I’ve noticed that many desi men, especially as they get older, never walk side by side with their wives whenever they go somewhere. I’m not even talking about holding hands..forget about that! But they won’t even stay on the same horizontal line as the ones their wives are on…hahah they walk so far infront of them, that if someone kainched their wife from behind, they wouldn’t have even noticed it!
But on a serious note :rolleyes: I think that men that walk infront of their women are more of the typical desis. The more modern aged desi guys usually prefer walking with their gal right along with them, and like to show their affection by holding hands.
As for me, my hubby-to-be better walk right by my side otherwise…me going to be
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad2.gif
i am not 50’s gal that’s going to walk ten feet behind him, forget about that!
I have seen this too many times and know people who fall in this category.
Reason #1 aunty cant keep up
even though she is 10 years younger than uncle dewd, she never bothered to stay in shape and cant keep up with a normal walking speed. The difference between walking and strolling is rather evident there but wasted on her. God forbid if you have to walk with such a lady everything is in slow motion.
Reason #2
Every little thing is of interest to her especially in malls, shopping stores and high streets and she would expect that uncle ji is a psychic and would know that she is stopping to look at another pair of chappalss which is identical to five other pairs she already has.
Many reasons ..... ummm i think Desi men are very considerate .. they walk ahead of their women so the ladies would have ample opportuinty to eye their BEHINDS ;)
Na Hota mein, Tu Kya Hota
[This message has been edited by Wadi (edited October 31, 2000).]
'kay from what i know wry smile, its for the same reason why men offer women their left arm and not their right....in other words protection. If men offer women their left arm it leaves their right arm free right?--likewise, imagine in the olden olden days how unsafe/treacherous it was specially going from one village to another, narrow mountain paths, hostile 'neighbours', etc,etc,etc, and so naturally the men would walk ahead of the women to make sure the way was safe....one of those left over things i guess from days gone by.....
I think it's the opposite. It's women who walk in front and man behind.
During earlier in twentieth century, it was like a tradition for wives to walk a few feet ahead of their husbands in india and Pakistan.
hmmmmm.. i dunnooo, i,ll carry my wife on my shoulders every where. but hey my mums a 50s girl, well she was born in fifties, n she doesnt walk behind my dad, but yeah as some1 mantioned, when it comes to shopping, its true, women just cant help themselves, hehehe and i can still remember when i was young, my mum wud b saying stuff like, uff aik to patta nahin tumhaaray abbu kai saath kia museebat hay, lagta hay kissi nai chaabi day kai chore diaa hay bazaar main, cheezain hee nahin daikhnay daitay!..but khair my wife doesnt have to worry about such stuff, cos i,ll b carrying her everywhere naa…gun in 1 hand the girl in the other…
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/soldier.gif
fly like a bee, sting a like a butterfly.
If i am with any girl in a shopping area, i would rather leave them on their own for a short period of time, so that they can do all the window shopping and slow walking they want.
Thus i won't be on their case about hurrying up and they don't have to worry about me.
But for 1 hour or 30 minutes and then we meet at the designated place of the rest of the day.
As for women and window shopping - i will never understand that.
If you want to buy something then buy it.
I don't understand the fact that women look at the thing for 2 hours, try it on, and then look at the price and say it is to expensive and walk out.
If it was expensive in the beginning won't the price be the same after you have tried it on???????
CROIRE A L'INCROYABLE
I think Mr. Frauds is right to a large extent but you also find that Muslim women also carry all the extra luggage and baggage while their husbands walk ahead empty handed!
smiles
Catwoman thats not true:)
LOL Catwoman !!!!! yeh've seen that happen :)
Hmm interesting question..Apart from those answers mentioned by my excellent guppo-collegues, I´ve got a few suggestions myself:
1) The first one is called The Afghanistan Syndrome: They are watching out for land mines. As good husbands, they rather die first then seeing their wives being blown up :)
2) The second one is called Watch that bird syndrome; Ankh mataka with the girls coming from the front is not easy having to watch your wife at the same time, hence by leaving the khaatoon-e-khana behind there is big chance to flirt without being distracted :)
3) the last option is called the Denial Syndrome, which is mostly common among men in arranged marriages. The poor fellow has had to marry a cousin, eventhough he was in love with the bird nextdoor. So his mind has never accepted the fact that the cousin is now his wife ( and probably mother to his kids )..So by walking ahead of her, he would be denying any relation to that woman :)
Dr. Desi :)
Definately the Afghanistan Syndrome ... Ramis that was a stroke of genius .. Bravo !!
Na Hota mein, Tu Kya Hota
Dr. Desi how would it be in your case, where there exactly isn’t a clearly defined status of a wife???
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/silly.gif
CROIRE A L’INCROYABLE
CM Why are you so serious man!