the CHOLA of Baba Nanak and the Quranic Verses !

There is very little stuff on Savarkar on the web in general. Frankly I do not agree with all his views but I admire his patriotism and his commitment to his nation. One can have differences of opinion, but in a democracy, we should be prepared to listen to everyone’s point of view. Savarkar spent most of his life languishing in Indian jails under the British rule. The most distressing thing was that he was hounded most even after independance in his old age by our so called “secular” government !!
He was the author of many books including “Sikhancha Itihaas” (in Marathi) or “History of the Sikhs” for which he was also felicitated by the SGPC (if I am not mistaken). Anyway…we would be digressing from the topic on hand if we discuss Savarkar here. And again I may be accused of being an RSS sympathiser :slight_smile:

There is this site which has a little bit of information on him. http://www.nashik.com/halloffame/tribute/savarkar.html

[This message has been edited by BombayKid (edited March 13, 2000).]

Zalim....>>1. First I would like to ask, how do you say he failed? <<

He failed because if was a Muslim, he should have or must have preached Islam, and would exhort his followers to accept Islam as their salvation, but not one of his followers are Muslims, They are Sikhs. I m not here to downtalk Baba Guru Nanak. He must be a revered person and so must be sikhs. Islam does not teach to downlook or redicule anyone'e creed. So please do not try to put words in my mouth.

As a matter of fact, I am prepared to say that Babu Guru Nanak was 100 times better than your leader, MGA. Reason is that he preached what he believed and encouraged his followers to be known as Sikhs and introduced a new religion called Sikhism. He was never sour with anyone one for calling his followers as Mulims.

Unlike you teacher and mentor who concieved this Qadianism in the womb of British Imperilism. These folks have made a deep study of character and temprament of Muslims, and to lull them to sleep, this was the only way. MGA who was a victim of frustration and metal unrest was picked up by them to fulfill such mission.

While all others have also shown you their profound devoid of knowledge about Baba and Sikhs, I dont see any reason why you continue showing your scholarship about Sikhism and Baba. Just because you want to assert a point that Ahmadies consider him Muslim and a sufi. If this is genuinly so, how many books of Baba Garu Nanak and his teaching are taught in your jamaat khana or places of worship. Please dont say that these are called mosques as mosque is place reserved for Muslims. When you people came up with new theology, you should come up with new names for your places of worships also. It is like homosexuals who want the world to recognises them as man and wife, but still the act of sex is performed in the same manner as that of hitrosexuals. Why cant they up with some kind of sergical incision or something.

I have a lot against you people, but I will not say anything as long you people do not enforce yourself upon us and insist that we call you Muslim.

Baykhatr writes:

“I have a lot against you people, but I will not say anything as long you people do not enforce yourself upon us and insist that we call you Muslim.”

Ok. Call us Pigs. Now picture us reciting Kalma.

Chann Yar,

I am reading this and must say that this is quite interesting. As you know by now that I am not a practicing much of anything, but I do have a trouble with Zalim’s views (and they might be what Ahmadis really believe in, although I am not so sure). In one of your earlier replies you suggested to him to “worry about your own self” is how exactly I feel about this issue. Here is a community that complains about not being given its identity, and then they turn around and start telling a completely different belief system that they are wrong. To me this is an elucidation of hypocriticality and defeats the purpose. It is like complaining about racism against Desis by Whites and then turning around and displaying prejudice against African Americans. There is a study out that shows how racism passed down the labor chain in the Arab Gulf oil rich countries. It passed from Palestinians to Egyptians to Pakistani/Indians to Bengalis to Sri Lankans to Filipinos. It is a very interesting but reality defying chain of psyche.

Zalim is totally wrong in this instance and if he is representing Ahmadis’ official views about Sikhism, then (in my opinion) Ahmadis are totally wrong also.

::: BAYKHATR Peace be on you.

· First of all, if you cant cope up with the discussion, then don’t make lame justifications.

· Now regarding the topic, I have explained you with authentic quotes about Nanak being Muslim. Read the conversation between Nawab Daulat Khan and Nanak jee and the verses I quoted from his saying, that’s a very clear proof that he was a Muslim.

