Sri Lanka V England

Wow what a beating,,, it is nice to see the English brought back to earth after slapping around Bangladesh.
This should be a precursor to a loss in Rugby,,,,,

:k:Sri Lanka:k:

He could not save himself, let alone pomps :rotfl:

Whatever. They still kicked Paki ass :snooty:

Come to our land, we will reply back in kind ;)

Bangldesh/Pakistan - same old same old :snooty:

BTW, the loss against the Lankans was planned (cuz we don’t want the cricketing world giving us bad nazar :snooty: )

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *
Come to our land, we will reply back in kind

Like you did last time. :)

Wait SS … The thrashing has just begun

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Wait (for 4th Dec. 2003) Asif_K .... The thrashing has just begun and will continue insha'Allah

Yep, last time England visited Pakistan, we trashed them 2-1 in ODI :p

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *
Yep, last time England visited Pakistan, we trashed them 2-1 in ODI :p

And you won the test series as well, didn't you ? :)

Zero_one - what is there on 4th december ???

And you won the test series as well, didn't you ? :)

Zero_one - what is there on 4th december ???

Yaar Asif_K Sb. ..... the 1st Test AUS vs. IND on Aussie soil in Brisbane exactly ..... I hope India wins the toss and elect to Bat 1st otherwise it looks India will toil atleast some 5-6 session before getting the chances to Bat ..... Lekin ghussa na karna yaar kyunkay agar Pakistan was playing it would be a similar scenario i guess ...... since these Aussie r to good in Tests on home soil especially

Hahaha Zero_one - You are a funny man. Arey yaar tumne Australian tour se hope hai ? Let me say this If we managed to draw one TEST, it will be an achievement. It's a series between 11 men vs 1 man :) . The only reason I am following this series is because of Sachin Tendulkar.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *It's a series between 11 men vs 1 man :) . The only reason I am following this series is because of Sachin Tendulkar.

Then we've something in common

*Bhai Zero and Asif this thread is about SL V England, yeh Australia aur India ko doosrey thread mein layjao. *

** * Sri Lanka v England, 2nd ODI, Colombo * **

Rain washes out second ODI

*Sri Lanka v England - match abandoned

The heavy rain which left the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo awash on Thursday continued throughout this morning and put pay to the second ODI between Sri Lanka and England, which was called off at 6.05pm local time without a ball being bowled.

The umpires made three inspections throughout the day, but play never looked likely due to the sodden outfield and boggy wicket. Even though the rain stayed away in the afternoon, Daryl Hair described the pitch as “not up to scratch” and after consulting both captains, called the game off.

Marvan Atapattu was the happier of the two captains, as it now means Sri Lanka can’t lose the three-match series. Michael Vaughan, on the other hand, expressed his frustration, but insisted England would be well prepared for the final match on Sunday - assuming it’s not washed out.

“It would have been wrong to have played in these conditions, and they weren’t going to improve,” Vaughan said. "It’s like a bog out there, the covering obviously hasn’t worked, but I just hope the rain stays off and we can get a game on Sunday.

“It’s very frustrating, but you can only control what’s put in front of you. We’ll practise tomorrow and make sure we’re fully prepared for the last game.” However, those who have experienced the late monsoon before warn that Sunday’s game is also under threat. *

**Sri Lanka v England, 3rd ODI, Colombo **

• Sri Lanka v England - match abandoned

another wash-out @ colombo!!!

[thumb=D]inline_6108940.JPG[/thumb] <<<< A thunderstorm strikes the Premadasa Stadium

For the second time in three days, England’s chances of levelling the one-day series were dashed after the final match at the Premadasa Stadium was again washed out without a ball being bowled. Thus Sri Lanka won the series 1-0 after their convincing win at Dambulla.

Play was all set to begin on time, but ten minutes before the toss the rain returned, and then progressed into a treacherous thunderstorm which festooned the outfield with puddles. After the storm eventually finished, the umpires waded out to inspect the damage, but they had no choice other than to abandon the match at 5.15pm local time.

Michael Vaughan was understandably disappointed not to get the chance to play, but he was also sympathetic to England’s supporters: “I just feel sorry for the fans, they’ve come here to watch us play and I believe they won’t get a refund.”

He added: “We were keen to play on Friday, but it’s a similar story today. The conditions were just not up to standard. Perhaps playing over here at this time of the year is something that should be looked at.”

Duncan Fletcher, England’s coach, also vented his frustration: “This would have been a good experience for our young side, to play on these sorts of wickets and improve their techniques, but instead we had to sit and watch the rain.”

All eyes now turn to the three-Test series which starts on December 2 at Galle, but neither team will have learnt much about the other after such a damp and drab one-day series. *

it was a disappointment for the fans who went out there - there should be better planning taking into consideration the weather in future.

Anyway now starts the Test Series - it is actually quite a gruelling schedule - 15 days of Test Cricket (worth - they may not actually need all 5 days in the 3 Tests) in 21 days.

Its now quite a lengthy break for the One Day side - England don't play again until April or so.