Specifying the 15th of Sha`ban with some Acts of Worship

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Considering how poeple pray so little already, the last thing we should do is to stop them from praying by casting doubts. If someone were to ask me, I'd say all nights are shab-e-baraat. Alhamdollilah. So keep praying and remember me in your prayers too. Whatever the excuse maybe.

Sure.. And if people want to pray 7-8 raka'hs in their fajr prayers, thats quite alright too since they already pray so little, so the last thing we want to do is stop them..

Fact is, there is nothing authentic on this topic which would lead one to think that there is something special about praying extra in this night. People should be educated and taught to follow the deen with their heart, rather than letting them do whatever they want since they already do so little.. and the fact is that its 'parhe likhe' people like yourself who are advocating extra prayers in a night which has no basis in the sunnah.

So you mean, if someone wants to offer 10 nawaffil before Fajar prayers, you will stop them or discourage them becaue you can't find anything in the literature to support that? We are not talking about doing 3 sajdas or 2 rukus in each rakaat or anything like that. Its just offering more salah and remembering our Creator.

Anyone who wishes to offer more prayers be encouraged, unless ofcourse its a time which is specifically forbidden (e.g. no roza on eid day, and no salah just before maghrib etc). Everything else... we should encourage. Alternatively if you discourage muslims from offering salah and they miss out on extra sawaab because of your ill-advice, insha allah they will hold your garebaan on the day of Judgement. Be prepared.

Khud nahi parhni tau na parho. DoosroN ko kyon roktay ho, bhai?

i find this thread amusing.. people are gullible.. looking for just some easy way out of their sins.. bus 'nafil' ada kartay raho har vaqt or 'occasions' pay.. aur occasions naa milaiN to apnay paas say bana loa.

what if people start praying nafils on Christmas or Holee or Diwaali etc.. (already Shab-e-Bara't is heavily Diwaalee influenced)... sure lets not stop them.. they are only doing extra 'ibaadat'.

So you mean, if someone wants to offer 10 nawaffil before Fajar prayers, you will stop them or discourage them becaue you can't find anything in the literature to support that? We are not talking about doing 3 sajdas or 2 rukus in each rakaat or anything like that. Its just offering more salah and remembering our Creator.

Anyone who wishes to offer more prayers be encouraged, unless ofcourse its a time which is specifically forbidden (e.g. no roza on eid day, and no salah just before maghrib etc). Everything else... we should encourage. Alternatively if you discourage muslims from offering salah and they miss out on extra sawaab because of your ill-advice, insha allah they will hold your garebaan on the day of Judgement. Be prepared.

You are missing the point. There's two things that need to be considered:

1. Encouraging Muslims to do as much ibadat as they can - no problem in general terms

2. Claiming that specific acts and times of worship have been sanctioned and encouraged by Allah and His Messenger (saw).

It is the latter that we need to be careful about and is, i think, the thrust of some of the preceding replies. Saying that such and such prayer should be recited on the middle night of Sha'ban, for example, and that the following day should be spent fasting because the Prophet (saw) did so and told everyone else that they are encouraged to do so is plainly wrong if there is no evidence to substantiate this. Praying 10 nawafil before Fajr is one thing, but to say the Prophet (saw) used to pray the same 10 is an entirely different matter. See the difference?

15th Sha'ban 255 A.H., is the birthday of Imam e Zaman Al Mehdi (a.s.)

this is pretty special

^ Sheraz, i think your candle was blown out a long time ago! :D

nafil in EVERY night is blessed inshallah and Allah descends down to the lowest of heavens in the later part of EVERY night and grants the prayers of those who are praying the night prayers...to SINGLE the night of 15 shabaan without evidence is wrong.

Some of you guys, who are stuck in the minutiae of this should consider what is the perception (big picture) you are creating.

There will be many people who don't even pay five prayers a day. They heard about this night, and decide 'oh well, we should make some extra effort to pray this night'. Comes here, reads this whole argument, shakes his head 'there is no evidence of blah blah', and doesn't even pray anything. You guys slap your backs and say "woah! we stopped people from doing bidaah". Well, not just that, you casted doubts to someone who may have just prayed some extra nawaffil that night. This is why I say, some of the neem-mullahs we have on this board, do more harm to Islam than many non-muslims. The intentions may be right, but the common sense is completely missing.

Its just sad.

But well, its a free world. You guys make sure that Religion forum lives up to its standard of "uneducation". Shame on you and shame on me.

Anyway, the night has come and gone. Those who made the effort received extra sawaab (Insha Allah). The rest spent the time casting doubts. To each his own.

Comes here, reads this whole argument, shakes his head 'there is no evidence of blah blah', and doesn't even pray anything.

What they'll probably think is - Hey, look at these moderators playing us for dumb. Why don't they try to "teach" us something instead of letting us believe that what we are doing on the middle night of Sha'ban is actually sanctioned by the Prophet (saw) and that he told us to fast the following day. Shame on them. It's quality not quantity that we want. We want to know about the Prophet's (saw) sunna not Faisal's 'keep everyone in the dark' sunna.

Rasoul allah ka baad jou kouch beh naya karo ga bedaat hai.

If you would sit in an aerplane it is bedaat as he did not sit. etc etc

Pray to GOD whole day whole night if you have time. It is allowed, it is not bedaat as yazeid did this way for three months.

Many things prophet mohammed did and we do opposite of that; then there is no problem. Is it not bedaat?

Prophet loved her daughter and loved his son in law and his children and muslims killed them in their turn, as muslims hated them then, so much so they murdered fatima too. Is it not bedaat.?

Yazeeid did kill Hassan , hussain, prophet loved them , and muslims write him Rehmat ul la elah. As they love him and hate hussain, they dare not to acknowledge their believe.

All problems are due to the fact dil mein kouch or zaban per kouch.

All hard work and all money is spend in proving, ah lul baeit e Rasoul were not good. Indirectly prophet was not good so could not trained his own family well, but companions were PERHAY LIKHAY pounchay houway loug tha.

Ebadat karna keiss na mana keya hai. jab chahou , jitney chahou karou. Faisal has written correct.

The problem is not in ebadaat , it is in , if ebadaat is continued on shabe barat then how to erase its exsitance??? how to finish its importance in new versions of books? people would continue.After all it has conection with ah lul baeit e Rasoul. gonna key Baat hai. Silsela baqei raha tou, keiss terha, kam Bane ga.

you seem to be implying that we hate the prophet and his family?
if that is so then why would be bother to protect each and every act of his life? why would we bother what he had to say? why would we bother about the religion that was revealed to him?
please have some sense.
we love muhammad :saw: and his family more than our families