once again - There is a moderator in this forum and according to many he is the best mod of gupshup, If he thinks that we have exceeded some limit then I am sure he will let us know. We will respectfully follow his orders .

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
If you are going to post useless articles about Indian cricket, then do it in one thread. Just like how I posted all the Pakistan's articles in one thread at the begining of this tournament
I mean who gives a monkey A$$ what M Kaif's mother thinks about the WC.

thank you for articulating what I was trying to get at.

keep up the jealousy folks. gotto see india thru with the cup, pls dont let us down now. :)

jali jali tapi tapi

You mean all those articles you were posting in that thread were useless ?? :hehe:

lo je ab meray nishano pe bhi aitraz honay laga.

Best of luck to your team :k:

*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *

Well some team wait 20 yrs for 2nd Final.Someteams wait 17 years for first

final ;) and some never go to final.Its all part of game,

to me nay kya farsi me kaha tha ?

and when there is time for some serious explanation they throw it away as a joke how cleaver :wink: :slight_smile:

Umair had a good point and instead of answering u r just making fun of it. Do u really think there is a point flooding KK (thats if your intention is not to flood) with those posts, I won’t say they are useless ofcourse u being indian would love to post stuff about your country and team but that doesn’t mean you should flood KK. Act like an educated person thats if you are :slight_smile:

I wish Brett Lee gets sachin, sehwag and ganguly or bichel...
that will b fun...

Ganguly the minnow-basher](http://www.wisden.com/misc/free/page6.asp?colid=44121510)

by Wisden staff
Saturday, March 22, 2003

Australia have a 6-2 win-loss record against India in World Cup matches, but it could easily have been 4-4: twice India lost by the narrowest margin possible - 1 run.

Apart from Andrew Symonds and Michael Bevan, the rest of the Australian line-up has struggled for consistency. (Click here for leading Australian and Indian batsmen in this World Cup) Sourav Ganguly will also be pleased to see Damien Martyn and Darren Lehmann’s one-day international record against India. Lehmann has had an especially wretched time against them of late: in his last six matches, he’s scored 31 runs at 7.75.

matches runs highest avg 
Lehmann 14 224 70 20.36 
Martyn 15 156 30 17.33 

Ganguly might be more worried about his own batting form, though. Despite being second only to the inevitable Sachin Tendulkar in the run-scoring list, Ganguly has hardly scored a run against the big boys. Astonishingly, his average against non-Test-playing nations in this tournament is almost 20 times his average against the Test-playing nations. Brett Lee won’t be the only one licking his lips.

inns no runs ave strike rate 100s 
Non-Test 4 3 338 338.00 87.79 3 
Test     6 0 103 17.17 66.45 0 

For a man who struggled to unravel the mysteries of Harbhajan Singh’s offspin in 2001, Ricky Ponting has handled the spinners remarkably well in this tournament. His problems have mostly come against the pace bowlers. Ditto for Damien Martyn, who hasn’t yet been dismissed by a slow bowler in five innings.

against inns dismissals runs balls avg strike rate 
Martyn pace 7 5 139 190< 27.80 73.16 
 spin 5 0 96 121 - 79.34 
Ponting pace 8 6 143 188 23.83 76.06 
 spin 8 2 132 163 66.00 80.98 

A look at the stats of Australia’s opening batsmen might persuade Ricky Ponting to field if he wins the toss. Both Matthew Hayden and Adam Gilchrist have done much better in ODIs when batting second.
Hayden and Gilchrist in the first innings …

innings runs avg strike rate 50s 100s 
Hayden 32 983 31.70 73.90 4 2 
Gilchrist 79 2308 29.97 88.76 10 3 

… and in the second 
 innings runs avg strike rate 50s 100s 
Hayden 29 1266 60.29 82.15 12 0 
Gilchrist 79 2860 39.18 94.76 20 5 