· Nanak didn’t preached directly, as in Sufism, the concept of preaching is quite different, they don’t preach by going door to door, they attract people by their pious and mystic personalities, while keeping themselves busy in meditations and Dhikrs. Read again my reply, you might find something else. Aap nay nahin maan’na to na mano. I am not imposing my words on you.

· After reading your post, a reader can easily access your mental agony. It only contains expressions of hatred and nothing sensible to suit the topic. At the same time you are saying; “Islam does not teach to downlook or ridicule anyone’s creed.”. What can I say, you are better Muslim than me, I accept.

· Moreover you are comparing two personalities about whom you even don’t know a jot. “I am prepared to say that Babu Guru Nanak was 100 times better than your leader, MGA”. Yes it will be very fair on your part if you compare yourself with Sikhs, I can bet they are more civilized, more ethically and morally superior and more peaceful and respectable then today’s so called Muslims who are facing misery at every nook and corner of the world.

· Thanks anyway for the lousy low-grade example you linked. I can imagine your frustration. I wish I could help you, alas I am not a homosexual expert or a surgeon to make an @$$ an O$$. You might find a better answer on this web site. http://www.geocities.com/WestHollywood/Heights/8977/firstpage.htm

· Shamefully, at the end you showed-up with your intents, “I have a lot against you people”. Well sir I am not asking you to spill your intellects against me or in favor of me. Mai to aik baykaar sa insaan hon, meri khatir aap apna ikhlaaq kyun giratay ho… aap nay suna nahin “allah kay nazdeeq tum main say behter wo hai jo ikhlaaq main afzal hai”. Enjoy you life man, leave the Ahmadis alone. Trust me, they won’t steel your right to be a Muslim. Dont degrade your self.

· Finally, if you want to comment on me or my beliefs, please open another thread and curse me the way you like. And if you want to add something to the topic, you’re most welcome. Otherwise enjoy ‘my ignorance’.

Thankyou.

::: NY AHMADI Peace be on you.

Oh! Meray bahi, kya ghazab kertay ho, dont ask them to take that irrational step, they can do anything to abuse the kalima. This reminds me of once I saw a Maulvi along with his supporters wiping the kalima from an Ahmadi's Mosque with sludge and jhaRu. All were happy, as they have achieved a noble task. How shameful are their characters, I still wonder. In another incident the local clergies assigned the same job to a Christian bhangee. He only erased the second part, by saying 'I believe in Allah, why should I erase this'. Just imagine to dishonor someone, they can surpass any limit. Sad

With the passage of time human specie has become so much civilized, yet its behavior still needs decades to mature.

I am sure the hatred they possess for Ahmadis doesn't parallels with the love they hold for Holy Prophet(pbuh) or their own beliefs, otherwise it would be a very different story.

Secondly, NYAHMADI jee, what I am doing is might be wrong in your view, but this is all debate. Beside that I am only arguing on the basis of facts I gathered. I wonder why everybody is against me. Comparatively, the other threads, which not only degraded the Sikhism but also used insulting languages, are praised, and when I gave them a different perspective within the bounds of respect, I am being called with personal attacks and hatred. What a fair deal.

Anyways my Islam is not confined to Namaz and Roza only. My Prophet Mohammad(SA) also faced similar hardships - His identity and the confrontation with the false beliefs.

By the way whatever I am discussing over here is my personal research and not a tooth-seekers tale. I mentioned only couple of narrations from Ahmadiyya perspectives; the rest is based on different scholar's expression. Therefore it should not be taken as an insult or disgrace on behalf of my community. I apologize on my part.

Thankyou.

::: ChanMahi peace be on you.

mizaj sahreef kaisay hain aap kay, umeed hai achay hoon gay.. jawab main takheer ki mazrat chahoon ga.. I was busy with some personal stuffs. Here is your reply.

1. CM says; “I find plenty of holes in your arguments but don’t have the time, knowledge and energy to gather the material to counter argue that.”

CM jee, I will really appreciate if you could point out the loopholes, as the references I have collected are not my sources. I am not sure how far they hold the truth. I accept, I am not a philosopher or a learned person or a good orator, nor I am fighting with you over here to win something. For a meaningful dialogue, pull out the moves.

