Re: The reason for low crowd turnout (40 rupees for a car parking, food items sky-rocket)
Kaash, ke there was hot sun and scorching heat. Saara masla hi yeh hai ke there is no sun, hence no cricket. dhobi_bhai, sach sach batayein, kaun sa match dekh rahay thay aap?
Re: The reason for low crowd turnout (40 rupees for a car parking, food items sky-roc
Lately i have realized that on most of the issues i end up on some1 side like this one above.......may be it is because some1's critical reasoning abilities are getting sharper with every passing day. good job. keep it up.
Re: The reason for low crowd turnout (40 rupees for a car parking, food items sky-roc
Cricket boards (at least in Pakistan, India etc) seem to have figured that the real money is in broadcast rights and not in the stadiums. So while they have successfully marketed to the tv audience (all that flashy technology) they kinda give a step-child treatment to stadium audience. This is all fine and dandy, till one day they will figure out that filled-out stadiums not only give the sportsmen their impetus to perform better, but also help TV audience appreciate the game. Watching a game on TV where stadiums are all empty makes the TV viewer look stupid in his own mind, and may be in the next series, that TV viewer will not even bother ordering the test series (this process has already started). This will bring down the broadcasting revenue, in the long term as well.
Blacking out TV in the local market till stadium is filled is another suggestion, but I really dislike it. Its like penalizing people for not showing up. However, the crux of the matter is that all the stuff that I mentioned can only work if the game itself is interesting i.e. spectator sport. The sort of test match thats going on in Lahore, will bring no one to the stadium. Its test cricket at its worst. I had hoped cricket, overall, has gone away from such insane displays of boring cricket. I guess not.
are you preparing for GMAT Critical Reasoning (CR) section these days? just curious....
Re: The reason for low crowd turnout (40 rupees for a car parking, food items sky-rocket)
^ You have used the word "critical reasoning" twice in five minutes? Kiya chakkar hai? Aur khuda nakhawasta, why should I be preparing for GMAT? Na bhai.. I was just posting my thoughts on this topic. Agar aap ko pasand nahi aaya, tau ma'azratt. On the other hand, if you agreed to them or liked them, then please PayPal $5, or at a minimum, praise me in your future autobiography by dedicating a whole chapter. Jazak Allah.
lol.....I was admiring your logic and reference to GMAT CR section was simply to point out the strength of your arguments. And Inshallah I will keep one chapter for GS with special mention of you in my autobipgraphy. That is my promise :)
Phoenixdesi superstar bhai jaan... please also dedicate a separate, albeit small, chapter in your autobiography for fair&balance uncle. His succinct points, expressed by way of masterfully posting dots, have changed many lives.
I agree with Faisal. Last time I went to watch the Karachi ODI, the security people were not even allowing binoculars or small FM radios for commentary! I mean come on there should be a limit to everything. It was especially annoying to see several "well connected" people with the exact same things in the stadium. The replay screen was pitiful, and the speed gun was not even working till the second innings! The less said about the scoreboard the better.
I mean I know this isn't Australia but atleast on major venues like Khi, Lahore we should have electronic scoreboard with widescreen. Even Dhaka has it! And spare me the not enough money crap, you can't imagine the tens of millions of dollars in PROFIT that the PCB makes off such high profile tours. Too bad we don't know where all that money goes.
Lastly, you can have a state of the art stadium and you would still fine it hard to get a crowd even if the tickets were free, if we continue to make pathetic wickets like this.
I saw a post saying that NBA/NFL games are blacked out for the home city...i don't know what you are talking about. This has never happened. The only place where this is done is Australia i believe.
Seems like no one has answered your query. Let me do the honours. Food prices were same, car parking prices were same BUT entry even in top bracket enclosures like Imran khan and Fazal Mahmood ones was free. Which is not the case against India.