who do u think?????

Well.. I have written hazar times that it is not my concern if you declare person of century to Qadeer Khan or Muqadeer Khan.

The dispute started when Queer got annoyed with someone calling bad names to Gandhi that included 'male whore'.

See you Hindu showed your dirty Mentality again by twisting the name of MY hero, the son of the Nation, Dr. Abdul Quadeer Khan.
You Hindus cry if some one say a word about your leaders and you do not hezitate to badmouth our Muslim leaders.

That what I am telling these people out there that these Hindus have hidden the knives under their arms and they come in the outfits of peacemaker.

I don't hate the People because of what they are, I do hate the people because of what they do...................

If Dr. Abdul Quadeer Khan's Name hurt a Hindu then listen my choices again

My first choice is
The Father of the Nation, Hazarat *Quid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinah*

My second choice is
The Son of the Nation, *Dr. Abdul-Quadeer Khan*

hahaha ha ha.. Atleast somebody is having fun around these corners..Keep it fellows up, but don't forget.... "Kichar tum pe gire yaa tum kichaR maiN.. Baat to eik hi hai !!" ;)

[This message has been edited by Ramis (edited April 21, 1999).]

This is really funny.....

I, actually, mentioned Gandhi's name jokingly for the man of the century award. See my above two posts next to each other.
None of the persons who created a country, lead a struggle,fought a war or two, invented something that looks meaningful at this time deserves a man of the century award. It got to be someone whose thoughts are going to influence the history or life of future century. I still think that person is this common man of 20th century China, who alone, bare-armed stood in front of a tyrrant regime's well equiped tank and challenged it. This is the free man of 21th century who hopefully will stand for freedom, equality, justice and fairness.
All these guys fighting over Jinah and Gandhi: guys please read something other than the party paper and your text books.

CM

ChannMahi: I appreciate your advice. Just like you have your choices, I have my choices. If you choose that guy who stood in front of the Chinese tanks with bare hands, then you should praise the American CIA too, which brought this guy in front of the Tanks.
It is not a mystery any more that American CIA was behind that riot in China in the name of democracy.
I have my all sympathies for that guy but I would never like a person who had been used for the foreigner interests against his/her own nation

Sorry Dear ChannMahi to disappoint you but I see the things my own way.

I don't hate the people because of what they are, I do hate the people because of what they do

Oh! my god! conspiracy theories that never end.

OK! I personally never talked of Gandhi as person of century. If u look from the importance point of view, in the first 50 years nobody changed the world Hitler/Lenin did and in next fifty year Ronald Reagan winning the cold war was most imprtant event.

If you look at a person standing against mighty opposition a chinese rebel could be an interesting example but not a long term and consistent one. I feel Ho Chi Minh who fought and won against French and then Americans really deserves credit. Otherwise American arrogance would have been boundless. Of course, Gandhi whom British believe to have destroyed the empire and Mandela who killed apartheid by being a potent symbol of resistance (far more potent than Chinese rebel) have milestones of their own.

My vote will go to Ho Chi Minh.

[This message has been edited by ZZ (edited April 21, 1999).]

Saqib, I understand that you see things in your own way. Although, it is o.k. to sometimes see things the way other people see just for the sake of locating your true position on the landscape.

ZZ, That single man in my mind is not chinese, or anti-communist but a symbol of the common man of 20th century who fought for freedom throughout the century. Sometimes he became Ho-Chi-Minh, Gandhi, Jinah, Bhagat Singh, Arafat and many others for his people. They were all common men whom destiny elevated to the peaks becasue they stood for what was right for their people. So I take that man as a symbol not literary. He was present throughout the century but we saw his face on TV that day.

CM

Sounds very poetic! OK! That's alright.

I believe that Americans voted for him as man of century because the guilt of butchering innocents in Vietnam and collaborating with apartheid and British regime will not allow them to vote for Ho Chi Minh or Mandela or Gandhi. That guy was a convenient choice for americans. America was anti-communist and on the side of him.

I did not mention Gandhi's name jokingly, I think he really deserves the Title...
There are many A Q Khans, quiet a few Mohamad Ali Jinnahs and only ONE Mohattama Gandhi...
What is the big deal with that chinese guy, ( who knows maybe he was running to take a leak , and got on camera, and romantic heads like msaqibj are going all gaga over him)
Cm,
I hear what you are saying , but dont think some of the ppl here have the integrity or intellect , to look at the bigger picture...

Why 'Time' magazine had to look for an 'unknown rebel' when there was no shortage of known rebels. The reason was that in all those cases (look at Arafat now) US was on the side of opressors. This 'unknown rebel' works well since then u can claim how US has been on the side of human rights. Actually US was just bent on destroying China by opening it up in Russia way.

