WC TV Commentary

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
I like guys like Gavaskar, Tony Greg, Geoffery Boycott, Richie Benaud, Mark Taylor, Imran Khan, Barry Richrads.

I hate commentators like Micheal Holding (ugly accent) Sanjay Manjrekar, Ravi Shastri, Amir Sohail, Mudassar Nazar (during wc 99) Ranjhit Fernanado, and every other carribean commentator.

Yeah thats right. Carribean commentators bore me to death with their accents, especially Michael Holding. I really like Australian commentary, and English too, because they put the enthusiasm into their comments.

Not only does knowledge play a part in commentating, but the right words, voice quality, enthusiasm, etc. Someone who doesn't bore the hell out you!
Tony Greig is the best undoubtedly. Barry Richards, Geoffery Boycott, Mark Taylor, Dean Jones, and Robin Jackman.

Desi commentators stink just as bad as Caribean ones.

I wish Cricket commentators were more like Football commentators, only closest one that comes to that is: Tony Greig.

Imagine a out being said.. OUTTTTTTTTTTTTTT :)

I agree Tony Greig sure does bring enthusiasm to the box.

Can you imagine squaring him up with Sidhu?. I say throw them both in the box when India faces upto England. Boy, I tell you... we will have a blast or what.

Ah.. I miss Munir Hussain, a famous urdu commentator who is also the publisher of a cricket magazine.

Imran Khan apnay nishaan pe puhnchay, murr karr dorna shuru kiya, taiz huay… umpire ke paass say guzray, faza mein jump lagayee, aur gaind batsman ke bat ke khareeb say guzarti hui wicket keeper ke mehfooz haathon mein…

Honestly, this was TV commentary, not radio. Even back then, hans hans ke bura haal ho jaata thaa. Aray bhai, we are seeing all that on TV screen, anyway.. koi nayee baat batao!.

Two Pakistani commentators I really liked were Iftikhar Ahmad and Chisti Mujahid. Kiya baat thee duno ki :k:

*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *
Imagine a out being said.. OUTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

PC yaar - that would be true if you were listening to an audio commentry and dont have an advantage of watching the game. When you are watching the cricket game, The commentry should be informal because everyone is watching the game and dont need to be told same thing 10 times by 5 different commentators. The commentry on TV should be crisp and impartial with some humour.

Commentry in Soccer and Cricket are different, because soccer is a very fast game as opposed to cricket (unless Shoaib is bowling :) )

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
Aamir sohail is really a bad commentator.....the only thing he does is praise the paki team even when andrew symonds is making mince-meat out of them......not a single good word for the opposition.

nah yaara nescio, i differ here, actually we couins when watching the match were pissed when he continuosly repeating the sam epoint, During the Symonds on-slaught, all he was asying that though the Pais bowler bowled initially, they let these aussies off the hook.

and what about Shastri?? I like him a lot but during the recent NZL series with india. He couldnt find any suitable oppuritunity t rave aout sachins, gangulys and co.. and as soon a batsman hit a boundary , he was all praise for him and starts boasting about him. He really was disappointing iin that series.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I agree Tony Greig sure does bring enthusiasm to the box.

Can you imagine squaring him up with Sidhu?. I say throw them both in the box when India faces upto England. Boy, I tell you... we will have a blast or what.

well whenever Tony and Boycot were together in the box, the commentery was a blast :D

Saby yaar - First of all There is a great diff between the cricketing persona of Imran and Shastri. The right person to compare Imran Khan is with Sunil Gavaskar and If you listen to Sunil and Imran you will notice the difference. Imran is a great cricketer (perhaps the greatest in the subcontinent) like Sunil and he should be impartial, We in India have a lot of respect for him.

About Shastri - I dont like him either and cant stand his commentary and glad that he is in the company of sohails and jimmy adams. He is ordinary at best.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Saby yaar - First of all There is a great diff between the cricketing persona of Imran and Shastri. The right person to compare Imran Khan is with Sunil Gavaskar and If you listen to Sunil and Imran you will notice the difference. Imran is a great cricketer (perhaps the greatest in the subcontinent) like Sunil and he should be impartial, We in India have a lot of respect for him.

well maybe i didnt notice the inzi thing you mentioned but i have noticed his unfair critisicm of Pakistani team in 96 auarter final. Though we lost that match but he was constantly pushing for miandad's exclusion, well mayeb that cancles it out.

Richie Benaud's rule of thumb for cricket commentators: "Speak only if you can add to the picture".

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

I cant believe I'll ve be saying that, but I will have to agree with Asif here. Sunil Gavaskar is a better commentator then Imran in a sense that Imran does tend to get a little supposting to Pakistan. But there is nothing worng with that, while Sunny is a regular commentator Imran only does it on few occasions and he makes himself a part of the team. If you notice time and again he refers to Pakistan team as "US" or "WE". But I think thats cause Imran is not a regualt commentator and a very patriotic Pakistani and he just cant quit taking the side of "HIS" team.

He still has nice things to say about others though and I love to hear Imran commenting on cricket as he raises issues that others cant even think about.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Richie Benaud's rule of thumb for cricket commentators: "Speak only if you can add to the picture".

The Game Responds:

*'Tis what makes him one of the greats when it comes to making comments during a match. People, That Is All.*
  • “India has to keep on its toes like a midget at a urinal” - Navjot Singh Sidhu on his country’s World Cup chances.

Ifthikar Ahmed was pure class. pak matches aint the same without him.

Richie Benaud announced that he would retire his microphone in three years’ time. The former Australian captain, 72, said: ‘I’ve got a three-year contract with Channel 4 in the UK to go. That takes me up to the 2005 Ashes series, which is when I’ll call it a day.’

One of my favorites in the box.