Tandoori

Originally posted by who---me:
** changair? anyone? :)**

I think changair is a saraikee term as well..or at least used in the Multan region.

PS you saraikee as well..?

who-me...yaar thank you very much..thats what we used to call in our house-hold and I could not remember it...changair.

Originally posted by who---me:
** changair? **

Yes, yes, and yes again.

I just for the life of me could not recall what it was; the other names didn't ring a bell.

Tanx. :)

We call it Dasthar khuwan too.
In NWFP and Balochistan(mostly in village areas)they have colorful ones.
somtimes they have sayings on them as well,
like 'jaan hasth jahan hasth',

Originally posted by Abdullah k:
I think changair is a saraikee term as well..or at least used in the Multan region.

PS you saraikee as well..? **

I am from pretty close to multan (although the family is spread all over punjab)...

few km towards khanewal from Qadir pur ra'an - and the Khad fectory (ah the smell of ammonia!) - is a place called Chota Haji pur. It is on the banks of sidhnai canal, some of you must know of it. I spent some of my childhood there. In saraiki the word for Changair is chabBi. Changair itself is punjabi I think. But we use both.

[This message has been edited by who---me (edited March 29, 2002).]

Who-me…you know about Khad Factory? What years? My Walid Sahib worked there and I have good memories of the place.

Everyone from around multan knows the khad factory I guess..no? Who can miss that yellow smoke!

Years..Well mid-late 80s and early 90s. But as I said we lived further towards khanewal. Could see the factory from the village though. Do you know sidhnai canal? I cant remember the name of the bridge on it. It used to be a pretty busy place.

Who-me…you are a little kiddie…I lived there in the 70s. I don’t know the name of the canal, and the only canal I know is that was in PiraN Ghaib (Power Station). I have such good memories of the place, with my friends, I used to go for Shikar around that canal towards Khaniwal, it was only about 30 miles away from Khad Factory. I was in Multan last year and I took a ride to Kabirwala to go say Hi to a few old buddies. My heart is still in that area! My father's first cousin was the station master of Khaniwal in the 70s..he died a few years ago.

Who-me, the bridge you are talking about is called Head/pul Rango. It's farther away from Rawa'n towards Khanewal/Kabirwala. Piran Ghaib canal actually branches out at Head Rango from Sidhnai canal.

Banks of Piran Ghaib canal are paved and I used to take that route often to go towards a small village called Dhup Sarri where some of our relatives live. Back then, there was no electricity in that village, making it an ideal place for picnics and hunting boars and rabbits in winter..alas! good ol' times.

our village got electricity the year I was born...many people still believe it was because of me...or my mother or father...or may be both. that also explains my name Chann...or should I change it to Chaanan ji?

I am also of the view that changair is more siraeki than punjabi, but surprisingly, i have also heard the term in areas around Chiniot ? NYA, can you relate to that, since Rabwah/chiniot is considered a Qadiyani garh. Anyways, the term that i have heard most (Lahore/Faisalabad) is "CHAABI", not "CHAABA", CHAABBA i think is the one that they use at roadside eatery cuz it's bigger than our regular household CHAABIs.

Sad thing is that Chaabis and ponas are getting extinct, chaabis faster than ponas, as ponas are even used in hotpots to wrap rotis in.

Zalim, like I said earlier, Changair is very commonly used word in most of the Indian Punjab for chhaaba. There is even a wedding folksong goes something like...phullaN bhari changair, ikk phull loRhi da...something something.

Rango!!!

WOW!!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

I know someone would know rango!! man! I spent so much fun time around there. All those mango parties by the canal. The road to khanewal has 4 lanes now and rango had become a big bridge when I was there last. Few of my tayas are still living in haji pur.

Dastar khwan or safra thats what we call it.......

chabbah/chabbhi is what punjabis call the roti/bread basket.

ponna is the cloth. I have never never heard of tandoori

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

which city is that said in?

urdu speakers from karachi call the ponna, rumal or dasterkhwan but they also use it spead on table or floor and serve food on them