2. I wrote;
“We have disfigured the picture of Guru Nanak Ji. We have absolutely changed the pictures that existed forty years ago. We do not know what is the conspiracy behind it. It is not impossible that even the name of Guru Ji may be changed in the pictures in the future i.e. they may start to write Guru Nanak Dev Ji instead of GuKu Nanak Ji.” (Rasala Sant Siasi Amritsar August 1963)

In response to this you go; “…contrary to your claim that Sikhs are calling Guru Nanak Dev as Nanak Singh. No one have done it and no one will dare to do it.” Well in this regard I can only say, type “Guru Nanak Dev” in the search window, and you will get the answer. Here is an example to save your time. http://www.sikh.net/sikhism/gurus/GuruNanak.htm

Again you say; “I don’t know what paintings of Guru Nanak are your looking at but most I have seen(and best so far by Sobha Singh) does not show 5 K’s on it.”
CM jee, I know arts and craft hold no significance in worships or spiritual conducts. Neither his worship nor his sketches hold any importance in your faith. Yet the actual noble impression has been distorted. Not now, but definitely in the long run this illusion will be considered as his original impression. (the same theory applies to the original teachings). Let me find that referred pic in my directory, in the mean time take a look at these differences. http://infoseek.go.com/Titles?col=MC&qt=Nanak&svx=home_searchbox&sv=IS&lk=noframes

3. You mentioned that Baba Shaikh Farid was born in 1189, well I am unable to find his actual dates anywhere, except in your books. I wrote to Sufi Association, but didn’t receive any reply yet. I will look into it. Because the reference I have says that Baba Farid and Baba Nanak, spent 12 years of their life together. However, there is a point to be noted, how come this 200 years old sufi is related to Nanak’s teachings? Anyways let me get the answer from them first. I am ready to take all my words back, if I find Baba Farid’s tenure as you mentioned, accurate. Obviously this holds no relation if one is born in 11oo and the other in 14oo.

Secondly the Nanak’s life span starts from 1469 till 1539 AD, and not 1439. (I know nobody remembers exact years off-hand - you are excused)

Now here is something in reference to Sheikh Farid(ra).

SHEIKH BABA FARID

This is taken from Mr. Pincott’s article - " the story of his first interview with Shaikh Farid", He says;

**"The most significant associate which Nanak found was undoubtedly Shaikh Farid. He was a famous Muhammadan Pir, and a strict Sufi who attracted much attention by his piety and formed a school of devotees of his own. Shaikh Farid must have gained considerable notoriety in his day, for his special disciples are still to be found in the Punjab, who go by the name of Shaikh Farid’s faqirs. This strict Muhammadan became the confidential friend and companion of Nanak; and if all other traditions had failed, this alone would have been enough to establish the eclectic character of early Sikhism.

The first greeting of these famous men is significant enough. Shaikh Farid exclaimed, *"Allah, Allah, 0 Darwesh’; to which Nanak replied, 'Allah is the object of my efforts, 0 Farid! Come Shaikh Farid! Allah, Allah (only) is ever my object.

The words in the original being Allah, Farid, Judhi; hamesa, áu, Sekh Farid, Juhdi Allah Allah.* (India Office MS., No. 1728, fol. 86.)

The use of the Arabic term Juhd implies the energy of the purpose with which he sought for Allah; and the whole phrase is forcibly Muhammadan in tone."

“An intimacy at once sprang up between these two remarkable men; and Shaikh Farid accompanied Nanak in all his wanderings for the next twelve years.” **

To stick to his theory that Nanak’s religion was an admixture of Hindu and Muslim ideas, Mr. Pincott regards Nanak’s intimacy with Shaikh Farid as not going beyond proving the “eclectic character” of early Sikhism, but the fact is that close friendship and constant company with a Muslim Pir for twelve long years shows clearly that Nanak had been completely converted to Islam, for without an agreement of religious ideas such an intimacy which was based only on religious grounds could never have remained unbroken for such a long time. In fact, there is actual historical proof that at this time Nanak observed all the religious ceremonies of Islam and all the religious practices observed by the Sufis generally. Even the Janam Sakhi shows clearly that after this Nanak was looked upon as a true Muslim, and his very touch was looked upon as defiling the Hindu and his sacred places.

The following anecdote is also taken from the same writer whom I already quoted above.

