Re: Think out of the box in order to beat India
haha yes I love them alot makes KK even more attractive ![]()
You my sir are a legend
If only my parents had let my brother pursue his dream of Cricket, would have another much needed killer bowler on the team:hinna:
I am surprised how a pathetic team like Pakistan could win ODI matches with pathetic lots. In any ODI to win, a team needs batting multipliers (selected on merit) so that team can have 5 proper bowlers (selected on merits). I feel PCB and Pakistani ignorant selectors would not know or heard what ‘batting multipliers’ mean, because they are ignorant and blind. Most have no education, and have little knowledge of statistics and maths.
Well, ODI is 300 balls game. Batting multipliers are those batsman who can bat on average at least 60 balls and could make on average around 45 to 50 runs in that 60 odd balls. That means, if we have 4 such batsmen than ideally Pakistan would play 40 overs with only 3 to 4 wickets down. In such circumstances we can have 6 to 7 hard hitters in the team (including wicket keepers) with low average and high SR to accelerate the runs.
Alternative is, playing players who bat 50 balls making 40 plus runs (SR: 80 to 85), then we can have 5 such players (even 4 can do) and 5 to 6 hard hitters at later stage of inning, but such players (Ave 40+ and SR 80+) are hard to find. It is easy to find hard hitters who can make on average 15 to 20 runs in 10 to 15 balls. These players do not stay on crease for long, normally gets out quickly making 10 to 20 runs ... as they are mostly proper bowlers.
If players selected on average plays 40 to 45 balls than Pakistan would be 5 to 6 wickets down by 40 overs. Such selection would be pathetic, as then we have to have around 6 such batsmen in team and that means at most 4 to 5 hard hitters with low average and high SR, It also means less than 4 regular bowlers, plus total would be low too.
When 6 wickets are down in 40 overs or less, it is harder to take chance for lower order batsmen and make quick runs in last 10 to 15 over, but when only 4 wickets down, players can take chances with confidence.
Normally a win with such team can only happen when one or two players play extra-ordinary. That rarely happens but happens when a player plays much better than his average (like Afridi hitting 70 in 30 balls).
Pakistan dropped Fawad whose average is playing 60 balls making 45 runs.
Team we have is:
Misbah who plays on average 58 balls making 42 runs
Shazad who plays on average 43 balls making 31 runs
Hafeez who plays on average 43 balls making 30 runs
Yunus who plays on average 42 balls making 31 runs
U Akmal who plays on average 43 balls making 36 runs
As for hard hitters:
S Afridi who plays on average 20 balls making 23 runs
Harris Sarfraz and Bhatti have not played a lot to say what they would do.
Presently, what Pakistan has is weak batting line up and weak bowling line up. This is called Parchi line up.
Worse is that, some Pakistani batsmen (Yunus, Misbah, Hafeez and occasionally even Shahzad) start their ODI inning as if they are playing test and that means, they normally make very few runs facing their first 20 odd balls, and since their average is low, they normally get out quick after wasting many precious balls (increasing chance for Pakistan to score slow and lose).
Unfortunately, some love such (Parchi) line ups as long as person in team is one they can associate with. These people do not care about statistics, but care about their own likes and dislikes.
The management has to take some decisions because with a defensive mindset we are not beating India again and I dont want another heartbreak
Cueing in big heart
This is what it is called classic case of Pakistani batting, especially batting of Hafeez, Misbah and Younus (sometime Shahzad do that same).
Hafiz made 15 runs in first 36 balls he faced (2.5 runs per over). That means, he wasted a lot of balls when Pakistan is chasing 370 runs in 300 balls (over 7 runs per over). By this slow batting Hafiz put Pakistan into danger of loosing the game. If Hafiz had got out early (remember, his average is 30 runs per inning), Younis would have come and similarly wasted first 20 to 30 balls making few runs.
We should remember that Hafiz was almost out early, though survived. Anyhow, once Hafiz settled down, he made next 35 runs in 20 balls (50 runs in 56 balls),
On the other hand, Shahzad was making run a ball from beginning and if he had got out after 36 balls, his contribution would have been around 35 runs (compared to Hafiz 15).
