Re: Stories from the past
Ameen. thanks ![]()
That’s awesome ![]()
Ameen. thanks ![]()
That’s awesome ![]()
My greatgrandfather and my grandfather used to live in Lyallpur, Faisalabad, near Kesari gate. during partition they came to Lahore but route to Amritsar was dangerous from there, hence a known acquaintance of Lahore, a muslim, his name was qadir, put them in Bullock cart under the stack of grass meant for cattle escorted them upto the international border post of Pakistan Army, they came safe to India though two of my grandfather's elder brother went missing:(.
My great grand father wanted to attend Qadir Daarji's funeral in 72 but due to post war situation it never occurred:(
My mothers maternal grandfather was employed in nizams government....so during police action they went to hyderabad for safety but hyderabad was also lost so he returned back to his native.........
the trouble they faced during hyderabad journey was very terrible....
they did not take main route due to safety concerns instead they took route passing through forests....
my dad tells me they used to get clean water in lahore back then
I remember my Great Grand Nani told me that in 1947 when the partition was at full swing she would hide hindus in her basement and in turn they would give her their jewelry. She got quite rich off of this. :D
Our phuppi (Father's elder sister) was in teens when she migrated with other family to Pakistan. She has told us lot of stories about the Pakistan movement itself and the whole journey of migration from India (Agra) to Shikarpure (Sindh, Pakistan). How they got ready to migrate, how they crossed the border, what she saw, how it was struggling times when they first move to Pakistan etc.
Sad end to her story is that she & her family had to flee (after living for 40 years) from interior Sindh leaving back her home, business (milk farms) and most of the assets in late 80s when tensions were high b/w so called "mohajirs" and "sindhis". In her last days she used to say, that she had to migrate twice to save her life.
This one time, at band camp...
reminds me of American pie series ... ;)
Did your grandparents tell you that story? Or were it your parents?
kaur, ninja, d6c: There’s a sense of sadness in your posts but I loved reading through them!
SK: Yeh kahan ki story hai? ![]()
Pendo LOL ![]()
This reminds me of a story my Phopho told me…I guess this is from about 40+ years ago. My grandparents bought or were given a freezer, but they didn’t have electricity in their village so they used it to store clothing instead like a wardrobe!
Another story my Mamoo told me was about when he was a PoW in Bangladesh. Can’t remember exact details but basically he used to be really good at drawing. So one day he drew a picture of one of the guards and the guards saw what he was doing so they made him tear it up in front of them. I guess he was about 8 at the time.
what do you mean?
My grand-dad did something like that too, he helped a lot of people cross the border too. Mashallah for people like this. Omg my family has so many stories, it’s crazy. My eldest sister’s trying to write a book about it cos she knew so much that my late gran told her. Just really interesting stories.
-My grandad fought in WW2 and lost his younger brother in the jungle, and refused to come home cos their mum told him to look after the younger brother. He looked for him all the way through the war and managed to find him (I think in Burma) at the end of the War. The younger brother is still alive today.
-My mum’s mother was apparently a great beauty (I know, they all are, right!) and my mum’s dad had to really fight in order to let her parents marry her - cos she was the only girl in the family after about 5 or 6 boys. They finally took her in a doli from her house to his, and the one bit we all LOVE hearing about is how she made them stop the baraat half-way so she could get down and read namaz. I’ve never met her cos she passed away while my mum was young, but wow, woulda loved to have met her.
-One of my great uncles ran away with a girl from another village, and ran to our village. The men of that village chased them back, and my grand-dad (who was the found of my parent’s village) stood at the ‘entrance’ of the village, drew a line with his foot and dared them to cross the line to get their larki back. They all went home ![]()
Oh and there’s plenty of other stuff, but I don’t wanna hog the thread!
I remember my Great Grand Nani told me that in 1947 when the partition was at full swing she would hide hindus in her basement and in turn they would give her their jewelry. She got quite rich off of this. :D
Does she still have the jewellery??
Lovely storiesssss
My dada used to tell me how he tried dating British white girls back in Delhi in his college days. That he would delibertly try to get on the train coach where the new comer British girls were. They would go to this place called Darjeeling and hit on the British girls.
My Nani's village had lots of Sikh. after partition, all the Sikhs were leaving village on a trolley(tractor trolley). as sikh girls were nani's friends, when she saw them leaving she wanted to go with them and hopped onto trolley. after she traveled a mile or saw with them, a relative(who was returning from city) noticed Nani with them and took back to her parents.
Nani also told us about a Sikhani who had 9 sons. all girls from village used to gather around her and ask her to say her sons name in one breath. she used to replace their names, or used to divert girls attention to save her sons form BURi Nazar.
still Nani's village has graves that are longer than 9 feet long or so. (cant remember exact size). Few years ago we went there and saw them again. they are very long graves. people say these graves are from time when people used to be very tall. and they are saved as they were the only ones with make with bricks, rest were just soil.
when my nani married my Nana, they were very well off. Nani had Hair clips made out of Pure gold. people used to travel on horses at that time, and one horse had a servant special to look after all the gold and other belongings. well that servent ran away with all the gold and they didnt even tried to find him.![]()
my Dada Jee’s dad used to apply real desi ghee to his hair daily and had comb made out of wood.
Yeah she gave most of to my Nani Jaan (Her daughter).
BBQ she lived to be a 110 years old. She passed away in 1997, but despite her old age she used to see perfectly, never wore glasses never went to the doctor. She would tell me old stories of Jinn and Bonays (little people). She was awesome.
great deeds of great peoples !when i read and listen to stories of our ancestors whom we call narrow minded and backward I feel how shallow we are as compared to them…he found his brother great end to great story:k:
second story reminds me of maula jatt…![]()
so such people were for real…![]()