ur book plans

i share the love for old book shops with all you guys, they're a blessing really and the weekly bazaars are awsome. i've been to the shops in islamabad a lot when we used to live there and still do during our trips. a few very old ones are in the Jinnah market (near cake palace and pappasalis), super market and melody. In karachi the frere hall bazaar's very famous and real book lovers never return without finding lost treasures most often for awfully low prices.

and sweetpie, the last book i bought 3 days ago was for school too ; 'financial info for mgmnt' and i haven't gone farther than the first few pages yet...had it been some other book the story wouldve been diff :P...

ophiolites
Sidiq salik was an army officer right? ive heard about his books, but am not sure what topics he writes on. if you like military literature i highly reccomend Col Ashfaq Husains series of 'Gentlemen...' books.

I'm planning on finally buying Stanley Wolpert's 'Jinnah of pakistan' and 'Gandhi's passion'. I've been planning eversince i met Prof Wolpert but never get down to it...let's hope i get them soon. and then i wonder which one i should read first... guess Jinnah...

I, like munni don't buy books..i don't have the space and can think of better items to spend my money on...plus i dn't mind the wait at the library..

I just finished
Brick Lane by monica ali
excellent
empire falls...ok it's got a pulizer but it started getting very long for me

I'm reading middle sex which is great

I also just got from the library
jhumpa lahari (sp?) new book name sake as well as

the time traveler's wife..they are both supposed to be great...

Sweetie and harris..
ah i am so glad i'm out of school and can read for pleasure...but it's great you guys take time out and do read anyways.

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
oh sorry, i misunderstood your meaning.

While i'm on the topic - you don't find decent secondhand bookstores in Canada, 'least not where i live. i hate it. We have loads of the major bookstore chains, but very few of the small, independently-owned, old, genuine secondhand bookstores.

you can find some great second hand book stores in toronto atleast. I have not checked many out in Chicago, but in philadelphia right on south street there were a few old book stores..some of those books were more expensive than my car, some were cheaper then the can of soda i had to chuck before getting in the door.

when i used to visit toronto and wandered in the area around eaton center i saw some really good book stores. I am guessing u are not in toronto?

*Originally posted by Lajawab: *

Ravage: You should try going to the Urdu Bazar in Karachi...You'd find books, manuscripts and documents there which you won't find anywhere in the world...It is said to be one of the oldest and most varied source of books after the original Urdu Bazar in Delhi...

I do go to urdu bazaar...lekin

A. its mostly populated by techie/college books. Which is all very well, there isnt a place like urdu bazaar if you want weird books on any blasted topic on the planet..but im talking nice benign, classicy books

B. its too huge. as in HUGE. im sure theres a couple of gems in there somewhere, but come on..even i dont like books that much.

C. no atmosphere. its as much about atmosphere, the sleepiness, the dignified laziness as its about books...

but tell me if you know any shops in particular..

btw for urdu..i know one bookshop that has a great selection and deals exclusively in urdu publishers.

Betty & Veronica
Pals n Gals
Jughead & Archie
Laugh
Archie
Jughead

^Aah! i miss the good old days…:k:

finshed kaleesaa aur agg, now planning on maybee talwar thoot gayee also by naseem hijazi

or andulus meh ajnabhi:smack2: :smack2: :smack2:

I enjoy bying books, lekin yeh wali maine apne abu ki library par dhaka dal kar li hain.

aur talwaar toot gayee— yet another classic of Naseem Hijaazi

and Andulus maiN Ajnabi :bummer:?

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
you can find some great second hand book stores in toronto atleast. I have not checked many out in Chicago, but in philadelphia right on south street there were a few old book stores..some of those books were more expensive than my car, some were cheaper then the can of soda i had to chuck before getting in the door.

when i used to visit toronto and wandered in the area around eaton center i saw some really good book stores. I am guessing u are not in toronto?

You guessed rightly, Fraudz :)

Lajawab, Are you serious about opening up a secondhand bookstore?

I love the thrift store for books.....actually found an older 1940's childrens illustrated book for a dime...saw the same book on ebay for $18 .. :) Library often sells old books for a dime or 25cents...love searching through the old stacks.

right now im reading 'How to Write a Damn Good novel' by James N Frey

its so interesting and well worth the read

i suggest Stephen King's 'On Writing' its excellent as well

Oye… DAKKA dalna is more burra kaam than Choori :hehe:

Meri … aik book “KULLIAT-e-Saahir” pe bhi Daaka paRa tha :crying:

Aur talwar tooT gayee

Master piece… :k:

Sultaaan Tipu :love:

Iss se pehlay I guess… MUAZAM ALI hay…wo paRH lena… then go for It… :slight_smile:

Ok, just read a bunch of great novels!

Middlesex : A Novel -- by Jeffrey Eugenides

The Time Traveler's Wife

by Audrey Niffenegger This book just rocked...really interesting, funny and sad

The Namesake : A Novel -- by Jhumpa Lahiri, this is the same author that won the pulitzer for her short stories, interpeter of maladies.

Brick lane, by an bangali british writer about a bengali woman in England

i hope there is more litrerary exchange between indian and pakistan now

I am reading “Taboo” by fouzia saeed… gives an excellent insight of the red light area of Lahore :k:

“neepal nagri” by mustansir hussain tarar is up next in line.

poetry collection of abrar umer “december ab bhi tera muntazir hai” is the one i am enjoying fully these days…

more book plans?