Toronto trip

I will be in Toronto area, Brampton/Hamilton to be specific from 22nd Dec to 2nd of January. I know there are lot of Guppie people in that area and I would really like to meet some. The best would be to get together at some desi place(that serves the best food in Toronto) and make some guppaN with you guys.

Anyone who is iterested in seeing how ziddi paindoo ChannMahi is, please come forward. Please register in this thread if you think it is worth meeting em or not:)

Ironic, i'm going to be there from the 24th of December until the 27th or so, but I dont want to meet anyone:) j/k

anyways, what is there in Toronto to see and do?

awww tooo bad u'll be hamilton else would've met u.. lol nah jst jokin .. dont think i can possibly meet ne one rite now.. but ne ways... wats there to c or do in T.O. well therz lotsa stuff that u can c or do here :) so where u guys livin rite now ?!

Chann-ji......there is no way that I would pass up the opportunity to meet you.

I recall you saying that you have family here so likely you have a place to stay.....but if I have not remembered correctly, please know that you and your family are most welcome in our home.

Also, if you prefer we'd be happy to host a "guppie get-together" at the house as well. Sometimes it's hard to really get to know a large group of people in a restaurant environment...but easier in a home environment.

Whatever you are comfortable with is okay with us.

Muznaaaaaaaaaaaaaa ! i have been hearing about that gupeee meeting for about a year now, comeon lets do something, i wanna meet you guys yaar. OK Muzna make a plan and let me know, i'll be there.

Thanks Muzna. I have a good number of family members there. I usually go there during Christmas holidays and as the weather is always bad we hardly go out to see the city. We usually stay home, eat desi food and maar guppaN and play cards/monopoly etc and watch old home movies. Frankly thats the reason I go there to spend some time with my sister and brother and nephew nieces.
But this time I wanted to meet at least some of the guppies there, you, Boss and few more who I am not sure if they live near TO or not....I think they do:)

Thanks for the offer to host us during the trip. As for the plan where and when to meet, we still have some time to plan, so let us see another few weeks and then we can decide what to do.

House Party!!!!!!!!!!!

ahem
you know.

Jee AyaaN nooN...Chan ji phattay chak dyaN gay!
Tay tanooN khanay khuwa khuwa maraN gay...

Muzna I think we should do a musical evening on new year's eve...we have the talent ahem and instruments...just a suggestion...

ciao
BoSS

oye Boss mainu gaun lao ge? that is even better.:) Keep your musical instruments ready and I will sing Mirza or may be Heer. Also bring some roouN, it will come handy:)

ChanMahi..

I live in Toronto.. :)

Yeah, I know the Hamilton and Brampton area.. Brampton, being one of the largest indian communities in the suburbs of Toronto..

If you want the best-tasting indian food.. I'd suggest Moti Mahal, downtown Toronto (on Gerrard St). I'm sure the people you're staying with are familiar with that place.

Toronto is an excellent place, rated by the UN several times as the best city in the world to live in, and Canada being the best country. You'll see a big difference when you come to Toronto.

I think it would be great to meet. One thing I would have to point out is, your decision to pick Toronto at this time of the year is really not that good, since you're ocming here in teh Winter months.. And Canada and in specifici Toronto is a city of Extreme climate.. Either VERY hot or VERY cold. Usually not in between, and righ tnow it is quite cold, approximately 15 degrees (celciuss) without windchill factor.

Also, Toronto boasts the second largest Sikh community in North America, after Surrey. BC Canada, and is larger than Yuba City, California.

Anyhow, hope you enjoy Toronto.

Arai

so there is nothing to do in Toronto except meet guppies and eat???

How is the snow, i'm going to be driving up there and have never ever experienced it...

Wow, interesting about the Sikhs, aren't there like 300K muslims there...thats incredible!!!

BoSS and sister Muzna in Musalmaan,

Celebrating New Year's Eve is HaRRaaam!
Ye, alag baat hai, that I won't be able to make it, so "grapes are sour"!

It'll be Ramadhan then.
So, you guys can do an Iftaar party or so.

