In my wallet :D
Re: Where do you keep your Savings?
In my wallet :D
Kyun?!?! Aapne kya daka marna hai ya ,ujh ko aghva kerna hai :p
^ Divya Ji, yeh urdu hai ya khichdi? kuch samajh mein nahin aa raha
Those of you who hide money under the mattresses or other obvious places might be on to something here methinks…![]()
**NEW YORK (CNNMoney) As millions of Americans continue to lose their savings in the stock market, others are stashing their money where they know they won’t lose it.
The magazine of a gun. A box of tampons. The belly of a teddy bear!
Kerrie Hopkins gave her cash-hoarding aunt a “lettuce safe” – a faux head of lettuce with a secret compartment. “No one would ever suspect it’s anything but a perennially ripe leafy vegetable,” Hopkins told CNNMoney.
But when Hopkins’ aunt saw an ad for the same lettuce safe in a magazine, she promptly threw it out, sure that her cover had been blown if her home was ever burglarized.
Another woman, Kate McDonald, is keeping her cash safe in an envelope. Each time she adds money to it, she folds the envelope over, then wraps it in aluminum foil and places it in the freezer. “It gives new meaning to ‘cold cash,’” she said.
With the stock market plunging more than 10% over the past month, many people are stocking up on tangible assets like cash and gold. But of course they need a safe place to put it.
Earlier this week, personal finance site Mint.com asked its users to name the most unusual places they’re hiding their cash.
Answers ranged from an iPhone case, the back of a boom box, a box of Animal Crackers to an unused purse. There was also a door frame and a box of waffles.
For sure, America’s cash hoarders have moved beyond the traditional safe haven – their mattresses.
One person is hiding money inside the wood panels of a bed frame, while someone else has cash hidden in rolled up nylons in the back of a drawer.
“We actually mounted a smoke detector on the kitchen ceiling that we removed all the guts from,” said another cash hoarder. “Perfect spot for a cash stash. It was easily accessible from the step stool we kept in there. I don’t think a burglar would be checking the smoke detectors.”
Others joked that the best place they have hidden their money is the stock market.
“It’s such a good hiding place that even I can’t find it anymore,” one quipped.
Of course, hiding cash around your house can be risky, said David Hefty, president of financial planning firm Hefty Wealth Partners. Not only do you risk getting it stolen, but you get no financial benefit – whereas a savings account could at least earn a little interest.
“This is the typical fight or flight mammal response,” Hefty said. “These people are very fearful and have a large distrust with our financial system right now.”
So they may need to work with someone to overcome their financial phobias and develop a real strategy for saving their money, he said.
"**With the stock market plunging more than 10% over the past month, many people are stocking up on tangible assets like cash and gold. But of course they need a safe place to put it."
A date for this article would be useful - the market is in fact up about 5% year to date in the US. Short term swings are just that - if you are a long term investor, just dollar cost average into the market. and hope the market stays low while you dollar cost average - you pick up more shares.**
The article is from September 2011. Sorry, but anything to do with stock market is beyond my comprehension, so I usually ignore it! ;)
Saving account
That’s not saving if it is in your wallet? you will spend it when you go shopping!
The first normal answer I think…![]()
The article is from September 2011. Sorry, but anything to do with stock market is beyond my comprehension, so I usually ignore it! ;)
Gold is downtown about 17 pct from the peak. The magazine whose record appeared perfect looks like it has made its first mistake.
There were others who touted gold at its peak stating their contacts told them so. As always time is the best test of any prediction. Buying high is for the most part the best way to enrich folks on the other side of the transaction.
Southie, it was good of you to bump up this thread, otherwise I had forgotten about it! ![]()
I will let you in to a secret; Since I bought the gold, I get monthly statements, and suffice it to say that they are still bringing a smile to my face! :hehe:
I’m sharing a bit from a lengthy article underneath, which I suppose explains why I’m content with my decision to invest in gold.
The point of gold is that it offers you some protection when most other assets are going down. Gold’s ultimate advantage over any other asset is that its value cannot fall to zero. It can’t go bankrupt. You can’t say that for any other asset.
In my pocket
^ come on thats NOT savings Psyah, I'm sure you can do better than that! Why don't you atleast buy a money box from Poundland for a start! :D
I don't believe in having more savings than what my pockets can hold ... :D
kisi ko btana na street corner main aik khali pelat hy wehan zameen khod kr save kr reha hu paison ko. btana na kisi ko ![]()
I am glad your statement bring a smile to you miss freudulian. No question gold as an asset allocation too has its place. However in spite of the un up last two days it is down abut 12 pct from peak.
I don't believe in having more savings than what my pockets can hold ... :D
Not even for a rainy day???
Gold is stalled at 1650. Since Sept 2011 it is probably down 10%. The stock market on the other hand up 15% with 2% div yld. That is a 27% outperformance. Ouch.
i spend all ![]()
in a bank account ![]()
Why do you have a sad face after bank account? Nothing wrong with bank account.
its not sad its tiring :)