The physical beauty of the Prophet (saw)

Re: The physical beauty of the Prophet (saw)

The Prophet (saas)'s advice on the subject of love

In the Qur’an, Allah says of the matter:

That is the good news which Allah gives to His servants who believe and do right actions. Say:

"I do not ask you for any wage for this-except for you to love your near of kin. If anyone does a good action, We will increase the good of it for him. Allah is Ever-Forgiving, Ever-Thankful." (Surat ash-Shura: 23)

These are some of the hadiths that touch on the Prophet (saas)'s qualities of love, friendship and brotherhood:

**“A believer loves for others what he loves for himself.”**172](theprophetmuhammad.org)

**“Allah’s Apostle (saas) used to accept gifts and used to give something in return.”**173](theprophetmuhammad.org)

**“He who is presented with a flower of sweet basil should not reject it, because it is light in weight and pleasant in odour.”**174 ](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#174)

**“Don’t hate one another, don’t envy one another don’t sell over the sale to another, don’t dispute with one another and don’t back-bite one another. The servants of Allah are brethren to one another.”**175](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#175)

**“The habits of earlier generations have attacked you-envy and hatred. Hatred is shaving. You will not enter Paradise till you believe. **
**You will not believe till you love one another. Shall I not inform you what thing will establish you on it? Spread peace among you.”**176](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#176)

thanks for sharing STP :)

JazakAllah khair for liking :slight_smile:

The Prophet (saas) would laugh and joke with his companions

It appears from what has come down from his companions that the Prophet (saas) would frequently joke with his family and companions, as well as laugh at their jokes, and give them friendly names or nicknames.

As always, however, the Prophet (saas) also behaved very prudently, considerately and in accordance with the demands of good conscience when it came to joking. We can summarise the advice the Prophet (saas) gave his companions about joking in this way:

“I will joke, but I only speak the truth.”

“It is not lawful for a Muslim to frighten his brother.”

“Do not dispute with your brother, not joke with him in mocking terms.”

“Shame on him who speaks lies in order to entertain others.”

“One cannot be a good believer until he ceases to tell lies, even in jest, and to dispute, even if he is in the right.”

**“Do not speak lies, even in jest.”**171](theprophetmuhammad.org)

^^ That is so true and its sad that we do that like everyday:(

The Prophet (saas)'s relations and conversations with his companions.

Ali (ra), says:

“**His hand of charity was spread to its utmost and his tongue was the most truthful. His conduct was the most modest. Awe struck one who saw him first. Whoever mixed with him loved him. One who praised him said: I have never seen like him before and after him. Once a man begged something of the Prophet (saas) and it was given to him.”****157 **](theprophetmuhammad.org)

**"He would take an interest in everyone he sat with, and gave no impression of treating anyone differently. **

**He was always patient with those sitting with him or keeping him standing, and would never leave that person until that person moved away from him."**158](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#158)

**“He missed his companions, and asked after them (when he could not see them). He would ask how people were, and how their businesses were faring. He would call beautiful things beautiful, and ugly things ugly.”**159](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#159)

"He was always in favor of honest men, and would receive no-one else. They would come to his side for a short time, and when they left, they would leave as their hearts satisfied. **They left his side as living proofs and guides."**160](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#160)

**“He was patient in the face of extreme or illogical behavior from strangers. They would sometimes grow angry, and he would calm them, saying, ‘Guide them when you see anyone like that.’” **161](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#161)

"He would never interrupt, but would always wait for people to finish."162](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#162)
"…
He always spoke words that would cause people to love another and come together

**He would never frighten or chase them away. He attached great importance to the leaders of all tribes, and was hospitable towards them…"**163](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#163)

His grandson Hassan (ra) has this to say about the Prophet (saas):

**“His looks were very meaningful … He spoke briefly and to the point. There was nothing unnecessary in his words, and nothing lacking.”**164](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#164)

**“He spoke in the same way to leading notables or ordinary people. He concealed nothing from them…”**165 ](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#165)

