Amid loud applause from tribesmen, the leader of the five wanted tribesmen declared his allegiance. “Pakistan is our home. We want peace here. The Pakistani forces are our brothers,”
No talk of allegiance to Afghanistan, the Taliban or Al Qaida but Pakistan. By the way did you know that the Pakistani army is not going anywhere? It is staying put in FATA, and will continue to remain there - defeated forces always retreat or withdraw if they lose...this is what the BBC reported on the FATA deal.
The Pakistani military's real success story has been the way it used the proverbial carrot and stick method to make inroads in some of the most inaccessible and semi-autonomous tribal territories in the last two years. In some of the areas like the Tirah Valley, overlooking the infamous Torabora caves in Afghanistan, and in parts of Waziristan, the Pakistani troops had gone in for the first time 56 years. **Even the British colonial army had never been able to persuade or force the tribesmen to let them occupy some of these areas. **
How do feel about all the FATA tribal leaders pledging allegiance to Pakistan, and the permamnent presence of the Pakistani army in the area? :)
Though Pakistani, Nek Mohammad said he had fought under the command of Taliban supreme leader Mulla Mohammad Omar and even now considered him his Amirul Momineen (commander of the faithful).
Nek Mohammad said he and his men didn’t surrender to the army. He said no arms were surrendered to the army either. He also said the militants weren’t bound to present any foreigners to the authorities.
A top tribal militant pardoned by the Pakistan government has vowed to continue jihad but pledged that he would not use the Pakistani soil to launch attack on neighbouring Afghanistan.
“Any Muslim can go to any country to wage jihad but Waziristan’s soil will not be used to fire at Afghanistan,” he told Dawn when asked whether he would continue his jihad in Afghanistan.
Asked whether he would cooperate with the government to get foreign militants registered by the stipulated April 30 deadline, the 27-year-old militant said: **“There will be no operation and catching foreigners is not part of the agreement.” **
**Nek Mohammad’s assertions run counter to the impression given by the government official that the tribal militants who had been accused of sheltering and facilitating foreign militants would account for their foreign guests and get them registered with the authorities. **
Those who consider Mulla Omar as Amir-ul-momineen by defintion are pledging fealty to the Taliban. What is that Malik73? Do you consider Mulla Omar as Pakistan’s leader now? :rolleyes: :hehe:
How do you feel about these terrorists pledging loyalty to the Taliban, refusing to hand over foreigners and refusing to surrender arms and not one person being punished for killing Pak faujis in cold blood? :rolleyes:
Khilaari its simple. There are idiots in the world. You deal with them if they are trouble. In this case people who have killed muslims in the past who have attacked Muslim women and children and bring brought to justice by the Pakistani army. What is wrong with that?
Btw the article you posted also said this
"We are loyal to Pakistan. We don’t want to fight the Pakistan Army or the state. Fighting each other was a mistake and we want to ensure that it never happens again," he said.**
and...
Calling the tribesmen the "second atom bomb of Pakistan," Nek Mohammad said Islamabad could use them anywhere and for any purpose or cause. "We as tribesmen are the unpaid soldiers of Pakistan. Our forefathers fought in Kashmir and we too are willing to offer sacrifices for the country," he added.
Like any story there are two sides. Lets not let our unislamic principles of race and the caste system influence our vision of reality.
These men are protecting known murderers and killers of muslim women and children. Why are you upset when their are being brought to justice?
Is blood stronger than honor, justice and the truth for you?
Look, Khilari some of the statements by the ISPR may were made for domestic consumption only. You know the majroty that still depends on PTV as a source of news. Rest of us, including yourself, know better than to waste our time bisecting those statements and basing judgement on them. What we need to do however is to look at the options Pak. Army had. The ground realities. What was the objective of the operation? And why was it undertaken? It is clear from the statements in the article that you posted that the objective was to stop the militants from using Pakistan soil as a springboard for their activities in Afghanistan. Has Pakistan achieved it, I think it has. If Nek Muhammad wants to fight for Omar, his choice but he can't use Pakistan soil. And he won't according to the agreement.
What qualifies as a definition of a foreigner in tribal areas? This guy is saying Uzbeks and Tajiks are also pro Taliban "mujahideen" that America is seeking.
But, we know Tajiks/Uzbeks are with Northern Alliance and anti-Talibs, so Nek man is lying.
Amid loud applause from tribesmen, the leader of the five wanted tribesmen declared his allegiance. “Pakistan is our home. We want peace here. The Pakistani forces are our brothers,”
No talk of allegiance to Afghanistan, the Taliban or Al Qaida but Pakistan. By the way did you know that the Pakistani army is not going anywhere? It is staying put in FATA, and will continue to remain there - defeated forces always retreat or withdraw if they lose...this is what the BBC reported on the FATA deal.
