A genuine team man. I would like to quote an incident here. It was 1988-89 series between Pakistan and India in Pakistan. Probably the second test of that series. Salim Malik and Javed Miandad were batting together. Malik was in his nineties when he played the ball to short thirrd man and ran off for a suicidal run. Even though it was Miandad’s call but for the sake of Salim’s century he ran himself out by responding to Malik’s call. Salim Malik later completed his century and acknowledged that this would have not been possible without Javed Miandad. There are numerous incidents such as this one and prove miandad as a genuine team man ![]()
Miandad’s latest interview ![]()
From TOI: We are grooming future stars, says Miandad
SHARJAH: Javed Miandad is back as coach when Pakistan cricket is experiencing heavy turbulence. Famed for his fighting disposition he has never shied away from an arduous ask. He has taken up the present assignment with the same zeal. In a freewheeling interview he spoke on a range of issues.
**Q: You brought a new look side to Sharjah. Don’t you think dropping the senior players was being too vindictive? **
A: Cricket mein aana-jana laga rehta hai.
It’s nothing unusual. However, team selection has nothing to do with me. Besides, those who have been left out can always come back. And what happened in your country? After you lost to Australia, houses of some cricketers were attacked. I, as a player or coach, wouldn’t have put up with that. I would’ve asked the team to return immediately.
**Q: Pakistan’s chief selector Aamir Sohail is junior to many active Pakistani players. Is it right? **
A: Sohail’s record as a player is very impressive. But in India many of the selectors don’t even have experience of international cricket.
**Q. How do you look at the team rebuilding process? **
A: Well, we’re trying out youngsters so that we have a firm base. There is some more talent back home who may get a look-in. These are the players who have to do it for Pakistan. **Stars are not born, they are developed over a period of time and we are doing just that. **
**Q. What do you think of this triumph at Sharjah? **
A: Our intention was to win the Cup and we’ve achieved that. The boys have exceeded expectations. But tomorrow is another day and we may not play as well. We’ve to plan according to the conditions and the opposition. The results will not always be to your liking but the right planning will ultimately yield the right dividends.
**Q. You are trying to implement strict discipline in the team. **
I treat the boys as I would treat my son. But there should be no compromise in cricket. One has to work hard to reach the top level. The good thing is that the boys are hungry. They know great heights are within reach.
**Q. Has the game changed a lot since your playing days? **
A: Yes. Today, cricket’s graph is going down. You can count world-class players on your fingers. In our time, there were plenty. The batsmen today use so much protective gear that they can’t see the ball properly. Cricket to jigar ka khel hai. :biggthumb
**Q. What are the basics of batting according to you? **
A: You have to have the right foundation. And you should be ready to adapt because you can’t apply the same technique everywhere. In cricket, one should learn everyday. But your knowledge is never complete. **I remember Sachin Tendulkar once had problems with incoming balls. He sought me out during an event in Sharjah. I gave him some tips which have worked well. **
**Q. How did you develop your legendary batting style? **
A: I’m a creator. I always try to dominate. I used to think a lot over my batting. **Talent ke saath dimaag bhi hona chahiye. ** ![]()
**Q. What’s your impression of the current Indian team? **
A: Your recent performance has been very good. But there should be stability in this performance like the Aussies and the South Africans. We should learn from the way Australians play.
**Q. What’s the bottleneck in the resumption of Indo-Pak cricket? **
A: Sports shouldn’t be mixed with politics. :nono: The masses in India must intervene, **Awam ko awaaz uthana chahiye. If they don’t want India to play Pakistan, then I’ve no problem. **
**Q. Do you think playing each other will benefit? **
A: Definitely. We can exchange ideas and strategies. Coaches can work on reciprocal basis. For example, we produce good fast bowlers. Indian youngsters can learn from watching them in action from close. And it’s easier for us to learn from each other as our culture is the same.
**Q. How has not playing India hampered Pakistani cricket? **
A: Our cricket doesn’t exist because of India. Of course, the board had lost out financially but so has the Indian board.
