The quest for fair skinned wife

Re: The quest for fair skinned wife

Omg, yes! This is a pet peeve. So many white girls passing of as desis it's disturbing. Just yesterday I saw a couple of lawn billboards with white girls on them. Media is a massive influence on a society's ideals of beauty and it's so messed up we're letting them distort it with foreign girls.

We, as a society need to tackle multiple issues to address this. First, to get rid of divorce stigma in our society. Women suffer the most due to useless and sometimes baseless allegations. We need to accept the reality that some marriages may not work and couple may eventually decide to separate. Marrying a divorced woman or a man should not be an issue.
Second*, we need to allow up to a certain period of time for girls and guys to find their potential life partners. Now the first thing that we desis think after this statement is *physical relationships, zinnah but in my view the rate of these before marriage relationships will not increase that much.

When there is an understanding that the father or the mother will not create a drama when their daughter wishes to marry someone she likes, the first priority of the children will always be to let their parents know about their plans. All the time, children hide these things because of a high-temper father, mother, or brother who just think that there is something wrong with their character. Still we know that these illicit activities exist under the radar of our society. Now there will be issues, bad matches, and failed marriages but it's all part of life. That's where the first point, I mentioned above, becomes relevant.

My personal view is that parents should allow their children to find any suitable rishta on their own until the age of 25 or 26. Typically in Pakistan (and elsewhere as well) around the age of 21 or 22, people finish their undergraduate degree and enter professional life. Next 3 to 4 years, parents should remind their children to start looking for someone as life partner and whenever a good match is found, get over with it. Some people may struggle to find anyone suitable even after trying for themselves, therefore parents should actively get involved in rishta process while keeping their children in the loop. Any sane daughter or son will appreciate this approach and not feel hard done by the parents.

**Third, **socialize, socialize and socialize. As a community overall we do not mix with other people. We hold on to the preconceived notions, have baseless perceptions about race, caste, nationality and sect. Family oriented functions are not difficult to organize, once or twice a year. That should be setting for parents to find potential candidates for their children.

Fourth, lower your expectations (this is for the parents of girls). There is good amount to pressure on a guy to not only earn a steady (in fact healthy) income but also have all luxuries of life ready for his future wife. A house, a car, a hefty haq mahr and have a job for himself preferably in a foreign country with a foreign nationality. But these things take time and by the time one achieves all these goals, the desire to get married may simply disappear.

There is no harm in allowing your daughter to marry someone who is at the early stage of his career or is just starting. Together they can achieve more and in less time than being alone. I've seen many examples of people who are still waiting for "achay rishtay" for their daughters and refuse good candidates because the guy did not have his own house and lived in a rented house along with his family.

Just as women get the bitter end of the deal in divorces, men get hard done by higher demands leveled by girls' side.

These are just my thoughts!

No, the quest for fair color wife is far from over. To me women (mothers/sisters) are more to blame for this trend since they serve as first filter point during a rishta process.

instead of worrying about how kids turns out with colour lol lets worry about them being educated instead, colour shouldnt restrict a person personality.

A friend of mine had just moved to Sweden and it was obvious from the comments on her Facebook profile picture how she was the most beautiful girl in class and the ugliest at home. The guys kind of went lattu because she has enviable tan skin, gorgeous eyes etc etc (I’m not even exaggerating about how much attention she suddenly got) while her mother was commenting whether she had a picture where she looked lighter on the same picture. At that point I would not have been surprised if she had run off with a Swedish boy.

This.

First off, i think in a predominantly asian magazine, they should just stick to asian models.
However, since they do use white models, they should NOT portray them as desi because it’s misleading and probably creates various psychological issues for asian aunties wanting daughter-in-laws whiter than milk.

