The Position Of The Beard In Islam

I dont know the religous reasoning in growing the beard, but from the logical point of view in those days men normally worked from morning to dusk out in the open fields or travelled continously for days on. So Beard was a form of protection from the heat and the cold of the deserts or the strong climates.

In some places around the worlds, the situation is still the same.

arghhh… why the hell does every thread here turn into a senseless debate? seriously do u people have nowt better to do than to come up with these ‘modern’ forms of islam? some are ridiculously funny, the very foundations are mashed, like no-hadeesism go out and enjoy life people instead of twisting islam to suit your fancy on gupshup.

a beard (especially with amaamah) looks much more handsome than a clean-shaven; especially after the shaven portion starts going grey, just my opinion.

by the ways my beard is coming along nicely.

*Originally posted by pk taz: *
by the ways my beard is coming along nicely.

MAshallah......

My answer for why i keep/grow darhee is it keeps me away from sin.....

For any reasonable man darhee keeps him away from sin......
BTW....why every relgious personality in most religions keeps beard....

MASHALLAH PK!
aap ki baat bohat hi pasand aaye humey, ALLAH aap ko istiqaamat dey

aur aik doosri baat kahoonga brother, chahey dunya yahan sey wahan ho jaye, is sunat ko zinda rukhna, is key bohat hi faidey hein :)

aur issi baat per tumhey aik hadees suna deta hoon
"jo is waqt mey marti hoi sunaat ko zinda kareyga, us key liey 100 shaidon ka sawaab hey, aur us ka hisaab shaidon key saath hoga" :) so man u got the perfect deal!!

jahan tuk aur logon ka opinion hey, don;t worry about it, jub iman us level per pohanch jayega, tub samajh mey khud hi aa jayega key beard zaroori hey key nahi :) i respect everybody's opinion :)

well how about using a scissor for cleaning ur mustash??

*Originally posted by bao bihari: *

MAshallah......

My answer for why i keep/grow darhee is it keeps me away from sin.....

For any reasonable man darhee keeps him away from sin......
BTW....why every relgious personality in most religions keeps beard....

u r very right, it really keeps u away from many sins :)

So pk taz, youre just keeping it cuz it looks good? Then why did you need to bring in an Islamic excuse? All you people who keep dharis merely for dhikawa and to show the world how you are the custodians of Islam, all of this would do you no good.

i love a neatly groomed beard on a brother’s face :mash: :k:

gives such a :mash: aura to the brother and it is indeed the true beauty and noor of a man’s face :mash:

to all the brothers who have beards… :mash: brothers, keep it up :mash: :k:

Well that’s the purpose of the forum. To have a debate. duh! :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Spock: *
So pk taz, youre just keeping it cuz it looks good? Then why did you need to bring in an Islamic excuse? **All you people who keep dharis merely for dhikawa and to show the world how you are the custodians of Islam, all of this would do you no good.

not true spock....

i have seen many good looking ppl who dont look that good after growing beared.....but they grow it......

we should not make excuses to prove our self right......

yup, i've had it for about a week now, it's still stubble yet but i'll get there, insha'allah.

does anyone know how short the moustache should be trimmed? i use a hair trimmer to do them 5 mm.

inat kato moustache ko ke ajb pani piyo to galss ke under kuch janey ka shakna hou .

*Originally posted by insan: *

inat kato moustache ko ke ajb pani piyo to galss ke under kuch janey ka shakna hou .
It vaguely resembles Urdu. I think what you mean is that "the length should be such that when you drink water from a glass nothing should go inside"

Mr Xtreme,

Couple of questions,

• Can we really look at everything (in Islam) and decide its importance based on our logic?

• Who gets to decide which things are important and which are less so? From what I have read, it seems as if the Prophet stressed on this issue and was angry with a couple of companions for shaving off the beard.

Btw, I do agree that things need to be taken in perspective, and prioritized. A person with a full length beard but whacked out beliefs (about Islam, or even in other religious rulins.. maybe he beats his wife or what not) is certainly not portraying Islam. But "prioritizing" does not mean belitting one thing in favor of another or not giving anything else priority.

bro spock how r u ? every muslim man should keep the beard. there is alot of reason which i am going to tell u .

first of all it was the SUNNAH of :saw: .  now if u clam ur self as muslim then u should follow SUNNAH of :saw: other wise we are not the followers. 

now people say where its said in the quran that u should keep beard?

answer is my brother Quran talks about namaz zakat and other things but it don’t tell u how many rakkats u have perform in fajar namaz it doesn’t tell u how much zakat u have to pay . but those thing are found in SUNNAH of :saw: and from HADITHS (forgive if its miss spell)

now i read some people saying " we don't look good after keeping beard and we are in usa and no body keep the bear why  suold i ?? 