The Pakistani military's real success story has been the way it used the proverbial carrot and stick method to make inroads in some of the most inaccessible and semi-autonomous tribal territories in the last two years. In some of the areas like the Tirah Valley, overlooking the infamous Torabora caves in Afghanistan, and in parts of Waziristan, the Pakistani troops had gone in for the first time 56 years. **Even the British colonial army had never been able to persuade or force the tribesmen to let them occupy some of these areas. **
How do feel about all the FATA tribal leaders pledging allegiance to Pakistan, and the permamnent presence of the Pakistani army in the area? :)
Well stated. Defeated armies retreat from the battlefield, and I don't see the Pakistani army leaving the tribal areas in any of the news I have read. The winners do not end up pledging their loyalty to the defeated as well, like these tribals have pledged their undying loyalty to Pakistan.
P.S. I think some people should go and read the articles they post, rather than throwing some no balls and wides. (Apologise for using khail Khilaari terminology in PA forum.)
Are you well sure that they said that from their heart? NO NO NO
Bro that is how politics run, you gota be smart enough to understand the real happenings on the ground.
Are you well sure that they said that from their heart? NO NO NO
Bro that is how politics run, you gota be smart enough to understand the real happenings on the ground.
So how come all the tribesmen were cheering when this Nek Mohammed said all this then? Was one of Nek Mohammed's men holding up a cue card with 'Applause Now' written on it?
I would like to challenge that. President Musharraf himself made it clear well before all this began in March that:
All foreigners fighting America have to leave Pakistan
All those Pakistanis who protect the foreign fighters have to stop doing so
Has that happened? Nek Mohammed himself says that he will not hand over any foreigners nor will he help in capturing them. Contradicting President’s original statements, now the authorities are saying that all foreigners can stay in Pakistan after merely promising to behave. :rolleyes:
I agree that these guys are now praising Pakistani authorities and it can be seen from some of the links I posted, but they are also saying that:
They will continue doing jihad on Americans in Afghanistan
They will not hand over arms
They still swear allegiance to Mulla Omar
They refuse to hand over foreigners, which was the original demand of Gen.Musharraf himself!
Tell me how that works? If these guys are not going to use Pakistani territory, then are they going to attack from Switzerland? :rolleyes: Isn’t it obvious that the promises of these terrorist jahils are a fraud and there is no way for the govt to implement these promises?
Isn’t it clear that these statements praising the Pakistani authorities are just part of the regular tamasha that goes on.
Also, how can one be loyal to Pakistan as well as Mulla Omar at the same time? How is it in Pakistan’s interests?
Finally, what pisses me off is the fact that these jahils killed 60 or more Pakistani soldiers. These were jawans whose only crime was to defend their nation. Some were executed in cold blood.
Exactly, how have their killers being brought to justice? Doesn’t it sicken you to see the commander of the dead soldiers smile and hug the killers of his own men? :mad2: It sickens me to the core.
There are mental midgets here who think that posting green coloured posts and Pak flag smilies makes their ideas great, but it is quite clear from the above that:
The Tribal Jahils have received a free pass for their crimes
The attacks on America will continue
Pakistan is now vulnerable for more actions by Americans in our soil, since we have caved in to the jahils.
Its really very simple. If they continue to do what they have been told not to they will die. Diplomacy is a two level playing field. What you tell people and what you dont tell people. The government is under enough pressure from jahil parties like the MMA, ARD etc to back down and from within WANA as well that it has to.
Secondly there has been no agreement on the tribals that are loyal to the country on what they will do. The military has been forced to compromise for the country and its people. Honestly i feel it shouldnt have. Carpet bomb the entire area if you have to. But these people should be brought to justice.
But also that is just one tribal leader not all of them.
But do you see that by not taking arms away from the jahils as well as not punishing them for their barbarism on Pak troops, they get a message that they are Kings and they can circumvent the might of the Pakistani Army. Here's what one leader said:
[QUOTE] In the tribal tradition, surrender means you approach the rival group and meet them on their turf. In our case, we did not go to them [military], they came to our place. That should make it clear who surrendered to whom,”
Today, the army extended the deadline for surrendering foreign fighters again! Clearly, a precedent has been set. They can kill Pak fauj with impunity and they know they can do it again. Most importantly, they get to keep their heavy armaments
The American building of airstrip next to Pak border as well as recent incursions make it quite clear that they are not impressed by all this. That is dangerous in and of itself.
So how come all the tribesmen were cheering when this Nek Mohammed said all this then? Was one of Nek Mohammed's men holding up a cue card with 'Applause Now' written on it?
Bro that is the lifestyle of ours. When our Kashmiri brothers needed us, we went and gave them AZAD Kashmir, and even now now there are AFGHANS fighting for their Kashmiri brothers. This is the same here, we are clean in our hearts thats why we consider everyone as our brother and sacrify our lives for them.
I dont know, here is something from someone in the area on a Paki site:
The Pak Fudge has been defeated. More than 300 Fudgis have been killed in Waziristan. More than 70 Bakhtar Band Garhi have been destroyed. Thousands of Weapons have been taken from the Fodgis. This 300 number loss of Foji is sad and shouldn’t have happened but the Fodgis had it coming.