*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Miandad's latest interview :-)
*Q: You brought a new look side to Sharjah. Don’t you think dropping the senior players was being too vindictive? *
A: Cricket mein aana-jana laga rehta hai. It’s nothing unusual. However, team selection has nothing to do with me. Besides, those who have been left out can always come back. ** And what happened in your country? After you lost to Australia, houses of some cricketers were attacked. I, as a player or coach, wouldn’t have put up with that. I would’ve asked the team to return immediately. **
*Q: Pakistan’s chief selector Aamir Sohail is junior to many active Pakistani players. Is it right? *
A: Sohail’s record as a player is very impressive.*But in India many of the selectors don’t even have experience of international cricket.
Whats wrong with this guy.Why was reference to India needed in these questions.it was uncalled for.
Though I appreciate his comment on India not playiong pakistan because interviewer asked his opinion on the issue.Its other thing that my opinion differs from his.
growup Kid???
Its True... Being a great cricketer doesnt make you great spkeperson.
Bulls eye from Javed Miandad.
He only said the truth.
Indeed the non cricketing ties between India and Pakistan are destroying the sport of cricket.
But whatever Miandad said about Indian cricketer was true. Would you like your family's houses be attacked if you lose a cricket match.
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Bulls eye from Javed Miandad.
He only said the truth.
Indeed the non cricketing ties between India and Pakistan are destroying the sport of cricket.
But whatever Miandad said about Indian cricketer was true. Would you like your family's houses be attacked if you lose a cricket match.
I am not question quality of his statement.What I am questioning is why was that statment important in context of the question that was asked.
He has all the right to has his own opinion on all issues.But he needs to wait till he is asked about the issues.Dont express it where it si not needed.
Did you get it?If not just read this again..I am sure you are intelligent enough to figure out the issue.
Q: You brought a new look side to Sharjah. Don’t you think dropping the senior players was being too vindictive?
A: Cricket mein aana-jana laga rehta hai. It’s nothing unusual. However, team selection has nothing to do with me. Besides, those who have been left out can always come back. And what happened in your country? After you lost to Australia, houses of some cricketers were attacked. I, as a player or coach, wouldn’t have put up with that. I would’ve asked the team to return immediately.
Q: Pakistan’s chief selector Aamir Sohail is junior to many active Pakistani players. Is it right?
A: Sohail’s record as a player is very impressive.But in India many of the selectors don’t even have experience of international cricket.
And what happened in your country? After you lost to Australia, houses of some cricketers were attacked. I, as a player or coach, wouldn’t have put up with that. I would’ve asked the team to return immediately.
That was so unnecessary. Who the hell cares about what he thinks about all this?
What a loser. How come India comes in between. According to Mr. Miandad If a Player has an impressive record, he can automatically qualify for Chief Selector’s position. Well then why not make Mr. Sarfaraz Nawaz the chief selector then. ![]()
Now Compare Amir Sohail with a proven cricket administrator like Brijesh Patel who has groomed players like Rahul Dravid,Kumble, Srinath, Prasad etc., has been the president of Karnataka cricket association, Has been a part of NCA and instrumental in building the careers of most of the current Indian players from Harbhajan to Murali karthik. Amir Sohail - Last I heard him talking like an Idiot in a commentry box, even pakis acknowledge that.
Miandad is talking BS, where was he when Pakistan opted out of Moscow Olympics, When Pakistan refused to tour India between 1990 & 1996 ? He must have been hiding in his cave in Karachi, because he sure didn’t have the ballz to tell the Awam to throw the Pakistani govt. Hypocrite.
PS :- I am still wondering how many International matches Mr. Farrukh Zaman has played.
??? What the hell is this, where does this come from, was he high on the Opium his friends got him from Afghanistan ?? And where was he when his team’s players were attacked & their houses were stoned too after 96 QF loss to India ?
Captain Wasim Akram`s residence was stoned, and a huge
poster of acting captain Aamir Sohail was smeared with mid.
Vari- ous players also received threats on the phone
Re: The man they called 'Mum & Dad'
*Originally posted by a1kashur: *
But the great batsman never complained about it, instead he went on to make four more double-hundreds in his remaining career.
