im of the same belief Anwar.. i think it was more of a spiritual experience rather than a physical one... nevertheless we believe in it, its just different interpretation.... hmm
here we go Nadia:)
Sadzzz,
You are right, it IS an event.
The Guppy i was referring to believed i was silly for believing that Prophet Muhammad (may Allah's peace and blessings be upon him) actually rode on Buraaq and ascended to the heavens. (i think he was mocking the horse too - as though, how could you believe such a horse actually existed? Do you believe in fairytales was the underlying tone). i posted it last year, and i still remember what sort of response i had gotten; my thread was very similar to Tikhi Jalebi's. i was really hurt by the response.
Originally posted by Faisal: *
^ :) Nadia... I think this political correctness hamein lay dobay gi. I think we should all say what we believe in. If some "muslim" hangs around this forum and believes meraj never happened (or whatever) they just need to deal with it. **I don't think we need to bend over backwards to satisfy them.
i agree, Faisal Bhai.
aww dont worry Nadia.... tell u a secret.. my mama believes that horse actually exists too, and my dad mocks her fairytale imagination.. :) u should see the arguments that start from that..
i think there are basically two types of muslims... those that believe in the spiritual side of things... like for example this event.. they think its more of like a myth or something that didnt physically happen to the Prophet... and then there are those who do believe that everything is rock solid.. and it DID happen... ie like the splitting of the moon.. they believe it did happen.. but the other muslims may think its a metaphor..
it doesnt mean that either one is right or wrong... just our minds believe in something thats more comprehendable :)
sadz: please, tell me why do u think it was spritual and not physical journey?
Do u think it can’t be physical because it can’t be comprehended by our given common-sense?
Why does the first ayah of Surah Bani Israel even stress on it being a journey so much if it was not in real..??
A spiritual could be any thing shown in dreams too right? then I am sure Rasoolulah :saw: had have many spiritual expereinces too then why only this event was stressed so much that Hadhrat Abu Bak’r
was given a title of “The truth one” on accepting it a physical journey?
I dunno Anwar... i guess i was just taught in that way that it was more of a spiritual experience... but how does that make it lose its meaning and power?
im not saying 'our' minds cant comprehend... maybe its just me, or maybe thats just the way i understand it... im not saying im right though
*Originally posted by sadzzz: *
how does that make it lose its meaning and power?
it's the faith that matters sadzz... if we dun believe something which actually happened for real for our guidance then yes it is 'we' who lose the meaning of it not that the meaning is lost:-)
Read Mad Scientist posts in the thread of which batameez posted the link: "folder of articles"
i think im coming across all wrong... no worries :)
which section is that thread in?
“folder for articles”](http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=72370&highlight=ShabeMiraj)
click the link above sadz:)
thanx Anwar.. i just read that :)
im gonna read some more stuff... and Inshallah get back with what i think.... the post by Mad_scientist does clear things up for me.. but i need to read more acha..
thanx again
May ALLAH guide us all:flower1:
^ :)
My point was that I don't think there are "muslims" who deny that meraj ever happened. Primarily because Quran mentions it clearly. Whether it was physical or spiritual is really another discussion. I believe it was physical. Some others may believe it was super-natual (and thus for human beings with limited knowledge, it is beyond our comprehension and hence called 'spiritual'), but even they don't deny that the event happened. Now, do they?