"As soon as Nanak and his friend Shaikh Farid began to travel in company, it is related that they reached a place called Bisiar, where the people applied cow-dung to every spot on which they stood, as soon as they departed. (India Office MS. No. 1728, fol. 94)

This noticeably shows that Baba Farid accompanied Baba Nanak in paying visits to various places. The other obvious point to note is that the orthodox Hindus considered every spot polluted which Nanak and his companion had visited. This could never have been related of Nanak, had he not been a Muslim, since both the personalities were treated with the same attitude.

FIRST THE “CHOLA” AND NOW THE “CHILLA”

I know, you are going to kill me now, but this is also in reference to Baba Farid jee.

The other testimony of Nanak’s complete adherence to Islam is his chilla. CHILLA is a religious practice resorted to by Muslim Sufis, and the religious exercises which must be performed in the course of the chilla are strictly Muslim, as they include saying of prayers and fasting and other devotions.

Sirsa is a small town in the Punjab some distance from Panipat, but it is famous for having once been the seat of reputed Muslim saints or pirs. Here the famous Dargah] (mausoleum) of Abdul Shakur Salmi, a well-known saint, and in the three sides of the yard of this mausoleum, situated near to each other, are five closets, known as the “chillas of the five saints” who performed their chillas in these places. These five chillas are respectively the chilla of Shaikh Bahawal Haq, the chilla of Shaikh Farid, the chilla of Bawa Nanak, the chilla of Lal Shahbaz and the chilla of Syed Jalal.

The reader would at once see that Shaikh Farid whose chilla is met with here along with the chilla of Nanak was the trusted companion and intimate friend of Nanak, in whose company Nanak passed a significant part of his life.

**The discovery of the chilla of Nanak shows clearly and conclusively like the discovery of his chola, that Nanak was a THOROUGH MUSLIM who passed his time in the company of Muslim saints and pirs and went through all the religious ceremonies and devotional exercises which were practiced by those Muhammadan saints.

Thats all in regard to your comment. Now I better run, I can see readers crunching their teeth and rolling up their sleeves.

Oh Zalim you are very Zalim.

Anyways thanks for the respect.

PS 1: I still owe you replies for the early two comments, (1) about chola being hand written and at the same time gift from God, (2) the other about the Nanak’s visit to Mecca was a pleasure trip and not a pilgrimage. Please give me some time, I will answer them shortly before this thread being closed by the moderators or baykhatr sue me under Ordinance XX, for portraying the kalima.

Take care now.

PS 2: RANI your reply is coming up next.]

Zalim: Thanks for your effort again. but believe me it is all in vain.(damn.that rhymed)

The day you can prove that Baba Shaikh Farid, aka Faridudin Shakarganj, Paakpatan whose writings are present in Granth sahib, was a contemporary of Baba Nanak Dev and they spent 12 years together…sun will rise from the west.

Your references so for telling it other wise only prove that you are reading very biased literature.

My refererence to Nanak’s birth in 1439 was a mistake..it was from memory and I might have confused it with 1539, year of his death.

As for holes in your references, there are plenty but I don’t have the time to go over each of them and read your previous posts again.

for example,

• in your narration of the encouter of Baba Nanak with Nawab and Qazi you conveniently forgot the rest of the story and erroneously stated that Nanak did the Niwaz/namaaz so he was a complete Muslim.

Nanak went to the mosque with Nawab and Qazi and while they were praying Nanak stood aside and did not perform the Namaaz. When qazi and Nawab finished the namaz…they angrily confronted Nanak. Why he did not perfrom the namaaz with them. Nanak replied"during namaaz, qazi was thinking about the welfare of a new born calf to his cow and Nawab was thinking about how he is going to go to Kabul and buy new horses. whom was I supposed to do Namaz with?" Meaning he totally condemned the ritual with out concentration of mind and keen heart for it.

Further when Nawab asked then what are the good qualities of a Muslim that I should achieve to be one…what Nanak said is present on page-141 of Granth Sahib. Now don’t take it as a affirmation that he was a Muslim himself. He is just telling a Muslim what he should be truly.

