Meanings in English..!!! :frusty:

Re: Urdu Words

Poor/Broke/Pathetic

Robber/Pirate

Fist fight

ZuBan-e-GhaIR se kia shaRa-e-Arzoo karte :snooty:

I was just kidding , it is a made up word and is not Urdu dictionary It is only spoken in streets. You can assign any meaning you want to it.

LOL I googled it and found out that some people in India have this name check this out:

When I first read this part of the post, my reaction was haiN - yeh kya likha hai. And then the lightbulb went off. Since I cannot write Urdu (lekin thoRi bohut paRh layti hooN), I had no idea the Roman Urdu spelling would be as above. I thought it would have been spelled am'mu man.

I also think that its amoo'mum

ok someone explain

mere zaat zara-e- benishan

my intelligence tells me it means...my my identity without a nishan :@: meaning pure?? (like my soul is pure:D)

No it means 'my identity is pointless' or something like that. Zarra-e-benishan meens point without any shadow or something like that

^ooooooh. i get it, in context it means..my identity is pointless in front of God (because basically in that drama they all thought they were above God..etc)

Yay for urdu.

my word: quwat - e - mudafat

Shugufta :D

Kiya yaad dila diya rozay main :hinna:

Kya yaad dila diya, ya kis ki yaad dila diya :nahi:

Here go some IMHO unique words:

Jazib: means attractive
Bab: means door or a chapter
Khajalat: means shame
Qafal: means Lock
Waza: means situation or appearance
Yaas: means fear
Furkat: signifies absence of someone you love.

Kartooti: mischief maker

^wow nice!!

please add more:D

Sure,

yagaanah: unique
har jaa'ee: Usually refers to a faithless lover
Aab-e-zar: Liquid Gold.
Hai'ola: A soft glow that surrounds a bright object e.g. the glow around a full moon.
Naa aashnaa: Total stranger
Uuth Pataang: gibberish or clearly dumb or irrelevant
Mulaa'im: Soft
Umda: Means Excellent
Malaamat: To rebuke
hai'at: this has a number of meanings according to the context, it can mean astronomy or a face or a physical appearance of someone/something or a delegation
Aabgeenah: Cup
Mukarrar: Repeatedly. Usually said to a poet to ask him to read a verse again.
Marmar: Marble or clean like marble.
Jawaahir: Gems
Takaluf: This is a bit hard to explain. Suppose you go to a friends house and he arranges for a big dinner than you can say that: "Tumhen itna takaluf nai kerna chahye tha" because you are not a guest so he shouldn't have made the extravagant arrangement. Or you go to his house and he's sitting with you having fries and offers you some but you refuse although there is no reason to then your friend can say "Itna takaluf kioun ker rahe ho". Don't know the equivalent english word for it ...

Tun: A slang word meaning a person is speaking or acting stoned ... or actually is stoned.

Shagoofa :D

Good post Bulld0zer.

Closest meaning of takalluf may be formality.

Literally means bud.

Sometimes it is said for situation where someone says something that can lead to funny or controversial discussion.

Aap Ne Phir Koi Naya Shagoofa Chor Dia!

ChuTkala has similar meaning.

Quwat-e-Mudafeut = Power/ability to defend

Untraa= First part of a song/Ghazal

Chalantaroo= Street smart, wicked (person)