In Jason Gillespie’s absence, there’s little to choose between the bowling attacks of the two teams. The pace bowlers from both sides have been equally effective, but Brad Hogg has stolen a march over Harbhajan Singh in the battle between the spinners. In fact, given Shane Warne’s record against India – 15 wickets in 18 matches at an average of 56.26, and an economy rate of 5.19 – his absence might well be a huge blessing for Australia. (Click here for leading Australian and Indian bowlers in this World Cup)

Not only have the Indian seamers looked every bit as threatening as their Australian counterparts, they have also found – in Zaheer Khan – their own yorker specialist to challenge Brett Lee. Zaheer has taken the highest number of wickets off yorkers in this tournament, and is, along with Lee and Shane Bond, the most lethal exponent of the yorker in this World Cup.

inns wkts runs balls avg economy rate 
Lee 9 4 12 35 3.00 34.29 
Bond 8 4 14 38 3.50 36.84 
Zaheer 10 7 26 72 3.71 36.11

What kinda crap is this ??? :nono3: You think , you can discuss anything without Indians here ;)? And dude , always remember its a discussion board on web , open for all :slight_smile:

Cheers !

Are nahin Baba - Koi aitraz nahin, Thanks for much needed wishes, appreciate it.

Broken_sky - kuch hamare liye bhi wish kar do yaar, Ek do wishes Zaheer khan ke liye bhi jara apni bhi maang lena..upar tak pahunch lagti hai aapki. :slight_smile:

*I found it quite amusing that in last 4 worldcups, atleast one subcontinent team has made it to the finals atleast.
92, Pakistan
96, Sri lanka
99, Pakistan
03, India

Thats a nice co incidence. And for once i think i will want India to win. Not because of this 'south-asian' thing but because i want this australian dominance to be reduced. Though Australians are favorites i must say. Khair jo bhi jeetay, I hope it turns out to be an really thrilling match.

India v Australia preview](BBC SPORT | Cricket World Cup 2003 | World Cup | Ruthless Aussies lift World Cup)

World Cup final, Johannesburg: India v Australia, Sunday, 0800 GMT

Ponting (right) says Australia are yet to hit top form
Route to final
Australia’s Damien Martyn and Andy Bichel will have fitness tests on Sunday morning before the world champions take on India in the World Cup final.

Martyn broke his right index finger in the team’s Super Six win over Kenya while Bichel is struggling with his bowling shoulder.

Both players will been given until the last minute to prove their fitness.

Skipper Ricky Ponting said on Saturday: " It’s still up in the air at the moment.

"Martyn and Andy Bichel both had a good workout.

“Martyn will play if he is 95% fit. Bichel did everything we asked of him today.”

Despite the duo’s injury doubts, Ponting remained confident of his chances of winning the tournament.

“We haven’t played our best yet, hopefully that comes out on Sunday,” said Ponting.

Martyn decision delayed

"We have been tested on certain occasions, we have been under fairly intense pressure of late.

“But the good thing is we have come through really well and got ourselves out of those tight periods and ended winning the game very comprehensively.”

AUSTRALIA’S PAST WORLD CUP WINS
8 November 1987: Australia beat England by seven runs
Match report
20 June 1999: Australia beat Pakistan by eight wickets
Match report

Victory would make Australia the first side to win the World Cup three times, having already triumphed in 1987 and again in England four years ago.

They go into the final as the overwhelming 2-5 favourites.

But despite their top order scoring more than 1,500 runs, Ponting believes the batsmen can lift their game still further.

“Our batting hasn’t been as consistent as we would have liked, especially our top-order batting,” he said.

Photos: Stars prepare for final

“But hopefully back on a fast and bouncy wicket our top-order will do the job for us in our final.”

India go into the final without any injury worries.

Wicket-keeper/batsman Rahul Dravid has recovered from a finger injury, which had earlier put his final hopes in jeopardy.

INDIA’S PAST WORLD CUP WIN
25 June 1983: India beat the West Indies by 43 runs
Match report

India, less fancied at 2-1, are bidding to repeat their country’s previous Cup upset in 1983.

