~Working out and Ramadan~

Re: ~Working out and Ramadan~

You sissy(s). tsk tsk

I am going ahead with full steam.

not gonna work out..just a walk after dinner or so

gonna try to avoid iftari

I worked out during Ramada last year and I survived. I plan to do it this year again, but it'll be light workout (arms only) because fasts will be longer this year.

the rule can be, getting up early early in the morning and doing exercise before sehri or during the afternoon at least 4 hrs before the fast is broken.

fasting and exercise are possible together. regularity in following a set right time is the key.

^ not if you're trying to put on muscle mass. You need to eat atleast 4/5 times a day, which isnt possible when ure fasting. Infact, it'll result in opposite.. and ure body will go in catabolic state if not given nutrition after work out.. But, if u wana lose weight.. go right ahead with fasting and work out.

and no, one shud not workout atleast 4 hrs before iftaari.. 4 hours is still a long wait.. if u dont give any nutrition especially protein within an hour of ur workout.. your body doesnt really grow and ur workout goes into waste..

its best to avoid heavy lifting during ramadan and after ramadan get urself a protein shake.. and im pretty sure ull go back to gym more stronger and focused.

ps: it is recommended to take a complete break from intense weight lifting for a week or so , after continuously lifting for more than 2 months.

workout is good but during fasting days one should just invest the time in doing other less intensive activities, or work in and around home.

post workout meal is very important, otherwise a person is not jiust risking nausea and headache, but a severe risk of damaging the under-nutritioned musles and tissues.

also, it can have very harmful affect on critical organs, hence one should avoid heavy workout during ramdan or during any day of fasting in general.

It is like running the car on low or no gas, sooner than later it will give up, and it may just be in middle of high speed expressway leading to an unimmaginable and unforgiveable incident.

same with human body, you may be big and strong, but without proper meal post workout, your body may just run out of its strength and you lose your balance .

I've done some intense workouts after Iftaar, and to be honest it wasn't that bad! I wasn't feeling tired or sick. I think if you can balance it out, you should be fine.

I dont know about gaining Muscle, but for everyday cardio and weight loss, it works! Fasting is an added bonus in my opinion.

People look at fasting as a burden, something that will deprive you of health and strength. I like to think otherwise, its very uplifting and makes you feel clean and strong (atleast spiritually).

since i already dont eat much :bummer:, i think namaz n 20 taravee should be enough (along with preparing shehri , aftari , cleaning , studies).

i do train a full hour AT night and that after finishing taravee prayers…warming up to waisai hi ho gey hoti hai …ager muscle nahi to kam sai kam fat to burn hoti rahai gey:o aur haan main mota nahi hoon:barbie:

I did tread mill for 30 minutes after half hour of iftari . It felt great and I was ready for sahri this morning.

Glad to see everyone's responses and progress. Psyah should be in this thread somewhere. :-)

i went during my roza for 45 mins and I felt fine.. just kept it light on the elliptical and did situps and arms for a bit..

Those of you below thirty working to gain some muscle, Ramazan is a good time. Follow these tips. 1. Workout before iftar, using low volume high intensity sets. One body part a day. This is the time when you will stimulate the greatest growth hormone release. 2. Have light iftar with lots of water, have dinner after two hours and have a good sahri, if possible drink some milk with it (it has long acting proteins called Casein in it). 3. To get the best results avoid sugar like the plague. Follow this and you will see some muscle growth you weren't expecting in Ramazan. Those over thirty can do cardio for some weight loss with the same principles but lighter dinner.

I kind of disagree with everything you said.

Workout before iftaar?.. do u not need pre workout meal for muscle growth?

Using low volume and high intensity sets..

again, you will not be doing your body favor with that, given that you didnt eat nor got urself hydrated prior to working out. Using low volume and high intensity , or high volume low intensity is bullshyt. Nothing would go for you if you're not eating right.

One body part a day

Doesnt matter if its one body part or 2.. if you concentrate on one body part, the other muscle contributing to that body part will also get workout.. ( i.e : with chest.. your triceps indirectly get work out.. with back.. your bi's etc ).

Have light iftar with lots of water, have dinner after two hours and have a good sahri.

sigh.. No pre workout meal, then u said.. work out before iftaari..and now you are saying have light iftaari with lots of water?.. is this really that easy to put on muscle mass on someone 'below' 30 or above? :D have dinner after 2 hours?.. you've got to be kidding me!.

For an average person to put on muscle mass, s/he needs to eat 5/6 small portion of meals containing carbs, protein, and healthy fat. I fail to see even one good meal either before or after work out.. all i saw was drink plenty of water (containing 0 calories).. and have light iftaari ... 2 hours is a long wait after working out. You need (preferrably whey) protein within half an hour after ur workout, or else instead of gaining muscle ..you'll be losing them.

if possible drink some milk with it (it has long acting proteins called Casein in it)

Okay. well, ask yourself with fasts being 14+ hours long in some places.. would a glass or two of milk really gonna make one put on muscle mass, with no food or anything for 14+ hours?

Follow this and you will see some muscle growth you weren't expecting in Ramazan.

You'll get sued by giving wrong advice if someone ends up hospitalized. :p

ps: Diet plays a huge role in getting the optimum results for muscles, which i think is very hard in the time of Ramadan(if you're fasting). One should do light training after iftaari ( iftaari should contain some sort of protein for sure ).. and your dinner should be kind of like everything..carbs, fat, protein , and yes sugar as well. Best thing to do is not to make a goal of gaining muscle in the month of Ramadan which is practically very hard if not impossible.

its less than 12 days remaining till Ramadan ends. You can pump iron all year long peeps.. give your immune and nervous system some rest.

I changed my schedule a lil bit, Instead of daily going to the gym, I am only going on alternate days n I hv shortened the time of the work out too. Instead of doing 1.5 hrs of cardio, I am just doing 30 min of eliptical n 30 min of running n then 30 min of stretching and sum lower body machines, I dun work out my muscles. It's nice that due to the long days the duration b/w asr n maghrib prayers is also increased so it gives m ample time to work out + run thru the locker room n still I manage time 2 reach home n fry pakoraz for iftaar. I think I hv lost 7-8 lbs since ramdaan strtd n these were those culprits which I had been waiting to loose since Jan
last week thou I had to attend a black belt training session for like 3 hrs during the fast n that was HELL
shoot I just realized I hv written proper words n didn't used any smilie, seems like GS is not a part of life any more :(

I've lost abt 3 kg since ramazan :( , i really dont want it, bcz i want to gain weight :/ so after this month i'll start eating alot so i gain back those 3 kg + a few more :D

Working out is a waste of time during Ramadan. Your doing harm, rather than good working out on a empty stomach.

How do people have the energy to work out - esp. since it's such a long day... I can understand in winter times when iftari time is 4:00PM but for summer - u must be krazy!

on second though if you have the energy it probably is the best time to get in shape - cause you are not eating much and losing weight regardless... so toning up is a good option!