Also, the fact that in Pakistani/Indian dramas and bollywood, they slap on so much makeup that it lightens their skin from Johnny Lever to Aishwariya Rai does not help. I mean, are they trying to turn girls into colour-changing chameleons? you can blatantly tell their real colour from their arms/hands like below:

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/5b/38/33/5b383348b52f3186e503d9dc3574344f.jpg

not a good look unfortunately :bummer:

a billion plus people, most of them dark. if this girl can't find a husband from among them, i am skeptical about the reason being her skin color. and having a phd from germany is not particularly impressive unless it gets you a job and career in india.

oh, this naat thrad to faind fair and loavely biwi? :/

well thats what happens in our society esp pakistani society. being a sanwali saloni girl, i was also rejected a no of times , and GOD knows how much pain i felt over the rejections. not because i was so much interested in those particular rishtas BUT the reason for rejection was so shameful fr me. even the daaaarkesssttt skinned mother , sisters or any auntie of larkay wali side said "wese th sab kuch bht acha hai likn larki ka rang zara sanwala, hmein gori larki chaye ". anyhow, this white colour trend is quite hideous and painful at times to coz we cant change our skin colour yeah it is right.
even after marriage sometimes my MIL used to stare at my sanwalay haath paaon chehra , in a way that i immediately get what is she thinking at this time. actualy my husband is bit fair than me.
well a guppy said in a comment that these are women who have made this white colour trend so popular by applying gora rang wali creams and try to look FAIR.

its not the men who are most obsessed with gora rang... its the women so absurd.

Men too actually. Just the other day I was talking to someone (Pakistani dude) who had just moved to US about a year ago and I asked him, how he liked it here. His first response was, there are very beautiful girls here. I asked him the white ones? and his response was “yes”. :rolleyes: I do agree though that women are obsessed one degree higher. Unfortunately,it’s not just limited to us, Arabs, Africans, East Asians, literally about half the world population is derogatory toward themselves, makes me hate colonialism even more :frowning:

It's a story queer... nothing serious but incidents like that do happen in our societies.

Its not a story, at least thats what i understood. I’m sure there are a lot of helpless women trapped in situations where they have no say in who they marry, and are seen as commodities that have to fit the groom’s family’s mold etc. But if you have a PhD from Germany and still willingly go this route, who is to blame?

Here is something from the flip side.

India Woman Lands Dozens of Proposals After Humorous Marriage Ad Goes Viral - ABC News

What is wrong with having a phD from Germany am I missing something?

The punch line?

Pillai is a Tamilian?

Why blame people why blame others why blame anyone literally! Why we just can’t see what we all are doing, following, believing on daily basis is not Islam.

And the reason we get our hearts broken, feel ripped, feel sad, feel lost and feel undesirable is because we’ve forgotten what we represent, we’ve forgotten what we stand for, we’ve forgotten what we’re suppose to follow, we’ve forgotten what we suppose to believe in.

We living in the times where societies which claim to represent Islam are merely carrying a badge of Islam. Even if we talk about humanity I see nothing. There was a time when Bilal (R.A) the first black skinned African Muslim man who was loved by Muslims and was the first person chosen for Azaan.

Don’t forget Islam destroyed the walls of racism, stereotypes and color fanatics and Muhammad (PBUH) said on his last sermon that “There’s no superiority for an Arab over a non-Arab and for a non-Arab over an Arab, nor for the white over the black nor for the black over the white except in God-conciousness.”

So why on earth we discriminate? Simply means that we’ve forgotten Islam or humanity.

Now if someone has forgotten Islam do you expect him to be a person having fun, happy, respected or someone who isn’t worried about worldly affairs.

Absolutely not!!!

Be the change you want to see in the world, “ekumunng” has raised just one problem in our societies and I don’t care what non Muslims do because if we can’t be differentiated then what’s the point of being a Muslim.

I feel enormously sad for all my Muslim sisters who have to go through sh*t like this in their lives but all I can say is don’t forget that Allah’s watching and he has a greater reward than your imaginations for you in after life.

And I urge whoever is reading this, you’re going to be a parent one day so try to marry your kids at younger age, try to follow Islam in the true sense, try to influence as many as you can, try to break the walls of racism and stereotypes and don’t use your intellect to design the your life and the life of others who you influence because if human beings were that intelligent they wouldn’t be so miserable right now.

We all need Allah his mercy and his guidance.

icouldnt get myself to read your entire post but i can assure you you have good odds at being taken to shopping (Hint that chittiyan kalaiyaan song)

a degree in music? whaaa? :-/

What about your non-muslim sisters? Do you have no sympathy for them?

And did I hear you right? You want us to stop using our brains? How is that going to help?