Verdict on Mela Charaghan

Re: Verdict on Mela Charaghan

Is it permissible to perform bhangra or sing? i mean, wtf are punjabis allowed from their culture? how have they had this culture if its all non permissible? after all they have been muslims for 700 yrs or so.

Oh wow See Sadiyah ! Dr. AQ Khan got it after all these years fo research Yaaaaay ! :yahoo:

Bhai Anwaar Qureshi !

Mela Maveshiyaan was part of Mela Chiraghaan, But during the time of Field Marshal Ayub Khan it became such a huge event that it caused adminstrative nightmare and he ordered to make it a separate event ( 1950s)

Sir, before you crack another char aney ka joke, Let me tell you that these funfair are not just for fun, These Melas were very important because they provided aveneue for marchents to boast their trades and a huge economic activity take place as a result

For those who do not know, Mela Maweshiyaan( Horse and Cattle show) is another very important event in lahore, which is organised to showcase the Cattles and livestock performace of the province during the year. And good performer are awarded with prize. It last for a week and it includes performaces by thousand of school kids ( on the patern of games olympics etc) also Various games, cultural games, dances Bike stunts and much more ..
During nights, Tato show is held in which kid make different formations with lights ( torches ) All this is spectacular and very entertaining .

People from all over the province come to watch this week long gala.

Plus on the side there is industrial exhibition where companies display and sell their products.

^^ all this was originally part of Mella Chiraghaan but when it grew big and harder to manage, then these were made separete events.

Bhai A Q Khan ! We the people of Lahore are called “Zinda Dilan-e-Lahore” and there is a damn good reason for this title :slight_smile:

*Zindagi, Zida dilli ka naam hai *
*Murda dil kia khaak jia kartey hian ! *

Chaleye is baat per ittefaq kar letey hian, ye phool meri taraf se :rose:

**Codeyyyyyyyy, kaha na. AQ theek keh raha hai. Chup oye.:grumpy:

**My 3 years old cousin died falling from roof last year while her brothers were flying kites.Last year my 2 fingers were sverely cutted from joints, thank God I still have them.

Basant is Hindu festial no more argument. Its a waste of time and money. Time is a priceless thing. Money is neccessity. And the most important thing, lives of people.

Charaghan is also done on account of any Godess. And we dont believe in multi Gods. Hai na?

If mela Chiraghan is celeberated in remeberence of some Blashmeous event it is haram.

I still await your Islamic stance on the celebration in the light of Quran and Sunnah. The onus is on you and not on me. You were the one who wanted to clarify the Islamic stance, therefore, please do so.

Usually Islamic stances tend to state whether it's permissible, forbidden, or makruh. Please do let us know in the light of Quran and Sunnah.

Mela Chiraghan is a funfair. It is allowed in Islam to go to funfairs for recreation of family and self, provided that one stays away from forbidden activities.

^ What forbidden activities are you referring to?

The guy is talking about Ishq, I recently found out Ishq and Mahabbah (Urdu. Mohabbat) are not the same thing, Mahabbah is simply love but Ishq is love tainted with sexual lust, now whenever I here Ishq in a religious hymns it makes me cringe and shudder with disgust, maybe it’s ignorance of the poet maybe he’s just perverted.

The Prophet :saw: loved his cousin and son-in-law Ali :razi: as a younger brother and a son, loving ones fellow Muslim like you’d love your own blood brother or father is encouraged in Islam and is considered virtuous but not lusty selfish “love”.

Sufi poets wrote poetry complimenting the rosy cheeks, flawless skin, elegant necks, seductive eyes and peach butts of young lads, I think it’s clear that the love portrayed in some (not all) Sufi verses is quite different from the healthy non-sexual brotherly love which Islam encourages amongst its male followers, the love Sufi poets wrote about was the love Zeus felt for Ganymede or a love a man should feel for his wife.

Brotherly love is not based on somebody’s sexy looks, that’s lust, it’s only love when you care for and feel an emotional bond with the person not their looks, the way I love a friend as a brother despite him having crouzon’s disease (disfigured face).

