So far away from home this hospitable Pakistani tradition has survived in the US my mother is always sending her khana to our desi neighbors and fruits and vegetables to the American families. Everything from biryani to sabzee is shared amongst us.
If we don't like what mom has made we just call our neighbors and if what they have is better we borrow from them!
sehar itni sharam a rahi hay to y dotn u come cook it then and give it to the neighabours ![]()
PS i am norexic and its not as if i cook ![]()
AvgAmericanGirl i think my post did say that no i dont share with goray ppl not that i got anythign against them ![]()
PS come on ladies i dotn do the cooking i just do the eating if any one feels bad for my neighabours fone my ami (anty je) up or cook for me adn the mohala
PPS wasa it would make a gd change for the cooking
PPPS perhaps i should get married early cause none of u will come to cook for me ![]()
its so nice to read all the stuff you folks shared :) Thanks.
my family loves exchanging food as well..be it backhome or here..the traditions always continue. On our floor we had 3 families mashAllah last year in ramadhan..one pakistani and two arabs..and we all used to exchange food and trust me the days you hardly have anything interesting they send you yummy food from biryani to baklava to juices and what not.
hehe, and there's this aunty in one of the building nearby..ammi sends her food all the time..and sometimes when i feel like eating something different..i tell my mom..call aunty..see if she's got something to send over..haha..and aunty sends food for me..sometimes my mom goes and teaches her how to make certain dishes as well.
very nice thread :)
yes we send food to our neighabours , yahaN bhi our pakistan mein bhi , it is nice tradition :)
this reminds me that one of my roommates in my previous apartment
wanted to continue this tradition with our neighbours; just one
that is.
he bought them strawberries a couple of times :-D alas!!! this
gesture of kindness was never returned :-P yeah and it was
fun to make fun of him. :~) its funny how stupid sometimes guys can be.
oh and let me add that those neighbour's happened to be three girls. :~)
my mum sends food to the neighbours all the time and I use to have to take it but not any more.. i'm too shy, especially with the desis... i don't mind takin it to the gorays houses, cuz they don't invite u in so its less embarassing... :)
Sehar, "khana bhaijna" is one of the coolest traditions ever invented by desi culture.
When I was a kid, my mother used to send me to give food to our galee's moulvi. It was quite sproradic on regular days, however, it was customerary on "jumairaat" (thrusdays). Sometimes the moulvi will come himself to our door to get food. He used to go to other people's houses as well. Sometimes, as a kid, I wondered what did he do with all that food? Shouldn't getting food from one household be enough?
I don't think it's as much common here in US as it used to be back home. Even among desi families. Although sometimes my aunt gets some sweet dish from one of her close friends now and then.
Romanov
Ah yes the moulvi saab
I remember our household having sent the moulvi saab food everyday. I always thought Moulviani sahiba was one lucky woman, she never had to cook dinner.