Thank you PCG

Re: Thank you PCG

We have a situation here.

LOL, it is not that I hate USA. My taya abbu and a lot of my khandan lives in USA. I cannot hate a place just like that for no reason. There are some valid concerns that were running through my mind that's all. As for living in Dubai, that is because I have my family businesses here and all my khandaan is here and PLUS Dubai is just too much fun. Oh and the halal food and the rest.

I think you need to ask yourself what you really want out of studying abroad. What are you hoping to gain and accomplish, aside from your Degree? How do you want it to benefit you as an individual (aside from being able to get a better job)? What types of things do you want to do while abroad? Do you want to work part-time? Travel a bit? Make friends of different backgrounds?

Cause you can do that in both America and England.

You need to leave the whole hijab/abayaa discussion out of this cause regardless of where you study, you can work/study with a hijab/abayaa. That isn't going to hinder anything - as long as you have enough confidence to go out there and be yourself. If anything will give you problems it will be your confidence level, but you will overcome that in time, inshallah.

AID mujhy bhi US pasend naheen :lifey:

Jithey jaandi jaan dyo, odi marzi, tuwanooN sariyaaN noo ki problem hai

^ tussi theek aakheya aiy... aiwaiN hee pooN paan laai hoi aiy innay... visa sheeza milna naee...jootiyaan pavangi inno.

Aisha.... where I work, until now I've seen only one girl hired who wore a headscarf so I know that my company does not discriminate but then it depends on who is interviewer/hiring manager. Some people do discriminate based on color and race , so they might discriminate based on headscarves and abayas too (not openly of course... they will get sued).

fun guy jee mere kol british passport haiga aye agar tey mai UK janni aa tey menu visay di load hi nahi haigi tey US da menu bari asaani naal mil jana aye .. tussi ki socheya mai research nayi kitti howi? mere kol visit visia haiga aye amrika da and i am coming in the summer to visit..

lol juttey parwaoge us walo se :stuck_out_tongue:

In Canada:salute: we don’t give a Shyt about amreeka.
They are losers.

Another thing Aisha, I think PCG is in Florida (correct me if I'm wrong) ..... I've lived there for 3 years and I hated that place... couldn't make even 1 friend.... humaaray intellectual level kay log hee nahin thay wahaan par. IMO FL (Miami, Fort Lauderdale, West Palm Beach) is not at all a friendly place for Pakistani muslims (at least for me it wasn't)..... even at the mosque, we never met any Pakistanis :( and the few we met were not our age/intellect level.

On the other hand, ever since we moved to VA, I loved it here..... I've made tons of friends.... every locality has a lot of professioanl Pakistani muslims... and the area is VERY diverse. I LOVE VA :)

Girls I went to postgrad school with- that were in my program with me, wore Abaaya. The whole draped thing, right?

And if you can't wear Abaaya you can wear long shirts and skirts. If you can adjust to an unfamiliar place not only are you becoming more independent, but you'll become stronger as a person. I don't know why people are so scared of the unknown. I- unfortunately- put myself out there too much.

It's scary but it will make you grow. Are you up for that challenge?

Aisha you have to step back and think all over again. The most important thing in higher education is selecting the right field and post graduate program. All this abaya, green campuses, USA or UK and being British or non-British is irrelevant. One can learn British accent from British council, which is far less effortless than a postgraduate course. And Imperial college London looks like an office building and yet 18 of her graduates are Nobel laureate. Even Oxford Brooks University looks greener than Imperial college.

Having said that, 1st you must decide what course you want to take up and what you will achieve from it. You have resources to go to both USA and UK. Compare universities offering the same course in BOTH countries and then go for the best school. It is as simple as that. After finishing your studies you can move to wherever you want.

ADDENDUM: As an IT & Media graduate, you should be discussing different fields and their scope with your peer guppies in C&IT and Careers. |Don’t confuse yourself with these useless talks about Abayas IN USA and English spellings etc etc! :k: Best of luck for the future, which ever country you choose.:k:

visa?? I think UK passports dont need to get US visa for visit at all