Where is Kaaba?

Re: Where is Kaaba?

God can protect his own city... He doesnt need the security of Man. And im sure if he didnt want this all to be happening, it wouldnt have... there must be a bigger plan...

I dont like the idea of them building something too extravagantly grand with suites like kings palaces, kinda like the building in the image in the first post. Thats just waste of space.

You have to admit though that space is tight and the number of pilgrims doesn’t decrease every year. Keeping that in mind, i like the idea of a large multi-storey compound designed only to house pilgrims. Instead of apartments, you have cramped suites (like in a dorm) designed to house two, max three people. If you have a floor like something in the illustration below, you can easily have about 76 suites on each floor.

(I’ve left space for stairs, elevators, windows, electrical wiring, plumbing etc too)

SO, with a min of 2 people per suite, we have 152 people per floor. A 50 storey building like this can then house a minimum of 7600 pilgrims. Compare that to the same space being used to house pilgrims in tents i.e. ~ 100 pilgrims.

And that ends todays class on haji space management.

Is that building already there, or is that a drawing?

^ I was thinking the same.

Well if you have been to Mecca you would know that there IS space in the city other than just along the boundaries of Kaaba. I wish they could make buildings as high as they wish to but just a few kms away. It will definitely make the space less congested and less stampede and more alive people.

And about the history thingie, well if you do not PRESERVE it then how can you LEARN from it?

So where does it say that to believe in the unity of Allah you have to think that the Prophet (SAW) is unholy or you must disrespect holy places. Respect of a holy place or monument doesn't mean you are worshiping it. Don't confuse things and don't judge people, let this task to be with Allah.

Then you have to deal with logistics of getting people (transportation) from KMs away to the place of worship. That is also a problem when you have 2.5 mil people converging on same spot.

What do you expect to learn from mud houses? Prophet's mosque is preserved, khana kaba is preserved and other important places that deal with worship are preserved... what would we learn from say mud house of some noble sahabi? Engineering? Psst!

aisi naak naak baatein karo bhai mere...
sab impress hoon ge ...
okay:)

Well millions of people use London Underground everyday. Considering that there isn't any funds problem for the govt., an efficient transportation shouldn't be a problem.

Mud houses, well firstly that's not the only thing that has been destroyed there are several others. And secondly, ever heard of emotional attachment? We hold on to an itssy bittsy thing for emotional purposes then why not some noble mud houses, what harm are they bringing you?

Nations need to preserve these things as part of their heritage and culture. Visit some museums, you'll find loads of crap there(including mud shmud), things that don't make sense to be preserved, but they are there as they are indicative of the past, which must not be forgotten.

Comparison of London underground with Hajj/Umra logistics... kuch samajh nahi ayee?

If one thing works in London, we can't be too sure that it will work in Makkah as well. London underground is spread at least 30 40 mile radius if not more... what are the saudis to do in order to transport 2 3 million people from ONE spot to another? You have a completely different problem when there are 2 3 million people going from one spot to another than merely transporting 20 30 40 people from one station to another and then picking few from there to the next station.

I don't think its important to preserve mud houses but* If you must preserve mud houses and other artifacts then dig them up (whole thing intact, refill the space with mud from other places), transport them to some museum as a display item. However, they may hold little or no "*educational" value.

Hmm so you are saying there is a problem with SO many people being TRANSPORTED to just ONE spot and there isn't any problem in AS many people LIVING at that spot?

Do you really think that these palaces and other buidings or whatever built in place of the mud houses have any EDUCATIONAL value?

Hajjis and worshipers don't go there to live, they go there to worship.... perform the rituals in due time and come back home. That is why it is quick, there is a process involved and order in which things happen and it must remain organized...

The palaces? Are there palaces around Kaba?

Khair, Hotels and other buildings around Masjid Al-haram provide services for the people who visit for hajj or umra and also are easily accessible in vicinity of the holy places - that is all people need.

Mud house would not be effective in this situation... knowing that majority of those who go there are South Asians, that mud house might just become the next place you throw your trash... aka Roori.

