^ I LOVE that smoked smell in food...i usually make yogurt chicken like that and put the koila at the end like you described. :)
*Originally posted by LegallyBrown: *
oo kaghina, FF is omellete in hyderabadi lingo. I think.
Well, both are made from egg, but khagina is different than omelette in how it is fried and presented. While omelette is kept flat while frying, khagina is all meshed together and served more like scrambled egg (with a lot more color, ofcourse, due to tomatoes, green chillies and onion).
Femme,
-khagina is also called anday ka bharta or bhurji if you are familiar with those names. Faisal Bhai, explained khagina really well.
-chapain is chops..mutton chops usually.
-gola kabab is usually made in karachi and served at weddings..its smaller in size than seekh kabab..kafi mota hota hay seekh kabab kay comparison may and does taste different.
Here's a quick recipe from internet:
Gola Kabab
Ingredients
-1 kg. beef mince
-1 tsp ginger paste
-1 tsp. garlic paste
-1 tbsp. unripe papaya
-1 tsp cumin
-1tsp garam masala
-1\4 tsp mace
-1\2 tsp ground green cardamom
-1 egg beaten
-4 tbsp yogurt
-2 tsp salt
-2 onions
- Heat the oil in a sauce pan. Add the onions and stirring frequently, fry for about 10 minutes to a deep golden color.
- Put the onions in a blender or food processor with all the other ingredients except mince and blend to paste.
- Put the mince and the paste in a bowl. Knead the mixture really well for a few minutes with your hands until the mince hold its shape and is soft and pliable.
- Break off large pieces of the mince and shape them into tennis ball sized balls. Insert the skewers in the centre of each ball, then carefully wrap each ball with thread. Brush the kababs with oil. Put skewers carefully over a gentle charcoal flame. Cook for 5 minutes until pale brown on each side. Remove from skewers and serve at once.
:-)
Well in that case mum made some khagina today since my brother doesn't eat paaey. It was yum :D
Thank you for the gola kebab recipe Qrius. I will try to try them over the weekend!
Right now I am making the chicken filling for chicken patties that I will make tomorrow. And some gulgula's. Can ypu use self-raising flour instea dof the yeast thing? I cannot handle it very well.
Uff itni mazay mazay ki recipies ![]()
Fefe, send those chicken patties at the earliest via Fed-ex ![]()
Sabah jee, I will cook one of these dishes today
Chicken Taryaki (Japanese) OR
Dam wali chicken (Desi)
Fruit Pinacolada OR
Chilled cream with fruit.
I have yet to try your butter chicken sometime though.
PPl wake up!
Ok, I cooked Chicken Taryaki. It was awesome, watch out this space for the recipie. ![]()
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
Right now I am making the chicken filling for chicken patties that I will make tomorrow. And some gulgula's. Can ypu use self-raising flour instea dof the yeast thing? I cannot handle it very well.
I dont think you can use self rising flour instead since its more for baked goods. Make sure that you whip this mixture A LOT!!!And i mean ALOT. Mine was initially layse dar and mom said itsnot supposed to be like that. I used a spoon to drop gulgulas in oil but mom just uses the tip if her fingers to drop the paste in oil.
Our yeast has got to be dead. Nothing arouses it! I have asked mum to give it a shot today. If she can't make it wake up then no gulgulas for me :(
Minerva by the time th ey get to Karachi chicken anday de chuki ho gi. not a good idea :p
Sabah, I'm only posting ingrediants. How u chop/mop them or how much u prefer is up to u...
Lettuce (Ice burg) Tear it up into small bits by hand (by knife makes it brown and yellow later)
pitted black olives (a handful) ;-)
2,3 cucumbers cubed
1 purple onion (preferably) chopped, or sliced whatever way u like it
2,3 tomatoes... sliced (cherry tomatoes will do the trick too)
Carrots (optional) chopped, match sticks, ur call :)
1 capsicum
a cup of feta cheese (cut into small half inch cubes)
Now mix all the ingrediants, use this for dressing. In a small cup, mix half cup vinegar, with some of olive oil (the amount of vinegar should be the same as the olive oil). Put in some peper, salt according to taste. U can squease in a lemon if u want. If you've got dried mint, crush it in ur palm, toss that in the mixture. Now u can either shake this entire dressing in that cup or in the blender. :-)
Pour it over the salad. U don't have to use all of it. Just see how much is needed :D
Now I hope I haven't missed anything else :) ENjoy!
PS> In Pineapple suppream while using cookies, the cookies should be crushed. Graham cracker crumbs (chocolate flavour), digestives, Marie have worked better for me than others. Be creative :-)