Woolmer replaces Miandad as Pakistan's Coach (Merged)

*Originally posted by Atlanta: *

give woolmer full control. And I do mean FULL control. Everything must go through him and if someone does not adhere to woolmer's tactics, then woolmer should have the complete power to kick him out of the team. And no one should raise a voice against him.

Tsk...tsk.. why is it have to be full control..
Dont get carried away. He should get what a Coach needs.

Dont try to create extra-constitutional power center.

^ Agreed. Just give him suitable authority, proper say in selection, and a promise of least possible interference, iff at all. I m sure he will do fine with that.

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

Tsk...tsk.. why is it have to be full control..
Dont get carried away. He should get what a Coach needs.

Dont try to create extra-constitutional power center.

yes, absolute power should be given to woolmer. If you let pakistanis into the decision process, they will bring regional, ethnic, and personal vandetta into pak cricket. It has happened over and over again. That is why I have always preferred gora cricket coaches for our country. They are without any pre-conceived notions. Hell, I am for a gora PCB chairman also. The only pakistanis who are involved in pak cricket should be the players, everyone else should be foreigners.

*Originally posted by saby: *
^ Agreed. Just give him suitable authority, proper say in selection, and a promise of least possible interference, iff at all. I m sure he will do fine with that.

Saby Bhai,

the words in your post make me uncomfortable,

suitable authority

proper say in selection

promise of least possible interference

are you giving up on woolmer already????

Bhaisahab he needs FULL AND COMPLETE CONTROL!!!

otherwise start looking at a Scape Goat 2 years down the road. Not to forget a new Coach!!!.

*Originally posted by Aejaz: *

Saby Bhai,

the words in your post make me uncomfortable,

suitable authority

proper say in selection

promise of least possible interference

are you giving up on woolmer already????

Bhaisahab he needs FULL AND COMPLETE CONTROL!!!

otherwise start looking at a Scape Goat 2 years down the road. Not to forget a new Coach!!!.

Aejaz bhai. I m not sure what FULL control means here. It is a rather vague term.

Let me elaborate my points then you can add whatever you feel is missing.

Suitable authority--> Should have a say in final eleven selection, should be consulted in discilipnary reactions against ANY player. He should have authority to point out inzimam's mistakes etc etc.

Proper say in selection--> Selectors must include him in consultations for team meeting and final team should be stamped by him and Inzimam. He can have difference of opinion and push for any player's inclusion/exclusion as deemed necessary. etc etc

Least possible interference--> He should be in full command of the planning and strategies on whom to play and what kind of pitches are needed. Shahryar khan and Ramiz raja should stay away in such matters, avoid giving public statements like they did against Miandad. Their job is to encourage them whenever suitable..

Feel free to add. And people who have used FULL AUTHORITY and FULL CONTROL kindly make it pass my thick skull what do they exactly mean. I m kinda lost here. When Miandad used to whine that he needed more power, i thought he was pleading for more say in final selection, some players inclusion/exclusion, training schedules and over-riding captains decisions in certain cases etc.

Aejaz bhai. I m not sure what FULL control means here. It is a rather vague term.

Suitable authority--> Should have a say in final eleven selection, should be consulted in discilipnary reactions against ANY player. He should have authority to point out inzimam's mistakes etc etc.

Proper say in selection--> Selectors must include him in consultations for team meeting and final team should be stamped by him and Inzimam. He can have difference of opinion and push for any player's inclusion/exclusion as deemed necessary. etc etc

Least possible interference--> He should be in full command of the planning and strategies on whom to play and what kind of pitches are needed. Shahryar khan and Ramiz raja should stay away in such matters, avoid giving public statements like they did against Miandad. Their job is to encourage them whenever suitable..

Feel free to add. And people who have used FULL AUTHORITY and FULL CONTROL kindly make it pass my thick skull what do they exactly mean. I m kinda lost here. When Miandad used to whine that he needed more power, i thought he was pleading for more say in final selection, some players inclusion/exclusion, training schedules and over-riding captains decisions in certain cases etc.

Saby Bhai,

Haan Aab aap khul ke bool rahen hain,

If you read your original post that I had quoted, it implied otherwise.

Anyways your reply to my post has reassured me about your faith in woolmer.