Well he did some 2 months back on a Programme on PTV called "Such Online". He said, in his trademark style, (something to this effect): "Mere captain ka woh decission mujhe ab tak samajh me nahi kyonke waise bhi hum woh match jeet hi jaate. Agar me thori batting aur karleta to team ka kuch nahi jata. Mujhe is baat ka abhi tak itna afsos hai, mujhe poora yakeen tha me us din 350 cross ker leta. Lekin hum captaan saahab ko kuch keh bhi nahi sakte the"
Allah ka banda,
I agree with what you said, he should only comment on what is relevant, To bring india into the conversation was not needed and certainly not very professional.
aaahahahahaahha..great interview by Miandad.
The reactions from some the members over here is ever funnier. I can only imagine what the interviewer must have been thinking. Nailed it where it hurt the most. ![]()
yaar, indian bring india in everything. ask asif_k and akb. Thety compare India with everything. so what if he sais somehting about India. Look at yourself first…![]()
I think this is Mr Dilip Vengaraskar’s response to Miandad’s interview on Cricketnext.com
Cover Drive
By Dilip Vengsarkar
THE MIANDAD I KNOW: VENGSARKAR
The World Cup was such a mega event that it’s hardly a surprise the tournaments that followed did not get as much attention or importance as they really deserved. The four-nation tournament in Sharjah, as is the ongoing triangular at Dhaka, though keenly fought, were devoid of stars who preferred to rest, recoup and recover from injuries sustained over the years.
Well, nobody should grudge them that, for they have been playing high-tension cricket for more than a year now. In Sharjah, even the spectators didn’t turn up for the matches, and the Pakistani games which were supposed to lure the crowds, lacked lustre. (False, the 3 matches Pakistan played against Sri Lanka, Kenya and Zimbabwe in the final were are full) Simply because of the absence of superstars who drew in the crowds every time they played there, and are now sidelined for reasons best known to people like Aamir Sohail, the new chairman of the Pakistani selection committee, and Javed Miandad, the newly appointed coach.
Comparatively, at Dhaka where India is participating along with another high-profile South African team, the matches saw packed houses. One of the reasons for this being that Sharjah is a neutral venue, whereas hosts Bangladesh are one of the participants in the event at Dhaka.
It was on the cards that the aftermath of the World Cup would see a few heads roll. Well, there were not few but many heads that rolled. And, after Pakistan lost to their arch rival India, and appointed Javed Miandad as their coach, it was expected that the seniors would be asked to pack up. I have known Javed for many years. A great batsman and a fierce fighter who wouldn’t accept defeat easily, he gave his team more than 100 per cent whenever he played.
Even as a youngster of 20-odd years in 1978-79, he wouldn’t think twice about advising his more experienced and illustrious captains, Mushtaq Mohammad and Asif Iqbal, on bowling and fielding changes. As a captain, however, he himself was a failure. Quite astonishingly, he was appointed captain for a tough tour like Australia, and that too ahead of the likes of Majid Khan, Zaheer Abbas and Imran Khan.
They were much senior to him and, quite expectedly, there was a lot of in-fighting and bickering on that tour which proved to be a disaster. Javed always preferred junior players to seniors in the team. **Possibly he finds it easier to handle them. And, whenever there were senior players in the team, the series or the tour ended in big fiasco. For, more often than not, he would pick the wrong path to get back at them. **
As captain and as coach, he has been very inconsistent. And there’s many reasons for that. One is that he is very poor at man-management, and finds it difficult to handle pressure off the field. That, however, may be because of a lack of education. There’s no denying the fact that he has been a great patriot, but he has this uncanny ability to put his foot in his mouth, mainly because of his eagerness to get back at his detractors, and by issuing nonsensical statements. Well, it’s better for him to realise the fact that his team, full of rookies, has beaten average teams like Kenya, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. And the cricket world might possibly take note only when his team beats the likes of Australia, South Africa, India and even the West Indies. Period.
Oye A1kashur - It was Javed Miandad who was bringing India in everything. Asked about paki selectors, he was commenting on Indian selectors. ![]()
Who was the interviewer?
Bringing India in comments when not asked was not appropriate.
[thumb=B]javed.JPG[/thumb]
Huh? Miandad inconsistent as a Coach and Captain? While, I don’t prefer to get involved in hot words exchange debate, but somebody has really gotta check stats as of Miandad being Captain.
