Re: when it's right to call anyone --- Uncle / Aunty
I think Pir Dada Fraudia has a nice ring to it
Sure. and the abbreviated nick would be PDF
guys so far u all have resolved one issue ................... what to call fraudia ??
but what about others .......................................... ideas ??
no one calls anyoen bhai anymore? i mean growing up we had older gusy we looked up to and they were all bhai, they coulda be 10-15-20 years older than us but we called em bhai.
I mean 10 years diff is nothing. i have cousins who are like 10-15 years younger than their eldest sibling, should they call em uncle?
In the end it is all what a person wants you to call em. one of my friends and my mentor who is Pakistani has a kid in college, sophomore now. I call the guy by his first name, and we are cool that way.
i think anyone 20 years older than me is clearly classed as uncle or aunt - whereas anyone else between 1-19 years older than me would be classed as a baji or paijan - unless they didnt like to be called that.
I guess it all depends on the person, call someone uncle/aunty and look for a reaction, if they smile back then its cool, but if they give you the one-eye this means this person is not happy being called uncle or aunty.
I have seen an older guy calling a younger guy "chacha ji". Funny thing is ... he was his real chacha. Similar even applied once Khala was younger than bhanji.
I went to someones house a few weeks ago and she had a baby and so I automatically called her aunty. She gave me a horribly dirty look. So later she asked me my age and I found out that we were close in age. She then said that she wanted to call ME aunty cause she thought I was older than her. (I do NOT look older than her snooty) Anyway, I think she was highly offended which is why she said that, so I had to make this drawn out statement as to the fact that I called her aunty only cause she was married with a baby, not cause she looked older. smack
So now I dont know what to do because I also used to follow that principle that if you are married, I will call you aunty/uncle unless you ask me to call you otherwise.
Munni come on that is a lame reason.
One should not call anyone an uncle or auntie unless that person has children one's age, or are old nuff to have children one's age. Surely just because she had a kid did not make you think that she was that old.
I dont understand the fascination of desis with calling others uncle and aunty. My view..be safe, call by name, or call with bhai or baji if they are older and you want some formality. There are gentlemen in my town I refer to as bhai who have kids just 5-6 years younger than me.
And you know what...being on a first name or a bhai/baji level has an informality that you cant really get when you call someone uncle or aunty.
Re: when it’s right to call anyone — Uncle / Aunty
oh that is a stupid principle, so you are what, about 26 or so? what about girls who get married when they are 20. would you call them aunty when you meet them? and why?
Fraudz, It may sound lame but I called her aunty for several reasons. First of all, my friend who took me to their house called her husband uncle the entire time. If you are calling him uncle, and she had no problem with her calling him uncle, then why be offended if someone calls you aunty? THAT makes no sense to me. Secondly, I hate to say this but to make a point I will mention that she looked a lot older than to me, and thirdly she had a child. My friend actually defended me to her, in calling her aunty.
And yes, I would call someone younger than me aunty if she was married with kids, unless she asked me not to call her that. I dont care if it sounds silly. snooty
If I had a child and someone calls me aunty I wont mind, or even if I was well-on in age and I didnt have kids I wouldnt mind. I will either tell them to call me by first name or continue calling me aunty.
That is just plain wrong.
its not that it just sounds silly, it would make you look silly ![]()
Haha. Not really, because people cant tell how old I am. Now if I was 45 and the person was 20 then I wouldnt do that.
umm u cant pass for 20 or 22, and this is from a few years ago. so I am sure people can tell that you are not 20, or def not young enough to call someone, who is 20, an aunty.
and its not just that 'people cant tell' how old I am business
No one expects a 16 year old to have graduated 3-4 years ago from college.
people add 2 and 2 very quickly and it would make you look silly and someone who is just trying to be a kid.
I mean if you know the person is younger than you, or same age, or even a little older. I really dont see why you have to call someone aunty.
It seems more like a women's issue, guys usually call other guys as bhai, and thus we hardly run into these issues.
agree Fraudia...my mom and her friends were super offened when a guy who was friends with my dad...called him Bhai... he was probably 10-15 years younger...married a girl 10 years younger and that girl started calling my mom and her friends aunty...
They said she's trying to act/be younger than she really is....she stopped doing that and i'm sure her husband set her straight very fast.
The point is to show respect..and if someone is offended it's not doing the job.
I actually basically introduce myself...depending on who it is and how i'm meeting them..say if they are friends of my sister in law..then they are baji..no matter how old they are...and how old their kids are. ( meaning if they have kids as old as me)
I have met older men..who are at least in their early 50s..with daughters who are 25 and they will introduce themselves and their wives by first name..so odd for me since he and she are at least 20 years older than me...but now is the "inbtwn" age where it's hard to tell.
If I'm to go by age difference, then only a difference of 30+ would warrant me calling anyone uncle or aunty...
the safe way is to just think of your youngest family elder who's your uncle/aunt as a benchmark and if the person in question is younger, then you're safe calling them bhai / baji / bhabi etc.
Umar good point as a rule of thumb, that can be messy in desi families, my youngest khala is like 7 years older than me and the youngest mamoon is 11 years older. There is no way I will be calling some lady who is 7 years older than me as an aunty.
if i ate it i would have realised na ![]()
There is no rule here. Just use your own judgement.
I call some of my mom's cousins, "baji" because they aren't that much older than me. Besides am friends with them so i feel odd calling them aunty.
maybe you were sleep eating?