To clear any doubts FULL CONTROL is just what you posted above.

regards,

Aejaz.

full control means grabbing shoaib by his balls and crush them into fine powder everytime he says something stupid. Full control is no matter what the "selectors" say, woolmer should have the final say. If you don't like it, woolmer should have the authority to make sure that "selector" should be made into a homeless person and make his life miserable. Full control is if anyone in PCB dare speak against woolmer, he should be able to kick the living hell out of them. Full control is if a captain does not do exactly as the coach says, coach should make sure that player never plays for pakistan ever again.

If this is full control then Both me and Ehsan bhai are with you with full control.

Woolmer keen for Azhar Mahmood to return to the fold](http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/JUN/000612_PAK_24JUN2004.html)

Pakistan’s new coach, Bob Woolmer, has embarked upon the team’s rebuilding process, by asking the Pakistan Cricket Board to arrange a meeting with the seven national players who are currently playing in county cricket. Among them is Azhar Mahmood, the Surrey allrounder who has not played a Test match since Pakistan’s last tour of England in 2001, and a man whom Woolmer is keen to reintroduce to the national set-up.

“We will go by what [Woolmer] says because he obviously has a neutral view about the players,” said Rameez Raja, the Pakistan board’s chief executive, “He will be starting from scratch.” Woolmer has already spoken to Shoaib Akhtar, who is currently playing for Durham, and also intends to meet with Mohammad Sami, Saqlain Mushtaq, Danish Kaneria, Shoaib Malik and Shabbir Ahmed.

According to a report in The News, a Pakistan daily, Woolmer still feels Mahmood has plenty to offer in international cricket. He began his Test career with a bang at Rawalpindi in 1997-98, when he cracked unbeaten innings of 128 and 50 on debut against South Africa, and he followed that up with back-to-back centuries at Johannesburg and Durban four months later. But his form fell away after that, and he managed no more fifties and just one four-wicket haul in his last 13 matches.

He made a brief return to the one-day side against New Zealand at the beginning of the year, but has since been overlooked for Pakistan’s Asia Cup squad and recently described the Pakistani cap as “worthless”. “Why I am in and out of the Pakistan team?” he asked. “Whether I perform or not does not seem to make a difference.”

Whether coincidentally or not, all three of Mahmood’s finest performances have come against Woolmer’s South Africans, so if anyone has faith in his ability, then it has to be the new coach.

*Originally posted by TUMS: *
First of all, if this news is true, it is a great piece of news HOWEVER the last foreign coach we had (Richard Pybus) was unceremoniously dumped and had a tough time getting through to the players so what makes us think anything will change? Our players hardly speak any English, how will they communicate? Will our players all of a sudden start displaying respect for the game and for their teammates? I doubt it.

I do think we will see some technical improvements, such as fewer extras, more focus on the basics of the game, improved fielding, better strategy and better scouting of opponents. I also think the younger players will be more receptive to the coach, speaking of the Yasir Hamids, Mohammed Samis and Shoaib Maliks of the world. At the same time, this new coach will not guarantee a more cohesive unit, that is something that must come from within. With "badboys" like Shoaib Akhtar, Razzaq and occasionally Moin on the team, he will sooner or later have to lay down the gauntlet. Given the precedence of Pakistani cricket, when a player clashes with a coach, the player inexorably wins.

Still, some silver lining in the cloud of gloom that is Pakistani cricket.

The problem is not of the coach but players. They don't losten to anyone. We had Pybus but he left in disgust because the players never listened to him. We need a strong man who can ensure discipline. Our players are pampered too much and no disciplinary action is taken against the defaulters. Anyone showing lack of discipline should not only be kicked out of the team, all his other avenues should be blocked. This Shoaib guy feigned injury to his wrist, but later said his ribs were injured. There was no need for the foolish action of medical test. He should not have been allowed to go to India for a film contract. Imran was successful because if anyone misbehaved then Imran would destroy his career. We need to sort out a few players that way. The rest will become "INSAAN DA PUTR" and learn all tecniques.

WTF? :hehe: Bobby trying to prevent Miandad to steal the spot light. sambrialin, you should ask your Khan sahib, he sure will enlighten you how Miandad stays in the spotlight despite all of the bitching was done against him.

Waqar hopes Pakistan coach Woolmer will stick around

NEW DELHI, June 29, 2004 (Reuters)

Former Pakistan captain Waqar Younis is hopeful new coach Bob Woolmer will enjoy a lengthy tenure to lift the struggling side.