Even though at drink, Shahzad made 50 in 53 balls and Hafiz made 50 in 56 balls. Both seem made runs at similar pace.
It is this slow start in ODI that can make Pakistan lose matches most of the time, as players spending a lot of balls to settle down, having low batting averages, contribute a lot in Pakistan losing the match.
Azharuddin dismisses Pakistan’s chances against India
Having led India to three World Cup victories against Pakistan, former captain Mohammad Azharuddin feels that the defending champions face no serious threat from their arch-rivals in the much-hyped encounter between the two sides in the ICC World Cup 2015.
“India-Pakistan is always a big game. We have not lost to Pakistan in the World Cup and that will play on everyone’s minds while going into the match. I believe that India have a good side and if they play well, I don’t think that Pakistan will pose such a big threat,” Azharuddin told PTI in an interview.
Azhar though realises that the battle will not be easy after the Pakistan game on February 15 in Adelaide and India, who have not fared well in Australia so far, will then need to be more consistent in order to retain the title.ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: SCHEDULE & MATCH DETAILS
“It’s not very easy to make their way into the final-four. They will have to play well consistently. I think they need to win more matches so that the confidence levels are high. If they start losing matches, it becomes very difficult to make a comeback,” the Hyderabadi stylist said.
“They have the side, they have the talent but eventually it boils down to how fit the team is and how well they adapt to different situations during the ODI games,” Azhar added.
Having lost the Test series against the hosts and not being able to reach the tri-series final, the Indian cricket fortunes are resembling the 1992 Australian summer when Azhar and company failed to make the semi-finals after a dismal performance Down Under. But Azhar opines that once the board agrees to a tour, there should be no excuses.
“Look the board has accepted the itinerary and the calendar, so we should not complain. We were prepared and knew that we would play Test matches and then the tri-series before heading into the World Cup. The board agreed to it and the players knew exactly what they were doing and accordingly they should have managed their fitness.
“The fear of injury is always there because it’s a tough game but at the same time we have to take care of it, because we knew the itinerary. So you can’t make these excuses,” he said.
ek maqoola yaad aa gayaa...abhii tak to Pakistan India ko haraa nahiiN paayii hai is liye:
*"if you can't BEAT them, JOIN them!" *:D
let's have an unbeatable joint Indo-Pak team! :)
No one gives a damn about what this guy is saying
No Tendulkar gives Pakistan World Cup hope against India - The Times of India
Tendulkar, who retired in 2013 as the world’s leading run-getter in both Test and ODI, added colour to the World Cup, both literally and metaphorically. (TOI Photo)
NEW DELHI: India go into the World Cup without the reassuring presence of retired batting superstar Sachin Tendulkar for the first time since 1992, which surely must bring relief to arch-rivals Pakistan.
Pakistan have lost all their five World Cup meetings against India and Tendulkar, who featured in all of them, proved a stumbling block on at least four occasions.
India and Pakistan face each other in a high-voltage clash at the Adelaide Oval on February 15 to kickstart their campaigns in the 2015 edition of cricket’s showpiece event.
Tendulkar, who retired in 2013 as the world’s leading run-getter in both Test and one-day cricket, added colour to the World Cup, both literally and metaphorically.
Coloured clothing was introduced to the World Cup when Tendulkar made his tournament debut in Australia and New Zealand in 1992 after the first four editions were played in whites.
In the 2011 semi-final in Mohali, Tendulkar hit a streaky, but match-winning 85, after being dropped four times by Pakistani fielders and let off twice by the umpires’ review system.
Tendulkar’s knock turned out to be the top score in the match which India won by 29 runs in front of a sell-out crowd that included the Prime Ministers of both nations.
Over the next six editions, the prolific Mumbaikar scored more runs (2,278) and centuries (six) than any other batsman in the tournament, ending his World Cup career with a creditable average of 56.95.
Tendulkar often spoke of his dream of winning the World Cup for India, saying he was inspired as a 10-year-old by the country’s triumph in the 1983 editon when Kapil Dev’s men stunned favourites West Indies at Lord’s.
