i just looked into this, some rules i’ll copy here from wiki
The marriage is agreed upon to be voided after a pre-set time.
*No divorce is necessary
*The husband may void the Nikahu l-Mut‘ah earlier than agreed. If he does and they have had sexual intercourse, he must give her full mahr “bride gift”. If they have not had intercourse, he must give her half that amount, though the recommended precaution is that he should give her full mahr
*The couple do not inherit from each other.
**The husband is financially responsible for any children resulting from the marriage
*The husband need not pay for the wife’s expenses
I have a guy friend, who does six months in the US and six months in Iran. So guess what happens when he's in Iran!?! That's right!! I believe up till now he has had 3 " marriages." Just what we need in the world!
But my amazement is towards those girls more then anything. You might as well have ~slut~ written across your forehead.
I never met anyone personally but i have heard quit few stories of older men marrying young girls for only 24 hours, i am assuming it’s for sex, what else could it be. Those guys claim it’s allowed in Islam therefore they are not breaking any Islamic rules.
Dronacharya had a post on something similar to what i have heard.
I have a guy friend, who does six months in the US and six months in Iran. So guess what happens when he's in Iran!?! That's right!! I believe up till now he has had 3 " marriages." Just what we need in the world!
But my amazement is towards those girls more then anything. You might as well have ~slut~ written across your forehead.
a lot of times, those girls are taken advantage of, some of them are very young and very poor. Greedy/uneducated parents play a major role too.
I guess if you guys are referring to mutah then an Ijma' was made during Hazrat Omar R.A reign and it was decided that its not allowed ANYMORE. You can find lots of material in which it is clearly mentioned that it is not allowed
However, some sects of ahl-e-tash'eeh still follow it ..
T1000, it was prohibited by Prophet saw himself at time of Khandaq.
emm, may be i am wrong. but i remember that it was prohibited then there was a war during the region of hazrat umar r.a. during that time lots of muslims mujahidin were out of their country for more than 1 year. during that time it was allowed and then it was prohibitted again.
I am not sure, since i don't remember the history exactly.
But what i am sure is that it is not ALLOWED anymore.
Not allowed anymore, there was a TV documentary on how it is still practised in Iran & Iraq and how old men have their eyes on young women and who they want to marry next...YUCK
But DEFINITELY not allowed anymore, its so heart wrenching how humans distort Islam for their own wants
emm, may be i am wrong. but i remember that it was prohibited then there was a war during the region of hazrat umar r.a. during that time lots of muslims mujahidin were out of their country for more than 1 year. during that time it was allowed and then it was prohibitted again.
I am not sure, since i don't remember the history exactly.
But what i am sure is that it is not ALLOWED anymore.
How can Hazrat Umar (RA) disallow any practice which was allowed by Prophet(SAW) ? Under what authority ? His declaration cannot ban anything which was allowed by Holy Prophet's (SAW). I have read a couple of ahadees which tells me that it was practiced in Islam during Rasool Allah(SAW) times. I never came across any hadees which prohibits this practice specificaly. If you know any please do enlighten me.
Having said that I do believe that Isalm is so much against zina , and mutah is equivalent to legalizing zina then how can it be allowed ? I have also read some shia articles which quote quranic verses and take them to mean that Mutah is halal. But in my heart of hearts I do not agree with that interpretation , those verses can mean many a things since they do not specifically validate Mutah in itself.
So the girls with BF are sluts ?
Or only the girls with BF with pre defined rules are sluts
How can Hazrat Umar (RA) disallow any practice which was allowed by Prophet(SAW) ? Under what authority ? His declaration cannot ban anything which was allowed by Holy Prophet's (SAW). I have read a couple of ahadees which tells me that it was practiced in Islam during Rasool Allah(SAW) times. I never came across any hadees which prohibits this practice specificaly. If you know any please do enlighten me.
Having said that I do believe that Isalm is so much against zina , and mutah is equivalent to legalizing zina then how can it be allowed ? I have also read some shia articles which quote quranic verses and take them to mean that Mutah is halal. But in my heart of hearts I do not agree with that interpretation , those verses can mean many a things since they do not specifically validate Mutah in itself.
Agreed.
I feel the same that if something was not outlawed by the Prophet himself (and that on the command of God), anyone else outlawing it does not mean anything.
To be honest, I don't find it much different from Zina either. Even in the west, if paternity is proved without marriage, a man still has to pay child support. The arguments that Mutah offers protection don't make much sense. It sounds like a gratification contract only and does not prevent any vices like STDs, promiscuity etc.
Does this mean that those ahadees could be unauthentic?
waisay meray khiyal may g/f ka tasawar maujood hai. islamic wars main malay ghanimat kay tor per auratain bhi aati theen jo keh sahaba karam sabhi appas main baant liya kertay thay. es baat ko koi nahi jutla sakta
that's ridiculous...i don't know of ANY shias who practice this thing at all or even consider it legitimate.
muslims all over the world (shia and sunni) practice prostitution...doesn't mean
it has anything to do with islam. in fact, prostitution is reallllllyyyy common in pakistan. its a full blown
profession. does this mean that sunnis practice prostitution and think its allowed in islam?
no, then why is it that when one shia doessomething completely retarded,
the rest of the world assumes all shias do it?
that's ridiculous...i don't know of ANY shias who practice this thing at all or even consider it legitimate.
muslims all over the world (shia and sunni) practice prostitution...doesn't mean
it has anything to do with islam. in fact, prostitution is reallllllyyyy common in pakistan. its a full blown
profession. does this mean that sunnis practice prostitution and think its allowed in islam?
no, then why is it that when one shia doessomething completely retarded,
the rest of the world assumes all shias do it?
Not all shia's do it . In fact I lived in a predominantly shia neighborhood and have many shia friends and never met anyone who indulged in it . It is allowed in their fiqh. Many things in religion are allowed but we do not practice for example polygamy.