Englishman Woolmer replaced Javed Miandad earlier this month after Pakistan’s home series defeat to India in April sparked much media criticism of the coach and his players.

Woolmer, who coached South Africa for five years until the 1999 World Cup, will take over before the six-team Asia Cup, which starts in Sri Lanka on July 16.

He will be Pakistan’s seventh coach in the last 10 years, and their second from overseas. Richard Pybus, an Englishman with South African connections, was sacked after the 2003 World Cup.

Waqar hoped the Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) impatience with coaches would not lead to Woolmer’s early exit.

“Hopefully it won’t happen again. Let’s keep our fingers crossed,” Waqar said on Tuesday.

"We have had a foreign coach before, but it didn’t work. But Bob has a reputation, he did well with South Africa.

“On what he did there, the PCB has relied on him and he will come good,” the former fast bowler told reporters.

Waqar, who announced his new career as television commentator at the Asia Cup, also felt Pakistan’s current fast bowlers should be given some time to settle down.

“The drawback is both me and Wasim (Akram) left more or less at the same time. If Shoaib (Akhtar) and Mohammad Sami come together, the attack will click (again).”

© Reuters Limited.

Woolmer begins his time as Pakistan’s coach](http://www.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/JUL/008708_PAK_03JUL2004.html)

Bob Woolmer has begun his tenure as Pakistan’s eleventh coach in eight years by asking for “the support of the current players, former players, and fans.”

“The current Pakistan cricket officials are determined to move their cricket forward,” said Woolmer, “so I joined the bus as they are willing to give me all out support, technical or otherwise. I can control what I can control, I am going to do my job to the best of my abilities and have no fears of the past.”

Woolmer, 56, who was born in Kanpur, India, made his name as Warwickshire’s coach, before taking on the South Africa job from 1994 to 1998. He became the ICC’s high performance manager in 2001.

He has said before that he would welcome input from Javed Miandad, the man he replaced as coach, and today reiterated that point. “Javed has a lot to do with this particular team and therefore I would like to ask him and talk to him about it. That’s part of how I coach. I am not scared to bring other people on board. It’s important that the coach is open.”

Woolmer also urged Shoaib Akhtar to put his differences with the PCB behind him. “There is no secret that Shoaib has a difference of opinion with the Pakistan Cricket Board,” he said. “But if he wants to play the bottom line is he has to be here. Shoaib must get on board our bus and the bus is going forward.”

“The past is history and hopefully it’s going to put a positive effect on Pakistan cricket. We have Australia as the benchmark as they are top of the tree at the moment. I am here as the conduit to pass as much knowledge as I can and it’s the players who have to make up their mind what is good for them.”

When asked whether his task as Pakistan’s coach was the biggest challenge of his life, Woolmer concluded: “I don’t know about the challenge of my life, but it’s the nicest challenge of my life which I have accepted.”

Woolmer pleased with Pakistan camp](http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/JUL/011209_PAK_07JUL2004.html)

He has barely been in Pakistan a week, but that has been enough time for some to start questioning how well the Bob Woolmer experiment will work. The new coach has rebutted claims that several senior Pakistani players had failed a fitness test he had devised with Murray Stevenson. A report in a local newspaper on Monday had quoted officials within the PCB as saying, “most of the senior players failed to come up to the required (fitness) standards” of Stevenson’s tests. Woolmer, speaking to Wisden Cricinfo, said, “We weren’t conducting tests so nobody failed. We were just trying to gauge the level of fitness of players now, and where we would like it to be later. To say that they failed is wrong.”

Woolmer, who is due to fly out tonight to Cape Town – and not the UK as was erroneously reported – for a coaching assignment he had committed to prior to becoming coach of the Pakistan team, was satisfied with the start of a three-year tenure. “It has been fantastic to be here, I have come to Pakistan before but it has been great. The players have been very good throughout the camp, and there is clearly a lot of talent here. By their own admission the team needs to work on its fitness and fielding and that is what we have been looking at with Inzamam and Haroon [Rasheed, the team manager],” said Woolmer. He added, “Shoaib Akhtar is fit, otherwise he wouldn’t be bowling here and he is very much part of the set-up. It’s also been working out well with Inzamam; he is a quiet man, but very calm and controlled and a world-class player.”