As a Coach, Miandad doesn’t like to get involved over difference between Senior players. I, along with saby have debated about it from time to time. Either our Senior players get tips from Miandad or go to hell.
P.S, if you say PCB sacked Miandad two times, they have licked Miandad’s shoe thrice. ![]()
Another article about Miandad.
Javed Miandad- A Great Fighter
There was never a dull moment as long as Javed Miandad was at the crease: scintillating cover drives and exquisite late cuts, cheeky running between the wickets, improvised shots not found in any coaching manual, the keenly anticipated big one clearing the ropes, combined with amusing antics and pranks, were his forte. And the crowds simply loved it, whether at home or at any of the famous grounds where the flanneled fools congregate. After Hanif Mohammad, he was the other great Pakistani batsman whose wicket was the most prized one for the opposing bowlers; and, more often than not, they had to toil long and hard before it came their way.
Very aptly, of all the Pakistani batsmen, Miandad’s record is the most distinguished: 8,832 runs in Tests, and 7,381 in one-dayers. He was ever-reliable in the abridged version of the game and, as long as he was in, Pakistan always stood with a good chance of emerging the winner. His incredible last-ball six against India won Pakistan its first major one-day title, the maiden Austral-Asia Cup at Sharjah in 1986, and provided tremendous boost to the team’s morale, paving the way for many subsequent successes.
Javed Miandad was the greatest batsman to ever come from Pakistan. Without a doubt, he was the best. A true fighter, with no hang up’s, and a 100% team man. Javed is the most loved cricketer of all time in Pakistan. His fan following is tremendous. I remember the last time I saw him bat..It was at one of the league matches during the 1996 World Cup in Karachi. Pakistan were playing against England and were chasing a target of 250. Saeed Anwar had already got them of to a flier with a fluent 72, but once he was out, the crowd began to get restless. Everyone knew that with the start provided by Anwar, the target was well in reach. And we all wanted to see Javed bat, since this would be his last International match in Karachi. So the chant of ‘Javed’ ‘Javed’ broke out and it did not stop till Javed came out to bat at the fall of Ijaz Ahmed’s wicket. We wanted to see Javed bat so much, that everyone actually cheered when Ijaz got out, and the true Cricketing Icon, Javed Miandad came to the crease. The atmosphere at the National Stadium that day was amazing, and the fact that many got to witness Javed Miandad bat for the last time in Karachi, almost made up for the disappointment of losing at Banglore. **Javed Miandad is a source of inspiration for many of today’s cricketers. Wasim Akram was nurtured by Imran once he came into the side, but it was Javed who first spotted Akram in the nets and forced the selectors to include him in the touring party to New Zealand. Similarly, today’s Pakistan Stars, such as Saeed Anwar and Yousaf Youhana consider Miandad as their cricketing idol and have shaped their game much like Miandad. **
Javed Miandad’s batting was a delight to watch. He possessed a whole array of dazzling shots all round the wicket, an unsatiable appetite for runs, and was a superb player on awkward wickets. He changed his stance (and his tactics) from wicket to wicket, and he could be, as the occasion demanded it, an aggressive stroke-maker, a grafter, a solid defender, or a ruthless destroyer of all manner of bowling. For this pugnacious batsman, with the instincts of a street fighter, effectiveness for making runs far outweighed any pretension to elegance or style. And so, he unerringly found his way to the record books.
A big hundred (163) on his Test debut against New Zealand, six double centuries, 23 hundreds (both Pakistan records), with an average of 50 in Tests (from his first innings to his last, his Test average never dipped below 50, a world record!); in one-day matches, eight hundreds and 50 half-centuries. He is also (and shall remain for some time to come), the only cricketer to have played in all the first six World Cups. He narrowly missed the seventh as a coach when he resigned on the eve of the '99 version. But he reclaimed his position eight months later, in February 2000.
As a captain, Miandad was a shrewd tactician, and his success rate in Test matches exceeds that of Imran Khan. Out of 34 Tests, he won 14 and lost six, a success percentage of 61.75 as compared to Imran’s 56.25. And, as Imran’s deputy, his services were so highly valued that one noted scribe commented, ‘Miandad is a very good captain with Imran leading the side’.
Need I say more. ![]()