This is how Abu Zar (ra) describes the Prophet (saas)'s most affectionateness towards his companions:

**“I came to him (the Prophet (saas) and found him sitting on a cot. He got up from it and embraced me. This shows that embracing is good.”**166 ](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#166)

Abu Huraira (ra) describes the Prophet Muhammad (saas)'s consideration and humaneness:

**“The Prophet (saas) did not withdraw his hand from another till the latter withdrew his own hand.”**167 ](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#167)

**The Prophet (saas) also took the greatest interest in his companions’ health. He advised the thin among them to put on weight, and the overweight among them to go on a diet and be careful what they ate.**168 ](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#168)

**In some cases of sickness, he would advise his companions to take a drink made out of honey.**169 ](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#169)

Abu Huraira (ra) apparently fainted one day, and the Prophet (saas) lifted him to his feet, took him home, and gave him some milk to drink when he realized he was hungry.170](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#170) .

Salam sister,

Avoid such posts its better for us coz neither of them is making any meaning. I just wonder just because if someone is talking about physical qualities we are worshipping them.

I swear in that case i say that girl is beautiful i completely talk about her characteristics does that mean i worship (i.e. take down the other synonyms). Anyways avoid karo behtar hain.

Salam.

Salam STP,

Aap lage raho its a good thread and i like your attitude coz you are avoiding innocous stuff great stuff.

It's not just phsycial qualities, it is every single quality and thing he (may have) ever said or did to the point that it' put on par with God's word (Quran). Now to top it off, we revere him for his physical beauty.

It's not distinguishing between the prophets in theory, but acting as no other prophet ever existed in practice.

It's trying to emulate everything (it was reported) he said or did the point of making it part of the religion and any other way is haram. The Quran is supposed to be God's final word and commands, yet only accounts for 1/2 of the way the religion is interpreted.

It's taking the things that were cultural at the time he lived and trying to make it necessary for current times.

It's the hyper sensitivity to any perceived defamation to this prophet while other prophets can have their busts made out of feces without any Muslim noticing.

It's because in many Muslim writings I see the respectful "sallallahu alayhi wasallam" following the prophet's name and nothing following Allah's.

It's because the #1 complaint against Christianity by Muslms is the deification of Jesus, yet Christians don't go to the extent of reverence I mention above.

I post this, not out of disrespect or confrontation (so please forgive me if it came off that way), but rather at my utter confusion on this subject. Admittedly I have few Muslim friends, living in rural America, but they feel this way and that is where I am coming from.

Walaikum Assalam SlaveOfAllah. JAzakAllah khair for the kind words of encouragement :)****

The Prophet (saas)'s interest in and love for children

The Prophet Muhammad (saas)'s compassion, mercifulness and consideration for the believers can also be seen in his attitude towards children. The Prophet (saas) took a close interest in his own children and grandchildren, as in those of his companions. In regards to them, he made suggestions about everything, from their birth to choosing names for them, from their health to their education, from their clothes to the games they played, all of which he played an active role in.

For example, shortly before his daughter Fatimah gave birth to his two grandchildren, he told her: “**When there is a birth, do nothing to the child without informing me.”**177](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#177)

After the babies had been born he instructed on how they were to be fed, looked after and protected.

The Prophet (saas) also prayed for new-born babies, for his children and grandchildren, and for the children of his companions. As he held them on his knee or watched them playing, he would ask Allah to give them long and prosperous lives, as well as wisdom and faith. At every opportunity he would pray for his grandchildren Hassan and Hussein, saying that the prayer he used was the same as that Abraham used for Isaac and Ismail.178

Ibn Abbas (ra), one of his companions, relates how when he was a child, the Prophet (saas) said, "Allah, teach him wisdom."