The 14-man Pakistan squad for the Asia Cup will be announced on Thursday, and Woolmer, with Inzamam-ul-Haq and Haroon, has given an idea of the team they would like to the selection committee headed by Wasim Bari. Refusing to shed any light on the composition of the team, Woolmer would go only as far as to reveal – not surprisingly - “it will have some batsmen, some bowlers and a keeper or two.”

Since his arrival, Woolmer has insisted on meeting ex-players in Pakistan to discuss ideas about the team, and last night, he got his wish; a “working dinner” with the man he replaced, Javed Miandad. “I like to do things by committee and have tried to get as much input into selection as possible. I am new to the players here so it is natural that I ask around about them and try to find out more about them. Javed is a legend and he knows more than most about this team as well as Pakistan cricket, so we’ll be chatting about that.”

**Woolmer also shot down reports that communication between him and the players was problematic. Sourav Ganguly was the latest member of a group of ex-players and coaches in Pakistan who questioned how effectively Woolmer would be able to communicate with his players. Ganguly, in an interview to the Khaleej Times last week, said, “It would not be easy for Bob. Pakistan cricketers come from diverse backgrounds and are individualistic - it is difficult to mould them together.” He continued, “Communication is an art and an essential aspect of coaching - Woolmer would not find it easy to communicate what he wants with the players.”

To this Woolmer replied, “I have had absolutely no problems in communicating with my players and I don’t foresee any problems in the future. Despite what Ganguly says or thinks, the whole process of communication has been very smooth so far, and you can tell him that.”**

Woolmer plans to meet up with the squad in Sri Lanka on July 13 – three days before the start of the competition. “The team is good enough to win the cup, there is enough talent here. But in ODI cricket, it literally is a matter of what happens on the day and who plays better on the day. But I am confident.”

One week gone, and only a potential 150-odd weeks to go. Welcome to Pakistan, Bob.

Former Pakistan coach Miandad offers help to Woolmer](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040707/3/4vqe.html)

LAHORE, Pakistan (AFP) - Pakistan cricket legend Javed Miandad has promised to fully support his replacement as national team coach Bob Woolmer despite being acrimoniously sacked from the post last month.

“Woolmer and I share a long-time friendship and since he sought my advice I invited him for a dinner Tuesday night and we exchanged thoughts over coaching Pakistan,” Miandad told AFP on Wednesday. “Our aim is the same - to move Pakistan cricket forward.”

Miandad said he would always be ready to offer his advice in future. Woolmer has indicated he wants to keep Miandad as a member of his back-room team.

“I was hurt at the manner my contract was terminated but I have always put the acrimony behind me and have worked for the sake of the country,” said Miandad, whose three tenures as Pakistan coach have ended prematurely.

“I am not the coach but I will be there as part of the coaching team.”

Pakistan Cricket Board last month replaced Miandad with former England batsman and South Africa coach Woolmer in an overhaul of the national team’s coaching set-up.

Woolmer, who joined Pakistan’s tune up camp for this month’s Asia Cup in Sri Lanka last week, was prompt to acknowledge Miandad’s contribution.

“I would like Miandad to be on the board because he has a lot to do with this team, he has respect and his advice would be helpful,” Woolmer said.

The 47-year-old Miandad, who played county cricket in England with Woolmer, wished him success.

“I hope the players listen to him and (Woolmer) succeeds in coaching because there are no secrets involved,” said Miandad, who holds Pakistan’s record for Test appearances with 124 and remains his country’s record run-scorer in Tests with 8,832.

Pakistan’s first round exit from the World Cup last year forced the PCB to dump eight senior players and appointed Miandad the coach and Rashid Latif captain.

Pakistan won the quadrangular tournament in Sharjah in April followed by a runner-up spot in the tri-series in Sri Lanka.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Despite what Ganguly says or thinks, the whole process of communication has been very smooth so far, and you can tell him that."

:) Ganguly is so worried about Pakistan future.

Woolmer getting his first taste of Pak cricket chaos after Shoaib and Inzi go at it. Go Woolmer. Expect to see less of this sort of nonsense once authority has been established. :k:

Woolmer calms frayed tempers

When Bob Woolmer took charge as coach of Pakistan, experts reckoned that his man-management skills would be as important as his cricketing nous to make a success of the job. On Wednesday, Woolmer got a first-hand experience of just how difficult managing Pakistan’s cricketers could be, when he was forced to step in and prevent an altercation between Inzamam-ul-Haq and Shoaib Akhtar from going out of hand.

