Why should a girl change her surname after marriage?

Re: Why should a girl change her surname after marriage?

Rock star that's not on. You shdnt be coerced into it. He is a tool. You are a person not his property.

People should respect the individuality of a women. Let them think what they want to do and not to impose stuff for no reason. One of my colleague's husband is such a junk fellow he even wants her to change name on facebook :(. Can you imagine

:/ really yaar. Fazool log

Exactly. Your fiance realized that him asking you to change the name is PURELY a emotional thing. There is no religious or legal reason behind it. No logical argument as to why it “needs” to be done. So when your cornered him…he just gave you a BS reason. :rolleyes:

If you don’t have an issue with changing it…then that’s your personal decision. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with women who make that choice out of their free will. But don’t do it b/c you believe there’s a legal reason for it.

P.S. Looks like your fiance has a habit a babbling total BS just to give you the impression that he’s “right”. You may want to keep this trait of his in mind in the future when disagreements happen. Double check FACTS instead of believing things blindly. :slight_smile:

Well pahelli always says what I want to but much more eloquently
:d6c:

@ Paheli aap cheeti hain :D

I didn’t change my surname and never will. I was born with this name and I’ll keep it until the day I die :naraz:

Good on you WendyDarling. :k: Me thinks same

this is why i like hyphenation. you're joining together in marriage, the least you can do is have a last name for BOTH of you that reflects that union. ditto for any future kids.

exactly, we need assurance that all 4 wives of ours remain our possession. Aap kee sherwani main kya pareeshani hai iss se?

^ But that would lead to a many-times hyphenated name. Your child has a hyphenated name: Arshad-Khan and then he/she married a someone else with a hyphenated name: Haider-Naqi.

How do they hyphenate their names and their children's names and whose name goes first? Arshad-Khan-Haidar-Naqvi? Where does it end?

^ maybe they each drop one of their hyphenated names and join the remaining two together? i dunno. i didn't say it was a perfect solution; just that i liked it (mainly cos it works for us) :p

i really dont understand why people expect women to change their last name after marriage. we were born from and raised by our parents, not our spouse's parents. from my understanding of islam, lineage has been given high importance. we are even discouraged to change the last name of our stepchildren so that we can preserve their lineage and let them be rightfully attributed to their biological father. so how is there any sense behind changing women's last names to their husband's family name?