During the childhood of Anas bin Malik, another of his companions, he prayed to Allah to give him much wealth, many children and a long life, and that these would be auspicious for him.179

The Prophet (saas) attached great importance to children’s play, and sometimes even joined in with them. He recommended parents to play with their children, saying, "Let he who has a child be as a child with him."180

He suggested that children play such games and sports as swimming, running and wrestling, and encouraged his own grandchildren and the children of those around him to do so.

Many of his companions have described how the Prophet (saas) loved children, and took an interest in and played with them. Here are a number of example:

Anas bin Malik (r.a):

**“The Prophet was one of the foremost people when it came to playing and joking with children.”**181](http://www.theprophetmuhammad.org/life.html#181)

Peace All

Especially Seminole ... Read on

(Sorry sentiments to Vedic_Intellect and his rather poor vedic_puns)

Beauty in Islam:
It must first be noted that the beauty of Muhammad (SAW) is a topic that brother Submission to Peace has opened. He and many others have noted that they find the qualities listed describing the physical qualities of Muhammad (SAW) as - beautiful.

The reason for the narrators to have written them down was not to encourage what Seminole thinks is 'worship', but rather to merely express a description of the prophet Muhammad (SAW).

It needs to be made known that whatever the look any prophet of God would have been the noted one of his time as this is a sign of the prophecy. A prophet is by default a perfect human, without defect. This is why Musa (AS) who had a speech impediment was eventually cured of it after being given prophethood. Joseph (AS) we have all heard of the intense 'beauty' of him ... So this 'beauty' is a trait of prophets and to see it is to confirm that sign ... First Point.

Worship it is not! Why? Easy ... Consider the miracle for example. Abraham (AS) performed the miracle of being unscathed in the fire, or Jesus (AS) raised the dead by miracle. Why is it not shirk when we say thus? It is because we endow the power of the miracle to have come from God. When we see someone of beauty we don't praise him ... Of course every Muslim says MashaAllah ... We acknowledge the power of God to have made the beauty that resides in people, not the person with the beauty.

Let's take it to another level. A person does us a good deed, a favour. We reply with a gesture of appreciation. We say (Muslims say) JazakAllahuKhairan (May Allah Reward you with Good), the reply out of a sense of setting things straight, is BarakAllahufiq. (May Allah place blessing in it) ... We don't worship the one who we thank, and the thanked one doesn't attribute to himself, rather he just says I've done what I've done now if there is any gain from it, it will come from Allah not me.

So you see just like the miracle of a prophet shows the power of God, the beauty of a prophet or any human being shows the power of God to the Muslims, just like helping someone shows our appreciation to God that he was sent to help and our acknowledgement with others to show that all help truly only comes from God.

This is the meaning of Tawheed ... it is the utter denial of any power other than that of Allah (SWT) ... so Seminole's question was a fair question. The dictionary definition does indeed state that 'adoration' is in somewhat of a similitude with 'worship', but Islam makes clear what is 'worship' more explicitly than does any dictionary definition. We may call people beautiful but we must never forget that Allah (SWT) puts that beauty there.

However, in the case of idols it is attempted to mould them from mind and engage ideas of what could be, or what is thought should be. Then worship is placed into the very entity that is created by the human mind ... That is shirk!

If Krishna was a prophet of God, then no doubt being of a relatively blacker colour than his people he was indeed beautiful so says the hindu scriptures, another trait of the prophets. We have only Allah (SWT) to glorify for that. A persons beauty, complexion, height, etc is not in his own hands. It is God given.

2 Likes

Just off topic and sorry to brother STP for this,

Semi i completely agree with your relative thinking with respect to this topic.
I also understand, and I am 100 percent with you regarding revering the Prophet to the level of Allaah, also agree to the point if any other Prophet is being disgraced we as Muslims tend to avoid it as if there is nothing happened at all.

Regarding your Muslims friends in rural America i can figure out from which background they are coming from and because of the sectarian problem in Islam they are a few groups of Muslims who equal the God's attribute to the Prophet which is completely wrong.