There was another proposal before these monsters were built: build hotels far away and have a dedicated tunnel to ferry guests in busses. It happened to a degree, but it was only a matter of time before someone decided a hotel right next door could make more money.

do you put your feet on the table when your parents or any elder one is around you?

i am not scared of my parents. i respect them!

but ALLAH SWT, who is my creator, i am obliged to fear him and his sovereignty.

• in olden day long, massive pyramid were built cuz it was their (pharaohz) belief that building such massive, huge monuments gonna nearer them to God. or as nearer that they can even call themselves, God :naooz: and they did call themselves.

…but what they ended up with?
…an admonitory symbol! :frowning:

ps. i recently have seen a Mummy. :teary2:

Yes.

muslims don't worship the kaaba.

DID U EVER SEE THE KABA FROM INSIDE? ITZ REALLY BEAUTIFUL! :)

what garbage. the saudi govt destroyed the grave of the prophet's (pbuh) mother and other historic sites so that they dont become a place of worship, something which us stupid pakistanis like to do, just look at the mazaars we have in our country. its not going to giv any1 sawaab to visit the house of the prophet's (pbuh) relative. It just going to lead to shirk if they rnt destroyed.
the buildings that u say r higher than the kaabah and putting a shadow over it, well that shadow provides shade for the thousands of ppl who r performing tawaf in the sweltering heat. these hotels and businesses provide food and shelter to the milllions of ppl that come to makkah. its not like someone has opend a gaming arcade or casino in front of the kaabah.

Regardless if the place is holy or not, it has historical significance which allows muslims to connect with their past.

We all love to act like hardcore muslims, but we all know this ummah is dead inside. These small details in our lives, and especially this sacred place is what we have left of our past.

Its easier to say we have islam in our hearts, but its harder to attain it and keep it there. I know this because its taking a lot of struggle, and its still not attainable, its hard, requires effort, we all should work towards that, myself first inShallah.

The building in the picture has recently been completed, it houses a shopping mall complex which is larger than your malls in NA. I really dont see the issue of pilgrims having toruble finding a place to stay....there...that argument is very weak.

Most pilgrims aren't as rich...they stay in 4 star hotels (which are being DEMOLISHED constantly to make rooms for stores and 5-6 star hotels, just ask your travel agent next time u go for umrah!) and the hotels majority of the people can afford are located 10-15 mins walk from the Kabah!

So dont make up crap about how pilgrims need more space...its a futile argument. If it were done to cater everyon's need, we would have more affordable hotels all around makkah.

The shopping centers have NO significance there, NONE AT ALL!

Build them outside the Harram, somewhere a lil further down, its not rocket science. People can walk from the Kabah to Mina and to Muzdalifah , you think they cant taxi or walk down to a mall a bit further away?

These places hold islamic significance, even if the kabah is destroyed, even if we have nothing left there, that place is still in line with the arsh of Allah swt, (thus we pray in that direction).

But to replace islamic heritage with monstrous buildings in order to generate profit, and to cut off everything of our past from muslims...this is not correct.

**Think of what the Kabah meant to you when you were a child, and think of what it'll mean to the kids you'll have, and their kids, and the generation after them.

**They will see Colonel Sanders everytime they go for umrah or hajj instead of waht their focus should be.

When I was a kid, Makkah was the epitomy of our religion still is, the sacred place where islam was rectified. And now our history is being taken away from us.

The poster of this thread is 100% valid in his view to stop these useless projects.

The Jahils of Makkah, before Islam, used to adorn the sacred area with idols, and colours and markets, to attract business from pilgrims who came from all over Arabia.

It seems we're heading in the same direction now.

***Most pilgrims aren't as rich...they stay in 4 star hotels (which are being DEMOLISHED constantly to make rooms for stores and 5-6 star hotels, just ask your travel agent next time u go for umrah!) and the hotels majority of the people can afford are located 10-15 mins walk from the Kabah!

Ask any of ur agent in month of hajj or after mid of ramdan kareem that if he can manage any room in those expensive room at any cost :) u'll find no room is available even they are expensive, brother just dun under estimate muslims that they are not that rich :)