He saw action from close quarters as a ball boy at Mumbai’s Wankhede stadium when India co-hosted the World Cup with Pakistan in 1987, two years before he burst on the world scene as a 16-year-old.
Tendulkar was the tournament’s leading scorer when India made the semifinals in 1996 and the final in 2003 before he realised his dream when Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s side won back the title on a memorable night in Mumbai on April 2, 2011.
The 41-year-old, whose six World Cups is a record matched only by Javed Miandad of Pakistan, has been apppointed as the brand ambassador for the upcoming tournament by the International Cricket Council.
Tendulkar appeared to reserve his best at the World Cup for the high-profile matches against Pakistan, contests that were followed passionately by millions of fans on both sides of the border.
In his first tournament in 1992, Tendulkar top-scored with an unbeaten 54 in India’s 43-run win in Sydney. But Pakistan survived the morale-sapping defeat to win the title even as India crashed out in the first round.
He made 31 in the 1996 quarterfinal in Bangalore which India won by 39 runs and 45 in a second round match at Old Trafford four years later that helped fashion a 47-run victory.
Tendulkar’s spectacular assault on Pakistani tearaway Shoaib Akhtar on way to a glorious 98 off 75 balls at Centurion in 2003 is part of World Cup folklore that enabled India to chase down a challenging 273/7 with six wickets to spare.
“That innings must rank as one of the best I have played because of the immense pressure it was played under,” Tendulkar wrote in his recent autobiography ‘Playing It My Way’.
“The ground was buzzing hours before the match. It was sport at its best. This is why I played cricket, to be out in the middle for my team, on the world’s biggest cricketing stage, against India’s arch-rival.”
No one gives a damn about what this guy is saying
Azhar is merely stating the obvious. If you asked a neutral person about Pakistan's chances, they would probably say the same thing.
And Azhar was the captain who started this winning trend, leading India to a hat-trick of wins against us in 92, 96 and 99 world cups. He is entitled to his views.
If India bat well, then we don't stand a chance. However it is not always the better team that wins in sport and this streak is bound to end one day.
15th February could very well be the day..
good thread....we have to do something different otherwise we stand no chance. team's confidence is as low as you can think of.
afridi is playing good at no 7/8 these days, so we shd not let him face the new ball on these pitches. let him stay at 7 or 8.
issue is that hafeez has played well against india..he just scored 85 against nZ as well...so keep him but let him come at no 3.Younis khan shd not play at all.
open with shezad and sarfraz. sarfraz will need to attack.
I wont play yasir shah..indians play spin well. try sohail khan against indians. do not play ehsan adil or bhatti.
Will it backfire this time around?
better than aane do
Baat to such hai magar baat hai ruswai ki
yaar hard to understand how come we have been so pathetic against them for so long in WC..i mena we have defied every universal law..law of averages and what not…we need over 20 years just to balance the record..
good thread....we have to do something different otherwise we stand no chance. team's confidence is as low as you can think of.
afridi is playing good at no 7/8 these days, so we shd not let him face the new ball on these pitches. let him stay at 7 or 8.
issue is that hafeez has played well against india..he just scored 85 against nZ as well...so keep him but let him come at no 3.Younis khan shd not play at all.
open with shezad and sarfraz. sarfraz will need to attack.
I wont play yasir shah..indians play spin well. try sohail khan against indians. do not play ehsan adil or bhatti.
Moeen Ali fans would disagree that India plays spin well. For that matter, even Steve Smith fans.
The team that doesn't throw the ball with inches to go will win.
yaar hard to understand how come we have been so pathetic against them for so long in WC..i mena we have defied every universal law..law of averages and what not...we need over 20 years just to balance the record..
Scientists concur the period of this Sine wave is 40 years
oh man.................you may be right. there has to be some scientific phenomenon of this perplexing pheneoeneon
so i guess we will lose 4 or 5 more time.....
oh man.................you may be right. there has to be some scientific phenomenon of this perplexing pheneoeneon
so i guess we will lose 4 or 5 more time.....
Nahi bhai. Sine wave. 40 year period. 20 years over. Hence reversal of fortune.