According to an AFP report, Woolmer and Haroon Rasheed, the team manager, sought to play down the incident, which happened during a training session. “It was some misunderstanding but Woolmer and I got the matter settled,” Rasheed said, while Woolmer was equally diplomatic: “The Pakistan team is united and there are no differences with Shoaib and Inzamam.”

Relations between Inzamam and Shoaib have been increasingly strained over the last few months, with reports of both players trading charges after Pakistan’s defeat against India in the recent Test and one-day series. According to various newspaper reports, Shoaib was unhappy with the support he got from Inzamam, while Inzamam publicly blamed Shoaib’s lacklustre performance for the defeat.

Woolmer took over from Javed Miandad as coach of the team after that series, and his first assignment will be the Asia Cup, which starts on July 16 in Sri Lanka.

Haroon Rasheed said now no player is allowed to give statements to the media without his and Woolmer’s permission. Immediately Woolmer has dealt with the problematic verbal rubbish that has been spouted by the likes of Shoaib, Inzimam and Miandad in the past. You can't create a team if players and management are publically criticising each other and it's indicative of the shoddy unprofessionalism in Pak cricket that it's taken this long for steps to be taken.

A very good article explaining how woolmer is handling pakistani team. Interesting part is how he thinks that pakistan is better off an unpreditable but a professional side. And all these years we have been crying over the fact that how predictable our pakistani team is.

**Woolmer wants Pakistan ‘not to be a predictable side’

Former England Test batsman and now a high profile coach, Bob Woolmer, joined the Pakistan team earlier this month armed with a big reputation, new cricket ideas and concepts and a few books and dictionaries on the Urdu language and Pakistan culture.

And in less than three weeks time, he has made it obvious to everyone in the team that he means business and he plans to stay for a long time as the Pakistan coach.

"His life revolves around cricket. And he is also making sincere efforts to understand our culture and start to pick up and understand the Urdu language," explained manager Haroon Rasheed on Monday.

“There is no doubt he (Woolmer) wants to stay around, wants results and wants to win the trust and confidence of the players. Already he has shown he is a thorough professional and I mean no disrespect to any of our former coaches,” Haroon added.

Fortunately, Woolmer is no stranger to the Urdu language since as a young boy he stayed in Karachi for a while where his father was posted and he also witnessed Hanif Mohammad score those 499 runs at the Karachi Parsi Institute ground.

“He is keen to understand the Urdu words and wants to start conversing with the players in our language. He has brought a few books on how to translate English words into Urdu,” Haroon said.

If any evidence is required that he plans to produce results with the Pakistan players on a long term basis just talk to some of the players as they have been left surprised by the fact that at every team meeting, Woolmer discusses the plans he has worked out for them six months ahead.

Having prepared separate profiles of each player after holding one to one meetings with them, Woolmer has now also set up a video footage library of every player and is keen they start to respond to him.

That he has joined the Pakistan team with a positive mind despite knowing how politicised the cricket set up is obvious from the two appearances he has made at press conferences in Colombo. These have been enough to show that he is also adept at communicating with the media.

**Just how different the Englishman who coached South Africa for five long years is from his predecessor Javed Miandad was visible when at the press conference Woolmer was asked about the spate of no balls and wides bowled by the bowlers against Bangladesh and Hong Kong.

Flashback to March and April and one can recall just how quickly the panic buttons were pushed by Inzamam and Miandad when the same problems occurred against India and also how it led to calls for a bowling coach to be appointed with the team.**

Haroon disclosed that Woolmer was also playing a big role in trying to improve the communication level and relations between the captain and the other players particularly Shoaib Akhtar.

Woolmer also made it clear at the conference he was not going to be drawn into a debate and comparisons between the jobs he has held with the South African and Pakistan teams.

The other major change in the team has been that then players visibly appear more keen to take part in the training sessions as trainer Murray Stevenson and the physio Darryn Lifson have combined with Woolmer to make all the training sessions cricket oriented.

While Stevenson is the man who keeps the players match fit, Lifson is the rehabilitation expert if an injury occurs to any player.

Perhaps while Woolmer realises his reputation is one the line with the Pakistan team apparently the players also have realised that if they can’t produce positive results under someone as reputed as Woolmer than there is a bleak future for Pakistan cricket.