Wait a minute everyone....lemme just make one thing clear.....it was BoSS's idea to have a New Year's Eve party....not mine....although I had a smash at last year's! ;);)

BoSS....No trip to Vegas this year for New Year's? And what talent? Are you volunteering to sing?

Kohal...."house party"....been a while since I heard this term. However, all guppies know that they are always welcome at our place. And an iftar party sounds quite nice.....what are you good at cooking?

iftar party soundz like a good idea.... :)

oye kohal..amado said sup and he called u..oh shoot..wat did he call u..damn he told me to call you something and I forgot :(

Muzna! I can make fruit chaat :) suprise suprise I'll bring that over if you like. Or, know what? I'll bring murghi-ka-salan -- for dinner after Iftar perhaps? I'd love to bring some over.

Hinz, perhaps he called me Djai?? Haven't talked to him in a while.

coooool...i'm in...whenever, where-ever :)

**~* It is difficult to say what is impossible, for the dream of yesterday is the hope of today and the reality of tomorrow... ~*

i’m in TO 2..mississauga actually..

count me in 2!

i can cook anything and everything..

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pretty.gif

dJ_ArSH
pakbeat.com

ik nazer ke liey umer bher..umer bher ke liey ik nazer..

[This message has been edited by ^_^MuNNa^^ (edited November 06, 2000).]

Toronto. Most ethnically diverse city in the world. You can obviously tell frmo this, that there would be tons to do.

The places I usually take visitors for a visit to Toronto or the great toronto area is usually as follows.

Downtown:

CN Tower - Visit to Toronto isn't complete without this. Tallest free-standing structure in the world, and has the highest observation deck in the world. You can literally see New York state from the CN-tower. This is also known as the symbol of Toronto itself.

Sky-Dome & Air Canada Centre - Home of Toronto Blue-Jays, and Toronto Raptors respectively.. Home of Vince Carter :)

Yorkville - Downtown toronto's nightlife district.. If you have time, check out Berlin.. that's one of my personal favs.

Lakeshore Blvd/Meow Nightclub - Lakeshore Blvd, good for just scenery, and has anothr one of my fav clubs, Meow, situated right in front of the West Harbour.

Queens Park/City Hall. Great if you want to see some good Canadian riots.. :)

ROM - Royal Ontario Museum. If you're into the wh ole museum thing, alot of artifacts on Sikh culture, and other religions as well.

Ontario Place - Great for the beach, harbour, and the IMAX theatre.

University of Toronto - Canada's most prestigious university. Birthplace of Pennecilin, and many other discoveries.

In the Greater Toronto Area:

This would all depend on your ethnic background. But, we have our own Little Italy (St Claire Ave), Little India (Gerrard St (downtown), Malton, NE Scarborough), Little Greece (The Danforth), Little Persia (Warden & Laurence) in Toronto, as well as variety of other places. Great place to see the true ethnic diversity of the city :)

Tons of movie theatres. Countless number of them, and some theatres dedicated to showing Indian films, Persian films etc. and tons of restaurants! Including mine be sure to visit Boca Osteria Ristorante in Brampton, located on Queen Street West, and George, downtown Brampton.

For shopping. I recommend

Eaton Centre - Largest Downtown shopping centre in North America.

Downtown itself - Lots of high-street shops

Square One - Located in Missisauga, excellent clothing shops, designer wear is readily available.

Yorkdale - Located in North York, another great place. Similar to Square One.

For the Studious:

Ontario Science Centre. - This place is simply AMAZING. Great for science buffs.

Places outside of the GTA, but close enough to VISIT and a MUST SEE.

Niagra Falls - One of the 8 wonders of the world. The largest waterfall in the world, and also known as the Honeymoon capital of North America. It is a great place to see during new years, when Canada and the US have a good competition on fireworks displays.

Also, if you have your visa, passport on you while you're at Niagra falls. You can also take a quick trip to the United States, since it's just right across the bridge.

There is many more things that I may have forgot to mention, and I will leave this to my fellow ontarians to fill.

Arai

we have eight wonders of the world now? i thought we only had 7.... damn.. i screwed up in my grade 6 project on the subject...ok whats the eighth wonder?