I admit people can’t be blamed for being attracted to other males just as they can’t be blamed for being attracted to non-spouse females but they can be blamed for purposely ogling and lusting over their object of desire and not lowering their gaze or for consummating their lust, if they think lusting will bring them closer to God then they are mistaken, they talk blasphemy.

for example killing someone with the "Maanjhaa" of kite in the name of fun.

Boozing, Gambling (Lottery) , asking about future from palmists and other such activities.

OMG- I am sorry to hear your loss :flower1: May Allah give strength to the grieved family, I know how it feels when some one in family dies in an accident.

Just as i believe you are not lying, so the following is also true

Some months ago, 5 year old son of a relative was killed in an accident while he was playing cricket outside his home. Couple of years ago another relative and his one year old nephew died in an accident when his bike colided with a public transport bus.

So let us join hands and condemn all these dangerous activities and demand a complete ban on

1. kite flying
  2. Cricket
  3. Public transport buses
  4. RIDING Moter bikes

Every day we hear/ read that people die in these dangerous activities. May Allah save us from the hazards of them.ameen

Every year many women die during giving birth-

What do you say-this dangerous activity be stopped :hehe:

Bhai jan-

Open your eyes , you will inshallah see the difference between KiteFlying/Basant and Mela Maweshiyan/Chiraghan

Allah Hidayat day:o :frowning: :slight_smile: :blush:

Sir, By far this is a very dangerous activity :frowning: and our govt is hell bent on stopping this activity for past 40 years :hehe:

Bhai jaan,

Open your eyes and start treating kite flying, a sport, at par with all other sports and shun your bias about this game’s so-called manufactured assosiation with any religion or any event. :flower1:

once you do that, I do not see any issue between you and me :slight_smile:

Both Basant and Mela Chiraghaan/ Mela Mawaishyan has no concern with any religion. These are local folk festivals.

Allah hidayat de hum sab ko. ameen

ok 1 thing i would like to add that is :

PS : i only believe on chiraghaan on eid - milad- un nabi :D

I am sorry to tell you that you are 100 % wrong about your perception of ISHQ
I suggest you read more about it to get the right idea.

It has nothing to do with physical desire, Ishq is the ultimate level of Love and passion, where all worldy matters become irrelevent and only desire is to be with beloved or dreaming about getting recognition in the heart of beloved.

Please look for the meaning of following terms very commonly used in urdu.

Ishq -e Ilahi
Ishq-e Majazi
Ishq-e Haqiqui
Ishq-e Rasool
Ishq-e Hussain

Every thing does not revolve around sex, It is very stereotypical to assume that

Now we talk about Heer Ranjha very casually and dont regard this folk tale very highly. But it is a fact that all learned people who understand their immortal love, regard them highly

The shrine of Heer is in the city of Jhang and it is a fact that no one their call her "heer" they call her "Mai Heer" ( Lady Heer ) and her beloved 'Baba Ranjha' just out of sheer respect because they understand that they had extra ordinary gift of Ishq.

Main wi janan dhok Ranjhan di, naal mare koi challey
Pairan paindi, mintan kardi, janaan tan peya ukkaley
Neen wi dhoonghi, tilla purana, sheehan ney pattan malley
Ranjhan yaar tabeeb sadhendha, main tan dard awalley
Kahe Husain faqeer namana, sain senhurray ghalley

Travelers, I too have to go; I have to go to the solitary hut of Ranjha. Is there any one who will go with me? I have begged many to accompany me and now I set out alone. Travelers, is there no one who could go with me?
The River is deep and the shaky bridge creaks as people step on it. And the ferry is a known haunt of tigers. Will no one go with me to the lonely hut of Ranjha?
During long nights I have been tortured by my raw wounds. I have heard he in his lonely hut knows the sure remedy. Will no one come with me, travelers? <

as iqbal said

1)sitaroon say agay jahaan aur bhi hain
abhi ishq kay imteehaan aur bhi hain

2) jawanoon ko sooz-e- jiggar bakhs day
mera ishq meri nazar baksh day

3) ki MUHAMMAD say wafa tu nay tu hum teray hain
YEH jahan cheez kia hai looh-0- qalam teray hain

iqbal explained the theories of ishq-e-mijazi etc. very well in his poetry .