Why Misbah ul-Haq is Pakistan’s greatest Test captain

Re: Why Misbah ul-Haq is Pakistan’s greatest Test captain

@ Ehsab bhai and PD

Incredibly Imran's best performances as test captain came after his return from injury in 1986 and there was no Majid (retired 1983), Zaheer (retired 1985), Wasim Raja (retired 1985) or Waqar Younis (Test debut 1989) then

The 3-0 win against India in 1983 was special (Imran took 40 wickets in 6 tests at an incredible average of 13!) but it was a home series.

The teams that did well in India and England (1987) and against the West Indies in the Caribbean (1988) had 4 world class players for sure - Imran, Miandad, Wasim (however became a better test bowler during the early 90s) and Abdul Qadir (missed the tour of India though)

aur aap kay iss khadam na-hinjar nay bee yahiee kaha tha janab!!!

"guzarish yae hai kay waqar younis and saeed anwar hardly played any cricket under imran's captaincy. they played few tournaments in sharja in late 1989 and 1990 and that is it. They were not playing cricket when Imran was at his peak as a captain 1982-1989. they were not part of those test teams who beatindia in india in 1987, beat england in england in 1987, drew against mighty WI in1988, won sharja cup in 1986 and nehru cup in india in 1989*. Hence i eliminated waqar and saeed anwar names

zaheer abbas already retired in 1984 and did not play in any of imran's defining moment type series away from Pakistan described above. So he did not contribute anything to Imran's success

I did not ignore mudassar and already mentioned Mudassar name in my list of mediocre players under imran...good on dead pitches in pakistan but pretty toothless and pathetic outside pakistan. averaged 53 in Pakistan in 35 tets and 25 outside Pakistan in 41 tests...that says it all

Mohsin khan was OK and score one double century at lords in 1982 i think but not a very good record. average 37 in 48 tests, was just like mohd hafeez and taufeeq umar type players plus he retired in 1986!

so I maintain that minus javed, qader and akra, imran played with extremely mediocre players between 1984-1989 as skipper and achieved unbelievable results in england, india and WI............agay aap kee marziee"*

If you think that 1982 victory at Lords was not a defining moment when both zaheer and mohsin were playing than lets say we agree to disagree. That match was the start of Imrans rise as a captain.

I know about that match...got slapped by dad for messing with commentry on Radio...

Later in 90s highlights of that match...great game of Cricket it was...

I was at the stadium. :)

What about today...

No, not today, I have tickets for the third match which is in my pind in Birmingham.

Most Test Runs After The Age Of 40

[TABLE=“class: engineTable, width: 630”]
[TR=“class: data1”]
[/TR]
Overall figures[TR=“class: headlinks”]
[TH=“class: left, align: left”]Player[/TH]
[TH=“class: left, align: left”]Span[/TH]
[TH]Mat[/TH]
[TH]Inns[/TH]
[TH]NO[/TH]
[TH][Runs

http://i.imgci.com/espncricinfo/blackArrowDown.gif](Batting records | Test matches | Cricinfo Statsguru | ESPNcricinfo.com)[/TH]
[TH=“class: padAst”]HS[/TH]
[TH]Ave[/TH]
[TH]100[/TH]
[TH]50[/TH]
[TH][/TH]
[TH][/TH]
[/TR]
JB Hobbs (Eng)
1924-1930

[/TR]
EH Hendren (Eng)
1929-1935
205*

[/TR]
Misbah-ul-Haq (Pak)
2014-2016
110*

[/TR]
TW Graveney (Eng)
1967-1969

[/TR]

janab, yes it was a great test match but Pakistan lost that series plus great zaheer abbas was not at imran's disposal when imran actually won all those series away from home. zaheer already retired. so imran won those series with a relative mediocre teams vs what we had in 70s and then 80s.

to give you an example, when pakistan beat england in england a full series in 1987, imran had muddasar nazar, shoaib muhammad, mansoor akhtar, mohsin kamal, saleem yousif, and ijaz amad in the team. now compare it to what we had in 70s and 90s and you can see it was a mediocre team but imran's leadership.

Pakistan did lose the series but that was the defining moment of his captaincy when Pakistan won a test there for the first time since the 50's. So lets not downplay its significance.

While you keep mentioning the players with which he won you keep ignoring others like Wasim who had been there since 1985, Qadir who was there with him and later waqar. These were awesome players and they were groomed and played under him.

In any case I have said that he was a gereat captain but the way Misbah brought the team out of its depth to where it is today has an edge over him. That is my view and I am sticking to it. Ker loh joh karna wey. :)

theek hai sarkar. wisay i never ever questioned misbah's contributions as a skipper and how he kept pakistani cricket together. god bless him for that. i was just saying that Imran's team of 80s was a mediocre team just like misbah's team. but yes in my opinion, imean has slight edge given he won or drew some might home away series. misbah now has his chance!

chalo matti pao........and lets hope we win at Lords

Misbah ke fans bhe bacho ki tarah he hai lulz](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=lulz)

Misbah aint even close to lick the boots of the great Imran Khan not even 0.5 percent close

Pakistan lost partly because of David Constant’s consistently biased umpiring and Imran made his feelings known publicly after the series was over.

Even then it was a very tight third game
http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/current/match/63319.html

David Constant
his cousins Roy and Ken Palmer **(Pakistan won in 1987 and 1992 despite them) and
**Mervyn Kitchen

are the most biased English umpires that I have ever seen.

Dickie Bird was a very good umpire. made a few mistakes but was not biased imo.

What is the margin of error in the measurement?

dono apnay waqton kay behtreen kaptaan rahay hian… iss main mawazna karny ki koi gunjaish nahi hia…

Shahryar Khan nay yeh bayan koi doda kha kar hi diya hoga

https://scontent-dft4-2.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18199522_846059825561818_3414636280555005108_n.jpg?oh=3ea6ae5ae8ab5e224a8c59d234ed19fa&oe=59BF338E

Today showed the influence of Misbah. Playing ultra defensive cricket has permeated the entire team it appears, except the dashing batsman Aamir

This is a good point. As much as I love Misbah as batsman its certainly having a very negative influence and today was another of the side-effect we saw.

Pakistan has a lot to figure out. This test team's both openers Azhar Ali and Shahzad are there in Champions trophy too. It can be a nightmare for Pak.

Last Test match wicket was horrible, haven't seen this match pitch yet but I think Misbah re-wrote his records by playing 51 balls and scoring only one run, I think that is criminal.

Yes. Misbah has extended his influence Across the border, with Dhoni prodding along in one day and T20 converting easy chases to losing positions with his dot ball parade.