I think the problem is that it will be practically impossible and unjust to name a person of the century. It is hard to judge history when you are a contemporary. It will be very clear to people maybe by the end of next century who were the heros of the previous century.

Also, no matter whom one picks, there is going to be opposition to the person. A person may be hero to me but not mean much to Nova or ZZ and vice-versa. May be we should ask who was the man of the century,or person of the century to be politically correct, for Pakistan or India, or Muslims or Sikhs etc.

Nova ji, kithey rehndey O janaab....ghat vadh E nazar aundey ho.... :)

CM

Well.. the situation messes up if u are going to tell that the person of your tribe, religion, nation has been the most important one. I tried to avoid it and so did many others. It was due to some uncivilized remarks on Gandhi that the things got heated briefly.

I think one can still have a short list if not a unique guy. There have been people of importance within country who did not change world poltics much. Jayaprakash Narayan would be an example from India. (The great schemer harkeeshansingh surjeet could be another.. just joking)

I think the discussion has been reasonable and interesting.

Given the majority Muslim character of the forum, I am bit surprised that none mentioned Khomeini. He definitely influenced world politics.

ramis, i agree at keast some ppl r having fun and guys i asked u ppl to nominate aperson ..not engage in apolitical discussion..when i checked th epost i was shocked...khair choro
saqib,
cool it.....don't get so stressed out
queer ,u too

yeah... Jay Prakash Narayan and Subhash Chander Bose are probably two personalities in Indian politic that most Indians would consider above mudslinging..... Again people around 10 Janpath road might have different views.

CM

Dear ChannMahi: If you put that way. I am with you.

Mr/Ms NOVA: I did not write the name of the Quid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinah and Dr. Abdul Quadeer Khan to have fun either. I wrote their names because ! meant to nominate the True Heroes of the century.
I do not have any problem with any one choosing Mr. Ghandi as his personal hero that would be some one’s personal choice but if you wanna go that way. then listen there always have been around one billion ghandies in India but there have never been more than one The Quid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinah. Let me put in this way, If there were hundreds Ghandis with Muslim league and only one Quid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinah with congress, there would have been no Pakistan. There had been only ONE Quid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinah . Quid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinah had only one layer in his personality, that was the Truth and Straight forward. On the other side, you can find a different Ghandi in every layer of Mohan Das’s personality. Keep turning the layers, and keep finding the different Ghandies.

And your comments about the son of the Nation THE Dr. Abdul Quadeer Khan are just an other try to show your sickness towards the Pakistan. There have been only one Son of the Nation and that is Dr. Abdul Quadeer Khan who made my Pakistan as strong as no one even can look with his/her dirty eyes and disgusting mind towards my Pakistan. He made my Pakistan strong enough to let the Pakistanis walk with their Heads UP. ! walk every where with the pride as a citizen of a Nuclear Power. I tell every one proudly and openly with my head up that I am a citizen of Pakistan. This is all because of these two True Heroes of the century. One “Quid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinah” is a FATHER OF THE NATION, other Dr. Abdul Quadeer is a SON OF THE NATION, *One “Quid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinah” is a FOUNDER OF THE PAKISTAN, other Dr. Abdul Quadeer is a SAVER OF THE PAKISTAN.*

My first choice would be the father of the nation “QUID-E-AZAM MUHAMMAD ALI JINAH” The founder of the Pakistan
My second choice would be the son of the nation “Dr. ABDUL QUADEER KHAN” The saver of the Pakistan.

Sory sonya, I had to answer this.

I am a jeweler, I set the significance of the jewels and throw the insignificance into the trash, these are my quality standards.

[This message has been edited by kashmirigirl (edited April 22, 1999).]

msaqibj,
I did not mean to upset you..(which you obviously are).
Your emotions override objective thinking. I dont get into discussions like that...

NOVA: If you consider yourself not getting into the emotional discussion then refrain writing the comments about the Quid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinah and Dr. Abdul Quadeer Khan. If you liked some one, you could have simply said that you nominate that person, but comparing a person with the other tells that you did try to hurt the others feelings and now you are trying to prove that you are a kool person. Kool people do not devalue the Heroes of other people.

STOP FIGHTING YOU FOOLZ OVER DEAD PEOPLE !! I am nominating the man of the moment and that iz D IRON MAN :)

mujhe teer se na maro
mujhe talwar se na maro
mein kud mar jao ga
zara aankh to maro
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
repeat after me if you can
IM iz D iron man
love me mam if you can
that's all I need if you give a DHAAM.....
The new desi rapp star IRON MAN Inc Corp..;)