Uprising taking place in Basra by locals

lalalalallalalalalala..no matter what you say, or what is infront of us...we won;t believe you...lalalalalal...long live saddam.

British source says unaware of any Basra uprising

*KUWAIT, March 25 (Reuters) - British military officials said on Tuesday they had no information on any popular uprising in Iraq’s second city of Basra, but added that they would do everything possible to encourage such a revolt.

“We don’t know anything about a Basra uprising,” said a British military source in Central Command in Qatar.*

:hehe: No its that for the Americans anything (rumours specially) broadcast by that entertainment channel called Fox News is the truth.

*Originally posted by Chaltahai: *
lalalalallalalalalala..no matter what you say, or what is infront of us...we won;t believe you...lalalalalal...long live saddam.

I could sing a song vice versa for you, aur wo bhi in HINDI!

There are reports on Al Jazeera that the British morters are aimed at civilians. and this is what BBC just reported.

A qoute from spokesman for the British military in Qatar, Al Lockwood:

“The ruling party responded by firing mortars at the crowd that was advancing towards them, our artillery responded to that with shells and mortars.”
BBC

Albabwa.com

Powell says forces face difficulties; Iraq denies reports about uprising in Basra

http://www.albawaba.com/news/index.php3?sid=245241&lang=e&dir=news

Excerpt

Meanwhile, Iraqi forces in Basra were firing mortars on fellow Iraqis who were rebelling against them in Basra and British forces were firing artillery on these mortar positions.

This report was aired on the Sky News TV channel in London Tuesday evening. It said British military intelligence had reported that “Iraqi forces are firing mortar rounds on protestors who are actually rebelling against the ruling Baath party.”

In Qatar, a British military spokesman at allied field command headquarters said he could not confirm reports of the uprising. “I cannot confirm the report,” Lieutenant Colonel Ronnie Mc Court told AFP.

Iraq’s main Shi’ite opposition group also said that people in Basra had risen up against forces loyal to President Saddam Hussein.

“We confirm an uprising is taking place in Basra, but we cannot give more details for the time being,” said Mohamed Hadi Asadi, a spokesman for the Iran-based Supreme Council of the Islamic Revolution in Iraq (SCIRI).

On his part, Iraqi Information Minister Mohammad Said al-Sahhaf on Tuesday denied reports of an uprising in the southern city of Basra, in a statement to Al-Jazeera television.

Who knows?

this quote says that the British troops fired on the Iraq forces that shot at the crowd.

maybe central command in Qatar should get Hadi whatever in Iran to provide them the latest ground situation..

The Guardian has managed to get an interview with a couple of residents inside Basra so a first hand account providing useful insight:

Voices from a city in chaos

muslims fighting amongst each other once again? :bummer:

when is our ummah going to learn to be united?

and when are we going to realise that no matter what, the non muslims who seem to ‘helping’ r doing it coz of selfish interests n will never be loyal to muslims…

apna nuksaan khud hi kyun kerte hayn hum log

this is indeed sad :frowning:

Allah plz hamari ummat kee aankhein khol de

i’m praying its just rumors and false propaganda…jang akhbaar reported that arab tv says theres no baghawat in basra

irem…this is all propaganda! its all bulSh!t!!!

i hope so inshallah

but look at what happenned in afghanistan…northern alliance vs taliban…

and what happenned before: iraq vs iran

and y the the us forces based in muslim countries? i just dont understand, how can these countries allow us forces to be stationed on their soil and attack a brother muslim country?

its the worst thing :bummer:

usual propaganda war. this news has been declined by Shiite leader in town. the media is being used to demoralise Iraqis, but so far it didn't really work.

You seem extremely apprehensive regarding this Iraqi issue, which is understandable. lol ..well irem we alll have the same question on our minds but the problem is we happen to live in a very perplex world, which consist of corrupt and perfidious leaders who are in power to serve their own interests rather than their people. Secondly, what I think is that they are simply forgetting the outcome that they have to face in this world and in here after. They simply don’t fear Allah and are constantly engaging themselves in brutal aggression to kill their own brothers, which is by giving their land, and other services to the enemy forces.

All we can do is just pray and hope for the very best for these poor Iraqis.

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *
usual propaganda war. this news has been declined by Shiite leader in town. the media is being used to demoralise Iraqis, but so far it didn't really work.

thats so true! and u know wot is so bad is that americans r just simply deceiving their people through the media hmm yaa courtesy of CNN lol!

Speaking of uprising to paraphrase a certain historical Chinese personage: A hostile populace is the water in which the guerilla fish swims.

30 US divisions would not be enough to maintain civil order in Iraq if the civilian populace were to remain hostile and provide sustainence and cover to guerilla fighters.

Chances are this war will not be decided on the battlefield per se. For in the battlefield the US is likely to win due to quantity and quality of weapons. But if the Iraqi people do not come over to the US side, then the US inevitably will lose this war especially one for Baghdad... And so far I have not seen any uprising seems like US miscalculated.

Well lets wait for the sandstorms to calm down the dust to settle and the smoke to clear.