According to me we have to again differentiate between religious and cultural factors. Because these parameters is like comparing apple to oranges. Over the past 1400 years most of the cultural factors have been embedded in the religion and finally have turned into a completely new leaf i.e. these cultural factors are now religious factors.

My point is no other human being in the face of earth has such recorded detailed history as the Prophet and there is no denial to the extent we also know what was happening inside the house of the Prophet in simple terms even in his personal matters were detailed out.

But again the actions, sayings of the Prophet are compared to Quran its extremely wrong, but again they are few actions and sayings of the Prophet which explain the Quran now this has to be understood in totality.

Regarding the post in this thread for me its a good read, i dont see any point of reverence for me its a good read because i feel ok Prophet's attributes, characteristics were so and so.

Imitating the Prophet according is no way of worship, as a kid i used to immtate my father and also my uncles, infact we always see a trend amongst the population in terms of clothing as a way of imitation.

Now if this imitation is equivalent to worship is something what i term as non-sensical. Because, we as humans are ready to imitate our own heroes/godfathers but this is no worshipping but imitating the Prophet is worshipping.

Let me quote a live example in my case there was a bollywood movie by name Dil chahta hai, with the protagonists wearing some trendy stuff and i wanted to imitate them by hairstyle, clothes, so and so. Now is this worship again the answer is no.

Revering the Prophet i would say no but following the Prophet i say Yes to it, but revering Allaah and worshipping Allaah is what muslims do. I have tried my best to explain the difference between imitating, following, reverence and worship.

Regards.

Salam bro. pysah,

Nice points:)

Jazakumullahu Khaira brother psyah and Brother **SlaveOfAllah **for some beautiful points. :)

May Allah bless you and your family with all the blessings of this life and hereafter.

so another question.

instead of writing hundreds of pages on the physical beauty of the prophet and meticulously describing each and every aspect of how he looked, why not just take/make a picture/painting of the prophet? After all, basically what you are doing with all those long texts is creating a 'mental' image of how the prophet looked. So what's the difference between creating a picture in words and for example nowadays creating a digital picture which are just zeros and ones or for another example strokes of your paintbrush to create a painting?

SAlam brother,

Tell me does creating an image make an impact, dont you think they are already some pictures of the Prophet just search (not the danish ones but created by Muslims and over the centuries).

Brother even if i conjecturize a picture will I start worshipping the Prophet, Prophet is a man and none of the Prophets attributes are equivalent to Allaah.
So get my difference Allaah is most high, so just drawing a picture wont effect my iman right.

One more point its just either this thread is futile or your argument is baseless:)

I dont worship any god/gods and if I would have, it would not be for their looks. If you parents/siblings/children are ugly will you stop loving them. I’ll worship my parents before worshipping anyone else and then it will be the gandhis, the teresas of the world.
I am not anyone’s servant and if god/gods exist, I respect them, I dont fear them, I love them.
I love my parents more than god/gods.
I’d love describing my not so beautiful (but the most beautiful to me) kids rather than someone whom I have never seen.
I believe I can achieve godliness in this birth itself through my loved ones.

And the best part is that you do not have to be a muslim or non muslim to realize this. It’s simple, it’s divine, it’s humane.

lol, bas nahi banani picture, kah diya naaa!!! :D

Thanks for the good explanation. My question was also more directed towards those participating in this thread who oppose taking pictures. And also a hypothetical question to those sahabas contributing these hadiths: didn’t they think that giving such detailed descriptions of the prophet could be the same as making a picture of him? Because the same sahaba conveyed hadiths that making pictures is haraam :confused:

Found this interesting so thought I’d share, the description of our Prophet :saw: as found in the Ahadeeth also seems to be found in the Jewish Bible, even his name Muhammad is mentioned…

The exact Hebrew equivalents of the Arabic alphabet letters of his name are used.

Arabic Hebrew
Meem Mem
Het Ha
Meem Mem
Daal Dalet

http://www.jews-for-allah.org/Muhammad-and-Judaism/the-Jewish-Bible/Muhammad-in-Songs.htm