Re: Superman logo
kia ye Urdu bolne wali Sindhi hai?
Is MQM also involved in this festival? Are they also promoting it at any level?
Tharak pan kisi aik qoom ki londi nahi hia.... koi bhi hosakta hia....
Joke aside.... What is going on in Sindh festival... I am very curious to know....
Is MQM also involved in this festival? Are they also promoting it at any level?
Quaid e Tehreek ko apni jaan ki pari hai... mujhy MQM ki involvement nazar nahi aati...
I don't know if it says more about PPP, MQM or the general environment of Sindh.
It's quite disturbing to see PPP using the festival as a way to highlight and promote it's monopoly on Sindh. I would imagine that Pathan, Urdu Speaking, Punjabi and Balochi's who's spent generations living in Sindh should be as much part of Sindh festival as this Bhutto kids, who neither spent their life in Sindh nor speak the language. The festival is like a funfair for rich Wadera kids to display their feudal superiority.
I would've liked to see MQM also representing Sindh festival.
I don't know if it says more about PPP, MQM or the general environment of Sindh.
It's quite disturbing to see PPP using the festival as a way to highlight and promote it's monopoly on Sindh. I would imagine that Pathan, Urdu Speaking, Punjabi and Balochi's who's spent generations living in Sindh should be as much part of Sindh festival as this Bhutto kids, who neither spent their life in Sindh nor speak the language. The festival is like a funfair for rich Wadera kids to display their feudal superiority.
They would have followed the suit like they do in 'Ajrak Topi day', but this time their priority have changed due to recent developments in Imran Farooq murder case
I appreciate the idea of Sindh festival, but don't you think it's more of an advertisment for Bhutto kids than Sindh? I see more pictures of Bilawal than actual Sindhi heritage and culture this festival aims to represent.
I could say anything with certainty when this festival is ended. For the time being, it seems a publicity stunt.
Jolie... You are making good point... Cultural festival should not limit to Sindh... This is a nice way to teach other communities....
I can not see such effort in Sindh Festival....
Jolie... You are making good point... Cultural festival should not limit to Sindh... This is a nice way to teach other communities....
I think we can judge the efforts once festival is started. Heard there would a book fair in the festival. Hope to see some good collection of Sindhi books, as Cultural Department of Sindh did a lot of work on Shah Latif during PPP's last tenure. Only thing I can appreciate about PPP and credit goes to Sassi Palejo for her efforts.
It's a good idea in principle, not doubt, and I genuinely hope other provinces and communities follow the trend. However, the way it's being used as glorification of Bhutto kids (not even PPP) is quite tasteless.
Its a very good effort if its not politicized. Like CM Punjab's Youth festival every year All provinces should have one.
at least he has got one vote ![]()
at least he has got one vote :p
I kinda agree with him on this matter now. Though, I have reserved my final comments till the festival ends
how do you agree with him? if they wanted to do this they should have setup a proper stage a few kms away from the site.
this is a glaring example of the saeen can have anything done. anyways lets hope for the best.
Amar Guriro @AmarGuriro](https://twitter.com/AmarGuriro) 9h
@SaffinaEllahi1](https://twitter.com/SaffinaEllahi1) 1m Protective sheets or not, the whole site will get trampled on by crowds- not rocket science. @sindhfestival](https://twitter.com/sindhfestival) @anarejo](https://twitter.com/anarejo)
BBC News - Pakistan’s Mohenjo Daro ruins ‘threatened by festival’
**Conservationists in Pakistan have asked Unesco to stop part of a cultural event being held on a World Heritage site.
The group of scholars and archaeologists say the opening ceremony of the Sindh cultural festival could damage the ruins of Mohenjo Daro.
It is the world’s oldest surviving city and dates back to the pre-Hindu Indus Valley civilisation.
The festival is the brainchild of the young leader of the Pakistan People’s Party, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari.
The BBC’s Shahzeb Jillani in Karachi says official arrangements for the opening ceremony are in full swing - but leading conservationists are outraged.
Holding the festival in Mr Bhutto Zardari’s home province is seen as an attempt to strengthen his local credentials - something that critics, citing his foreign education and privileged upbringing, fault him for.
The son of former President Asif Ali Zardari and Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto, who was assassinated six years ago, he has spent much of his life abroad.
In a rare interview earlier this week with the BBC’s Lyse Doucet, he spoke passionately about the need to save Pakistan’s cultural heritage, including Mohenjo Daro, now crumbling and in need of restoration.
But many of those treasured sites, including Mohenjo Daro, lie in his party’s stronghold, and leading conservationists accuse his provincial government of disregard for preservation.
They are worried that the construction work needed for the festival’s opening ceremony could irreparably damage the 5,000-year-old site, and have written to the UN’s heritage body, to ask it to intervene.
Mr Bhutto Zardari has dismissed the criticism, saying organisers are taking the utmost care and that the event will go ahead on Saturday.
Large wooden and steel scaffolding is being erected over and around the ruins, while heavy spotlights and lasers have been installed for a light show.
Farzand Masih, head of the Department of Archaeology at Punjab University, said such activity was banned under the Antiquity Act.
Cultural celebration or political b*****ng? Critics claim it is just a way to raise Mr Bhutto Zardari’s profile
“You cannot even hammer a nail at an archaeological site,” he said. “The laser and spotlights, secondly, will cause rapid decay at the site which is already exposed to many negative factors.” He added that he had declined an invitation to attend.
Qasim Ali Qasim, head of the Sindh Archaeology Department that is responsible for the ruins, denied any damage was being done.
“I don’t think that the structure or lights would harm the site,” he said. “I am personally overseeing the work and it is all in accordance with the SOPs (standard operating procedures).”
Sindh’s High Court later agreed to hear a case filed by lawyer Qazi Ali Azhar that seeks to stop the government building on the site.
Unless “extreme care” is taken in making arrangements for the show, the site may be damaged and this would be a “great national tragedy”, said the short order from the court’s Chief Justice Syed Maqbool Baqir.
The ruins, discovered in 1922 by British archaeologist Sir John Marshall, are 425km (265 miles) north of the port city of Karachi.
They are one of Pakistan’s six Unesco World Heritage sites deemed places of special cultural significance.
But many of the country’s historical sites are crumbling through neglect, endangered by vandalism and urban encroachment, as well as a booming trade in illegally excavated treasures.
lols... gir bhi gaya to PPP ki khair nahin. It will go against their Sindh ethnic card. I wish gir hi jaye, taake PPP ke bhoot se hamari jaan choote
:hbk:
BilawalBhuttoZardari @BBhuttoZardari](https://twitter.com/BBhuttoZardari) 9h
dum dum mast qalandar. Marso, marso sindh na deso. #SindhFest](https://twitter.com/search?q=%23SindhFest&src=hash)
iss ke baap ki jageer hai jo nahin dega.. chheen ke rahoon ga main
lets see how this festival goes, but one thing we should give it to him he has reinvigorated his party in the past few weeks.