Trans Tasman Clash AUS vs. NZ Test Series 1st Series 20th Nov. 2008

I've been thinking about it after Tony "Hype" Greig was praising the Aussies to heaven

I'm of the opinion that if u as a team have some guys (batting or bowling or better both) who can just tire down the nerves of the likes of Ponting + Clarke and keep Lee at bay on Fast bouncy pitches they r no better than other top 5-6 Test nations and i include Pakistan in.

Reason:
Ponting is often found wanting when it comes to inspire the team with inventive methods/field placing since Warne+McGrath+Gilchrist have retired

They surely miss Ware+McGrath but most importantly they miss Gilchrist and Langer at times. Gilchrist more often than not put up his hand and took them out of the hole and that too in a destructive fashion. It was not only coming back into the game but also doing it in way to frighten the opposition when u thought u have them (Top 4 or 5 out)by the neck but actually lost in the end quite comfortably. In those Times no one spoke about Pontings captaincy but rather about McGrath, Warne or Gilchrists contributions and then enter Hussey.

So Ponting never had to bother about how to get any opposition out Twice but rather how he'd bat once they r through. Now especially after the Indian Tour he finds himself in a totally new position and the good news for others is that is anything else than comfortable.

I'm waiting anxiously for the 17th Dec when SAF enters WACA. With Steyn and Morkel they've youth on their side + Raw Pace and Bounce. And Smith has a point to prove and to be honest he might never gets a better chance to beat Aussies at home than this time.

Re: Trans Tasman Clash AUS vs. NZ Test Series 1st Series 20th Nov. 2008

Great post, Zero_One Jee.

I take back #17 above. :D

Shane Watson gets Ryder with a terrible ball

Damn why Ryder had to slash at that (i'm almost cursing like Butt got out to Zaheer Khan) :D

NZ 64-3

That was really unnecessary

:hug:

BTW Bredon McCullum is at the Crease

Let the Fireworks begin :slight_smile:

Dhobi Ji just what i wrote about Ponting lacks is what Fleming possessed so well and i duly admire him as a captain

To take NZ (a team full of nonames) and still compete at world level especially against Aussies is nothing short of sheer genius

and Now McCullum walks back after edging Johnson to 2nd Slip

NZ 73-4 and they r doing their level best to keep AUS in the match

Absolutely.

Fleming was a world-class leader of a cricket team that had 3-4 top-class batsman/all-rounders. Nathan Astle, McMillan, Chris Cairns, Fleming himself. Fleming oversaw Bond's career in the international arena and used to throw the ball to him when there was a new batsman at the crease. He did not wait for the spinners or medium-pacers to finish their spells, quite often he would just bring in Bond right away which worked wonders because he knew the right tactics as a captain. Fleming was just magnificient overall.

So me off c u tomorrow janab

U just make sure NZ overhaul (somehow) the AUS total and post a decent lead :D

Allah Hafiz

Ohh man … a good come back by NZL … I wanna see Australia loose this test series :snooty:

Keeper b. Captain. Vettori goes through Haddin's off-stump.

In other news, Tony Greig just muttered the words Zero_One. I presume Zero_One Jee is on his way here. :D

Stuart Clark batted like Mohammad Sami (when Sami is in full-form).

New Zealand coming to chase a tough target, 327.

1/1 already. Brett Lee's first over, edge to second slip.

Last ball of the day, what a beaut. Crowd all pumped, Stuart Clark delivers and takes out off-stump.

Ross Taylor and Vettori could save New Zealand. An exciting day of test cricket.

:hmmm:

4 wickets needed by Australia, mountain to climb by New Zealand. Game starts shortly.

Salam Janab,
so the last rites to be completed or a miracle for NZ ?

Stay tuned ladies and gentleman ..... soon we'll get the answer

Often during this match (but regularly in AUS) one can see that Batsmen manage to run 4 runs before a fielder fetches the ball and get's it back to either end (bowler/keeper).

Big Grounds for sure.

Now enter 20/20 and ask Batsmen to hit a six on such a pitch with those far boundaries. Then i think we'll see score of 100+ instead of 160-180+ in 20/20. A bit of a balance between Bat & Ball is always good for the competition i think.

Walikum Assalam. Good to see you back. :hug:

Do you suggest a Twenty20 at the Gabba, Zero_One Jee?

3 wickets left for Australia.

Chalo ji

Vettori is history and with this their last little hope fades away

Taylor needs support from the other end and i thought Dan would hold up to do the job no way. Aussies all over the Kiwis.

Who tongue-kissed Symonds in the ear? (from Tony Greig :D)