Traditional embroidery in Pakistan

Re: Traditional embroidery in Pakistan

They say middlemen purchase embroidery work at lowest prices and sell that much higher prices to shops and boutiques.

People do say that cz it is a lot of hard work and it is very much desired among ladies wearing such embroidery dresses.

I have some karhai shalwar kameez from Multan. My Phopho lives there.

I am always thinking to wear such fancy dresses once I am married :p I don't like wearing while I am single girl.

pechay wali ka monh kion chupa howa hia?

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/thumbs/98624/gaj3.jpg

Yeh bhi acha hai…

http://www.maati.tv/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/embroider-in-pakistan1-590x350.jpg

Intricate motives made out from the thread, beads on different textured clothes are Pakistani culture which has existed from our ancestor’s time but somehow modification has taken place in these designs. Clothes of Pakistan show the culture and regional culture of Pakistan that exists. Similarly it is also believed that embellished clothes enhancing the beauty of females that is why one could see women wearing them on different occasion’s e.g. wedding, dinners, engagements etc.
The fabric embellishment requires great skills by the laborers. After copying the designs on the fabrics they start filling the details, which might take several days for compellation of the design, depending upon the complication and size of motives. The laborers have to sit long working hours which usually results into, eyesight, headaches, stomach and back problems. The documentary shows the problems which are faced by the laborers, we tend not to notice the hard work behind the beautiful designs seen on these clothes. One of the laborer talks in the documentary that he doesn’t want to choose the same profession for his children, since he is hardly able fulfill the necessities of his family. He also wants his children to complete their education and have a better career. The laborers are not paid fairly according to the skills and experiences that they possess and usually the middleman and retailers divide the profit into half or sometimes takes up larger part.
httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SN7btpHeK6g There are different forms of fabric embellishment that include dapaka, gotta, nakshi and thread embroidery etc, each of them requires greater skill and patience. The documentary also talks about the process from creating the sample for the customers to final placement of order by them. The embellished clothes have always been a focus area for the females and still it has kept its position despite the inflation in Pakistan.

Credit: http://www.maati.tv/2012/07/23/the-beauty-of-tradition/

I loveee Pakistani dresses. I get one dress from Pak every year(on eid-ul-fitr).

care to share any pics

The pics are in my mobile…not links…so difficult to upload on gs :bummer:

sust log

Mobile se upload krna sikha dain phir :emmy:

I was talking to my mum n she told me she got sindhi embroidery for my bay girl, don't know when will I see it, but jab bhi I will share the pic