bros first thing its not our face it is amant from ALLAH :swt:
so we don’t have any right to say that i don’t want to keep beard.
sceond thing bros if you think you look bad after keeping a beard but does we know that same face which look bad today its going to shaine tommrow on the day of judgement like ful moon because just u follow the SUNNAH of :saw:

bros who think u need some logical reason brother which don’t knwo about our self ALLAH knows it he know what we need and what we have to do . Muhammad :saw: did what ever he was command to do now we have no excues to say i need some logical reason then i will keep it my bros if wee keep the SUNNAH :saw: then we will benifit if don’t and ccountinusly arugue on it “where its said to keep th beard” then bros no body will getbenifit .

bro spock don’t take my words in that way it for u . no its not for u but its for everybody who ever read the threads. it just i like ur meesage above and it was good for me to send some reply thats why i choose ur message . so if i offend somebody i say sorry to u esp bro spock if he get offended

AH & TC

*Originally posted by ammarr: *
Mr Xtreme,

Couple of questions,

• Can we really look at everything (in Islam) and decide its importance based on our logic?

• Who gets to decide which things are important and which are less so? From what I have read, it seems as if the Prophet stressed on this issue and was angry with a couple of companions for shaving off the beard.

Maybe he was angry coz he wanted the companions to look good? According to Ibn Batuta in one of the earlier posts some woman couldn't keep her hands off a shaykh coz of his beard and he had to shave it off to stop her advances.

Is there any texts which describe the religious benefits of a beard? All I can gather is that it was fashionable at the time to have a beard, muslim or not.

Mr Xtreme,

Thats not why the Prophet (saww) was angry, it was because of the resemblance with the mushrikeen of the time. And no, it was NOT fashionable at the time to keep a beard (similar to now i suppose..) and it was a means of differentiating ourselves.

The prophet's anger, and instructions are very clear. Trim the moustache, let the beard grow.

Since from your reading you seem to feel it was more of a fashion thing, then i'd like to see the proof behind the statement.

Rgds.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
It vaguely resembles Urdu. I think what you mean is that "the length should be such that when you drink water from a glass nothing should go inside"

sorrry i suppose to write in english my fault yes ur write cut that much nothign go inside the glass

Re: The Position Of The Beard In Islam

This is the text I referred to which led me to believe that a beard was seen as attractive and not a relgious issue in those days:

By Imam Badee` ud-Deen Shah ar-Rashidi as-Sindi

So long as the mentality of the Muslims was secure from the hue of the polytheists, and the Jews and the Christians and their like, both, whether man or woman, considered the beard to be an adornment and beauty for the man. Accordingly, Ibn Batootah in his travelogue entitled, Tuhfatun-Nazaar fee ’Ajaa‘ibil-Asfaar (1/17) records an occurrence which goes as follows: Shaykh Jamaalud-Deen Saawee was a very handsome person. Hence, one woman was infatuated with him, and through some type of pretense, called in to her house. After entering she had the doors closed. Then she called the Shaykh towards her for evil (fornication). **The Shaykh tried his best to escape. However, when he did not find any means of escape, he first decided to go to the toilet and after entering, he took a blade and shaved his beard with it. When he came out, the woman found his face to be so hideous that she was disgusted with him. **Thus he came out safe and secure, escaping evil.

Ok i provided as asked, now can you provide some religious texts which can enlighten as to the religious benefits of having a beard? I don't buy the argument of differentiating ourselves as sikhs also wear beards. It would be far better way of differentiating to insist all muslims wear baseball caps with MUSLIM printed on the front if differentiating is the key aspect.

^^ yep.. and add Amish people who have a very similar look of a heavy beard and light or no moustache..

some people treat everything literally.. if there is anything about 'resembling' the Kuffars it's probabaly in the context of not taking up the 'kufr' they practice.. not silly makeup competitions of creating visual differences..

Mr Xtreme,

The article is trying to encourage the reader to keep a beard, and that is one way of doing it.

I can not provide you with texts attesting to the "benefits" of the beard. I believe in the commandment to obey the Prophet. I also believe that since Allah swt told us to obey the Prophet, the Prohpet would never command us with something which was not a part of Islam.

I previously asked who would be the criteria to judge between what is a logical/essential/benefitial in religion, and I dont think you answered that one.

Sikh beards/Amish beards etc are very different. And distinguishing is quite easy (do notice the part about "trimming the moustache. Sikhs do not trim the moustache. Amish ppl generally completely shave off the moustache)

Re; Resembling the kuffar, then PA, and Mr Xtreme, I do agree that it is a MUCH MUCH higher priority to not resmeble the kuffar in their kufr. Placing other dieties above Allah, associating partners with Allah despite clear proof (at the same time insisting that you are not doing as such), ruling by other than Allah etc. I dont think we have any disagreements there.

PA,

Just a couple of things. I'm sure you believe very strongly in whatever it is that you believe in, but DO try to talk only based on proof. Statements such as 'visual competitions', and generally making the reader feel that anyone who follows ahadith is a joker is a lowly tactic. It puts a person off from replying to you.

Keep the word-play out, it would be appreciated, and you'll recieve a better response from most people.