Re: The Last Film You Saw
Guess what, just saw NYtimes picked it as one of the top movies in 2017
Three billboards outside ebbing missouri - outstanding movie with some greatttt performances.
no doubt its one of the best movies of 2017, horror/comedy.
Irrational Man, and Carrie (1976).
I watched Mujhse Dosti Karogi with my mom. It is a dumber movie than Kuch Kuch Hota Hai and I hated that movie.
Rocky and Rocky 2, Imma finish the rest by new years. Rocky marathon is part of my personal winter tradition, which I’ve followed since I was 9.
The big sick. It was more a lovey dovey movie with dry humor but it was still a good watch.
The highlight of the movie was when Kumail picks up the white girl by writing her in name in urdu lol, Imma try that.
Haha! Two great movies of my teens ![]()
What bothered you? Story? Overacting? One guy romancing two girls at the same time out of sacrifice? If it’s the end (spoiler alert) when sindoor defies physical laws to perfectly fit into Pooja’s maang with some bhajan as background score, then you should get over technicalities, miracles happen in bollywood ![]()
I am ashamed of having watched Kuch Kuch Hota Hai. Ab dekh kar mujhay kuch bhi nahi hota. Well, no, that’s not true. It does make me cringe. How so? Let me count the ways:
The annoying hand clapping, nose-flicking game that Kajol and SRK play. Y’all are too old for that! Even the primary kids aren’t into that.
The whiny chant, “Cheater, cheater, Rahul is a cheater!” Urgh! It’s not becoming on anyone past the age of 9. Even the little Anjali knew better than to ever do that.
When SRK grabs his necklace and says, “Because I am cool.” If you need to wear a maala that spells out cool, you are anything but that. ![]()
Rani. Oh Rani. You knew you were coming in between 2 friends and you did it anyway. And then you had to die. See, karma truly is a btch!
Rahul. You weren’t seeking a spouse that would be your best friend. If friendship was what you wanted most, you’d have accepted Anjali as she was. But you only fell for her after she changed up her looks. And all she did was grow out her hair and don saris…the unibrow stayed put.
Johnny Lever. Why, oh why, must Desi directors insist upon having at least one dork in the movie? His unwavering allegiance to the Queen of England, “Mummy” as he called her, was anything but funny. It was disturbing.
“Tum paas aaye, yoon muskuraaye” …the instrumental tune of those lyrics now has to grace ever other subsequent K-Jo movie. A sentimental attachment I guess that we must endure.
Rani. Those dresses needed to be a bit longer. And what? Only eight letters? Did you not believe in your daughter ever graduating? Or having a wedding day? Her first menstrual cycle?
Saving Graces:
The mute sikh boy. He WAS cute. He was also very endurable…maybe because they didn’t give him any lines.
Daadi. Okay, yes, she had an over-the-top role, too. But the idea of having a granny who would do anything for you is pretty awesome.
Rupa-Bi…the hostel housekeeper of sorts who once told Kajol that “It doesn’t take long to fall in love with your best friend.” She was wise for a minor character. She had foresight. And if she had just kept her mouth shut and not planted that notion of possibility in Kajol’s mind…I wonder what would have happened
I am perhaps one of the few people that liked the “Tujhay yaad na meri aayi” song…and that red dupatta was a nice touch, lol.
Rang De Basanti Was (or perhaps still) one of my most favourite movie. I re-watched it the other day and that movie hasn’t aged well. Aamir’s acting is still top-notch
I could write an entire review on why I hated that movie but you listed some of them right there. The story was dumb as hell, and considering its stupidity it should have had more overacting to at least make the dumb story look “logical” because I thought the actors (besides Rani) were stiff. You can’t have a story like that and try to make the people in it look normal!
Lol bollywood movies are cringey asf. I can’t think of any bollywood movie I like except “my name is khan” and even then it was so over the top smh.
I’ve pretty much stopped watching them myself, especially mainstream Bollywood movies…which are more fluff than anything else. I gravitate more toward the unconventional B’wood movies that tend to have greater substance. I’m more choosy about what I watch now. But B’wood has produced some decent and even good movies. You just have to do a search on them.
I see, you’re picky lol. What would you recommend?
^Picky is good. It means you have standards, lol. Just type in “unconventional Bollywood Movies” in Google and read the summaries and pick whatever appeals to you. Then find the movie on youtube. Stay away from anything with Sharukh and the current top heroines…it’ll most likely be ott fluff.
I like that lol. I see you don’t wanna share your picks with me haha. I looked up the movie ‘Haider’, what do you make of it? I hear it’s about kashmir, which has always intrigued me.
I’ve heard good things about Haider, but haven’t watched it to be honest. Go for it! And then post your review of it and if it’s a good one, maybe I’ll watch it too then.
There was this one movie called Matrubhoomi. Oh man! It addressed the issue of female infanticide in India. It explored the question: “What would life be like with no women?” There was this one scene where this guy is walking around the scared martial fire with his bride-to-be…only the bride wasn’t a girl…it was leetul buwoy…made to look like a girl. That really disturbed me and I couldn’t watch any further. I’ll gladly watch someone’s body being hacked apart in a horror movie…but that kind of deceit :-/
If you’re braver than me, you can check that one out as well.
I’ve heard good things about Haider, but haven’t watched it to be honest. Go for it! And then post your review of it and if it’s a good one, maybe I’ll watch it too then.
There was this one movie called Matrubhoomi. Oh man! It addressed the issue of female infanticide in India. It explored the question: “What would life be like with no women?” There was this one scene where this guy is walking around the scared martial fire with his bride-to-be…only the bride wasn’t a girl…it was a leetul buwoy…made to look like a girl. That really disturbed me and I couldn’t watch any further. I’ll gladly watch someone’s body being hacked apart in a horror movie…but that kind of deceit…just no :-/
If you’re braver than me, you can check that one out as well.
That sounds so whack, I don’t wanna watch it lol. I might check out Haider, I just have to figure out how cause I don’t think it’s on prime. Do you know of any paki movies worth watching? I can’t think of any lol.