**SHALOK, FIRST MEHL: Let mercy be your mosque, faith your prayer-mat, and honest living your Koran. Make modesty your circumcision, and good conduct your fast. In this way, you shall be a true Muslim. Let good conduct be your Kaabaa, Truth your spiritual guide, and the karma of good deeds your prayer and chant. Let your rosary be that which is pleasing to His Will. O Nanak, God shall preserve your honor. | | 1 | | FIRST MEHL: To take what rightfully belongs to another, is like a Muslim eating pork, or a Hindu eating beef. Our Guru, our Spiritual Guide, stands by us, if we do not eat those carcasses. By mere talk, people do not earn passage to Heaven. Salvation comes only from the practice of Truth. By adding spices to forbidden foods, they are not made acceptable. O Nanak, from false talk, only falsehood is obtained. | | 2 | | FIRST MEHL: There are five prayers and five times of day for prayer; the five have five names. Let the first be truthfulness, the second honest living, and the third charity in the Name of God. Let the fourth be good will to all, and the fifth the praise of the Lord. Repeat the prayer of good deeds, and then, you may call yourself a Muslim. O Nanak, the false obtain falsehood, and only falsehood. | | **

• you said"therefore even if he may not have become a thorough convert to Islam at this early stage, he had no respect for Hindu forms of worship"

Is your condition of being a thorough muslim in being hateful towards hindu forms of worship? I am surprised. he was not hateful of Hindu, he denounced them for himself and his followers…

• “We find him openly giving and receiving Muhammadan forms of
    salutation, and giving his assent to being called a “Darwesh”.”

I did not know that ‘darwesh’ was a copy righted word. so is it that Sant a Hindu copyrighted word? and is Guru now Sikh copy righted word?

This makes no sense. Your theory is..he walked like this…he talked like this…well…he once did that…and he once went there…and he ate that and and he wore that…so he was a muslim…and then you say…well may be not a “thorough convert”…so who stopped him? WHo stopped him clearly saying that he is a Muslim and all his followers are muslims? Why did not he tell his successor, whom he handed over Guru Ship, himself, that he is a muslim and successive generations of Guru Ship will be Muslims? By establishing a successor guru and handing him over the pothi of his writings, he affirmed a distinct line…not Hindu not Muslim. but teeja panth.

• I still have not understood your objections about the paintings of Guru Nanak. they are all made long time after him. and Sikhs are supposed to understand their Guru by reading and understanding his baani(writings) not by looking at his pictures. there are lot of superstitious Sikhs, just like lot of Muslims, Hindus and Chrisitans, who will go to any fakir, baba, dera, sant, sadhu and pray to Mazaars, samaadhs, pictures etc, in time of need. Thats what all people, low in self esteem and low faith in their God, has always done.

If some one has created a painting of Nanak with five K’s, its his own creation( I have not seen one yet) and have no bear on what Nanak was, is and will be. I can paint a picture of Zalim, a very scary one in fact…with hairs coming out of his head and eye balls popping out red hot…,that does not mean you look like that.

And saying that, this has happened, and that will happen and then that will happen is all speculation. All writings of Gurus are 100% unchanged and no one will change it in future. Of course people can always misinterpret it to suit their own line of thinking and agendas without understanding the whole picture. I see lot of people doing that to Koran, then why it could not happen to Granth Sahib. Its all possible.

• Again that Cholla, Chilla and Baba Shaikh Farid companion of Baba Nanak…there is no proof of that. If you go on search to look for something…you will find something. and you will find somehitng very similar to what you intened to find. Because thats the only thing you are looking for.

I don’t have references in my mind right now, but if you read Nanak’s writings you will clearly find that he was against such kind of rituals and karm-kaand.
Guru Nanak went to the North mountains and discussed with some 'sidh" yogies who were meditating and doing chilla and all that kind of stuff to achieve enlightenment and meet God…here is the whole conversation as narrated by Nanak later on…in his long poem called “Sidh-goshT”(Discussions with Sidh yogies). here is the link and also on pages 938-946 of Granth Sahib.
http://www.sikhs.org/transl11.htm

Of course, you can say that this whole thing is a conspiracy and Nanak never said that and Granth is a all made up by Sikhs later on. Well, I can sure you I won’t argue on that one:)

CM

PS: Zalim, if you had started a discussion that how Nanak in his earlier days was influenced by his Islamic environment and sufis, We would have been on the same side of the argument. But in this case your whole mission is flawed. Nanak, Sikhs, gurbani, Granth is all real …no fairy tales here. Of Course being a non-Sikh you can believe it anyother way you want…that does not alter a thing.

[This message has been edited by ChannMahi (edited March 15, 2000).]