Re: Watch Out

No good news!

I am right here:chai:

^ You actually posted in english. :eek: :hayaa:

^Kuch banto:hehe:

Dow down nearly 700 points in the first 10 minutes of trading.

^^^ and now it is in positive zone
indication that we r near a bottom insha allah. or might be have found it

We can hope so but there are talks of other banks/fin-houses like JP Morgan going bust.... lets see what comes next week!

^^^ yeah thats wat paulsan said yesterday that more banks are gona go bankrupt cuz 850 billion dollar plan is not for everyone, its for the choosen ones.

and last time i talked to investors i was told that citi and jp are the only two banks in the safe zone, now i think bank of america is the safest of should i say its soo big that government wil have to save it incase there is something wrong.

but yeah again, we are very much near a bottom, the plunge we say in the morning in Dow and S&P is called "forced" plunge in technical terms, it happens when they have to turn the market in the bullish way. you see the same "forced" movement when the FOMC reports comes every 6 weeks and when job situation comes every month.
so it gives an indication that we are very much close to a bottom insha allah.

and then i turned cnn, cnbc, bloomberg and bnn on, everyone overthere had the same views, specially the guy i call finance guru, Ali Velshi from CNN.

but again, it is market, ur prediction can always go wrong. remember warren buffet said "nothing is gona happen" when the s&P was in 1300s, and then he said Fennie and Freddie are too big to fail, dont hesitate in putting ur money in em, and the failed.

so if buffet can be wrong anyone can be wrong

So if other banks are going to go bust why would market sentiment be positive? I think it will take time before we see some sustained rally(ies).

I don't think we are anywhere near the bottom. The market is in negative territory again. Watch the last hour and how it closes. My prediction, unless something happens between now and the close that the market will close heavily down. A lot depends on the lehman guarantee call up and how it fares.

LOlz anytime i post something there is always a disagreement :S

ehtsab and ehsan bro do u guys hate me or somthing :S lol

well i posted all the reason that y i think the bottom is near eg) rule of forced movement and investors interviews from those channels and ali velshi.

and in the end i also wrote that i might be wrong, as warren buffet was wrong aswell.

but now leme explain something else aswell. i dono if u guys are professional traders/ economists but there are two things in the markets 1) support and resistance and 2) historical data.

despite all the helps and policies from FED and treasury the markets kept on plunging and kept breaking the previous supports, now the rule of thumb is the older the support the stronger it is. so we r going towards the strongest supports ever.

and now coming towards the historical data. history proves that whenever a country goes into a recession or depression, ppl keep on loosing their jobs, companies keep on going bankrupt GDP keeps on shrinking BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT stock markets start going up months before the depression/ recession ends.

it might not makes sense for u guys, but that is true and history proves it. Investers never look at the present, they always look at the future. in depression/ recession u get the real deals, amazing bargains. y did buffet boghut $3 bilion of prefered shares of GE that was about to collapse?? y did Buffet give billions to Morgan Stanley, a company that has NEVER done commercial banking b4. cuz he knew he is getting bargains that he wont get once the recession is over.

so the whole point is that big investers always come in when the market is collapsing and ppl are panicing, and they get bargains, and stock markets turn bullish despite of negative growth, job losses and bankruptcies.

history is evident.

but i might be wrong as i said earlier, m just a human being.

^ Thanks for your post. Just to let you know I have been a professional trader since 1985. I have been through quite a few crashes and surges. I was once incharge of a portfolio worth $150mln :D

i was thinking so, guessed from ur interest masha allah.

and dont get pissed bro its all cool. i didn say anything against u, neither did i disagree, elaborated my point of view.

and after having more than 20 years of experience do u think anything i said in my above posts is wrong?

Its all good, I am interested in your views and welcome them. Maybe the market will surge, who knows but my gut instinct is a sustained rally is not in the offing. No one has the stomach for it. The banks are in a bad state and now other pillars of the economy are beginning to crumble, reference GM. Stay safe with your investments.

wat markets do u invest in sir?? just UK or international???
m from canada but all my living comes from wallstreet.

I invest primarily on UK and US markets and deal extensively in traded options and futures.

:hehe: no sir ji, no hatin here.

I agree that anyone can be wrong and so can I :smiley:

The question is how can we say that market is bottoming already? I agree market starts going up before recession is called “over” but govt has not admitted of even beginning of recession :D.

from BBC website:

Wall Street has lost more than 20% of its value in the past ten trading days and is heading for one of its biggest weekly falls since the Dow was created 112 years ago.
Meanwhile, the UK's FTSE closed down 381.7 points lower at 3,932, wiping £91.2bn off the value of the largest UK shares.
The index has fallen 21% this week - the second-biggest fall in the FTSE 100.
The largest single day fall in the FTSE 100 was on 23 October 1987 - coined Black Monday - when the index lost 28.23%.

government has not admitted cuz "by book" and by "definition" USA is not in recession. government can call a recession until it fullfiles the definition, and USA has not seen the negative growth yet.

and we can say that markets are almost near a bottom cuz most of the giants have lost almost half of their worth, and some stocks that used to be around 50 bucks now are around 5 bucks, gm was $5 in 1952 last time. so doesn it sound like a bargain, its all about bargain, and its not something that jsut i m saying, all the news channels and investors are saying, insha allah it is near