All-rounder Kapil Dev led his side to a shock victory over the West Indies.

And current captain Sourav Ganguly believes his side can pull off a surprise win again, despite having lost by nine wickets to Australia in an earlier group game.

He said: "Australia in the first round was just one of those days. You need a bit of time to get used to these tracks and, since then, we’ve beaten everybody hands down, it’s been one-sided.

"I always knew we had the side to come back. We’ve won eight games in a row - that’s definitely good preparation for a World Cup final.

“We will find out on Sunday if Australia is the best side in the world. There is no reason why we cannot beat them.”

Australia (probable): Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn, Darren Lehmann, Michael Bevan, Andrew Symonds, Andy Bichel, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath.

India (probable): Sourav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Dinesh Mongia, Rahul Dravid, Mohammad Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra.

Umpires: David Shepherd, England, and Steve Bucknor, West Indies.

Aussie win is crystal clear](BBC SPORT | Cricket World Cup 2003 | World Cup | Aussie win is crystal clear)

By Oliver Brett
BBC Sport in Johannesburg

Jakes expects a moustachioed Indian to shine
Jakes is a clairvoyant.

Before he realised the extent of his powers of insight he worked as a salesman and a waiter and, except for a love of motorcycles, is no expert on sport, let alone cricket.

But now he is sitting in a cafe in a Johannesburg suburb being asked to reveal what will unfold at the Wanderers on Sunday over a strong pot of rooibos tea.

In summary, Australia will win, but India will bat first and put up a big score and it will be a hard-fought and close World Cup final.

World Cup final:
Match preview

“India are going to pull a little kitty-cat out of the bag,” says Jakes, who sports flowing golden locks and a trio of copper bracelets on one arm.

"What I can pick up is that India deliberately played a very weak game the first time the two sides met.

There is an Australian bowler there with blond hair who is extremely cocky and he is going to get a big surprise

Jakes the clairvoyant

“When the enemy is strong, make them think you are weak. When Australia come in with their over-confidence maybe India can come out with a big surprise.”

Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag will not have their customary quick start, he feels.

“It’s going to be slow. Then they’ll pick up momentum. It’s very clear to me that India will bat first.”

World Cup final weather

And the weather could also come into play.

“I’ve picked up a bit of rain tomorrow that’s going to influence the match a little, but it will be nothing major and it won’t go into overtime.”

Now we come to the fun stuff. Jakes does not use a crystal ball but he narrows his eyes a little before continuing.

He adds: "There is an Australian bowler there with blond hair who is extremely cocky and he is going to get a big surprise.

“He’s got a problem with his right wrist and his upper shoulder and he is in a lot of pain. It won’t affect him too much though.”

Lee could face a big surprise against India

Then he switches his attention to a player from the other team.

“There’s an Indian gentleman, very heavily-set, with a bit of a moustache and beard,” he continues. "He’s definitely a batter.

"He’s going to start weak but his game is going to come through with some amazing hits. I would say he is India’s secret weapon.

“He’s very focused. He’s not mixing with the team. He’s in his hotel room psyching himself out, not mingling with anybody.”

Quite who he is referring to is anyone’s guess, but could the Australian bowler, perhaps, be Brett Lee?

An hour after opening with the line “Australia will annihilate India,” Jakes has shifted his perspective a little by the end.

“I can definitely see an imbalance in the Australian team,” he says. “India, even if they don’t win tomorrow, still want to be remembered going out in a blaze of glory.”

:smiley: :smiley:

Who is the batter he's talking about?

Spooooooky!

I can't take it anymore!

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr......I am not ashamed to admit it - I haven't been this nervous about anything for a looooooooong time! please please please let's get this one right and win! Jai Hanuman!

so 3.5 hours left.

Heart with India
Mind says Aussies
:(
Go Sachin and Sehwag go....

may the best team win.**