The Corps Commander Safdar Hussain (A Shia) is himself going to Shakai to seek Nanawatay from the wazirs. The Fodgis were first saying that they will teach “WAZIRS” a lesson but now this Safdar Hussain is saying that the Terrorist Wazirs are their “Bhai” and fellow Pakistanis. (After 300 of his men were killed).
Here is the victory that we have earned.
The Fodgis have been forced to give “AAM MAAFI” to the 5 wanted men.
These 5 wanted men can go to their homes and live in peace.
These 5 wanted men and their friends will receive Lakhs of rupees for having their homes reconstructed
Tribal Lashkars have eaten Millions of rupees from the Pakistan Government
The Enemy Fodgeees have been humiliated because the crops commander is himself going to Waziristan in shame and humiliation
Hunt for So called Al Qaeda and Osama bin Laden has been stopped
Victimization of innocent people and religious leaders have been stopped
Families can now safey return home
Army Interference has been stopped (means they gonna be kicked out of the Tribal areas)
Foreigners can leve in peace in the areas
And what more, The world has just seen the birth of New Faqir of Ipi today. This New Faqir Ipi is Maulvi Nek Muhammad (May Allah give him more Glory). Maulvi Nek Muhammad in one of interview was asked how he is manage to escape from clutches of Pakistan Fodgee Army becasue the Fodgee have him surrounded. This Sword of Allah laugh and say, “Who say that? IT IS ME WHO HAS SURROUNDED PAKISTAN FODGEE ARMY”. At that time many people say that this statement is just trying to make him show as a bold man who is in control.
But the fact of matter is that Maulvi Saheb was REALLLY IN CONTROL. The way the negotiations have went, IT PROVE THAT IT WAS Maulvi Nek Muhammad and his friends who were IN DEMANDING POSITION rather than the Pakistan Fodgees (who were just putting on brave face on PTV)
There are also two other “DEOBANDI” mullahs who need to be credited for this victory as well. These “DEOBANDI” mullahs have earned VICTORY for the pashtoons of Waziristan when the Real Thekedar of Pashtoon Rights were passing comments like in first paragraph. I pay tribute to these two heroes of Islam and their backers.
And lastly if you still have not said Lanat on Munafiqs of first paragraph, then you should say it now.
Maulvi Nek Muhammad was showered with flowers by Pak Fuaj:
Sher Shah bro, see how they shut their mouths by knowing the real truth. Bro i knew it that they were defeated but in the media its offcourse us coz we have no media ofours to prove who won and who lost.
BTW may GOD bleess all those who lay down their lives for our beautiful country. Ameen.
**U-S military concerned about Pakistani counter-terrorism strategy **
Kabul, Afghanistan-AP – The top U-S commander in Afghanistan says he’s concerned about Pakistan’s counter-terrorism strategy near the Afghan border.
Lieutenant General David Barno says “a significant number” of foreign militants said to be holed up there must be “killed or captured.”
The Pakistani government has offered an amnesty to some foreign militants in a tribal region near the Afghan border where al-Qaida and Taliban rebels are believed to be living.
Islamabad says it will let some foreign militants stay in the region if they denounce terrorism and agree to live peacefully.
But Barno says “We have some concerns that could go in the wrong directions.” And he says it’s important for Pakistan to keep going after foreign fighters.
Top US general in Afghanistan “concerned” at Pakistan amnesty deal
(AFP)
3 May 2004
KABUL - The top US general in Afghanistan Monday expressed “concerns” about an amnesty granted by Pakistan to Al Qaeda-linked militants on its side of the border, saying foreign fighters should be captured instead of being allowed to live there freely.
“Our view is that there are foreign fighters in those tribal areas who will have to be killed or captured,” Lieutenant General David Barno told a press conference in Kabul.
Barno said significant numbers of foreign fighters were operating out of Pakistan’s remote South Waziristan tribal zone, despite the government’s efforts to weed out the insurgents.
Pakistan granted an amnesty on April 24 to five militant tribesmen and up to 400 foreign fighters they have been protecting.
The deal allows foreign militants to stay in the tribal region provided they register with local authorities and pledge to lead a peaceful life.
**“We have some concerns that that could go in the wrong direction, but we are watchful,” Barno said when asked about the amnesty arrangement.
“Time will tell,” he said.
“I would say that the terrorist organisations and their leadership and their networks are very crafty and have a great ability ultimately to not give anything up that is near and dear to them.”**
Pak army is also paying the Wazris for damages on their homes. If this is not a defeat by a pak army, then i don't know what is.
I'd like to congraulate the people of waziristan for teaching the qubza army of islamabad a lesson in humility. The last time they needed this reminder was in Karachi. Hopefully, one day they will learn their lessons and not repeat their mistakes. But you never knoew with these people.