South Africa vs. Pakistan - 3rd Test - Jan Fri 26 - Tue 30 at Cape Town

Re: South Africa vs. Pakistan - 3rd Test - Jan Fri 26 - Tue 30 at Cape Town

^^ We would have lost by 4 wickets... :D

Well done to SA but very well done to Pakistan, I think pak played really well with only two bowlers.

That is not the point Zabardast. The incompetency of the nincompoop is.

I think Asim Kamal was unlucky not to get a chance, he should have been given a chance and I am sure he would have played better then Faisal and Yasir.

Well not a bad display of cricket by Pak, I think they can hold their heads high.

They really worked hard, specially Asif and Kaneria,

We should also give credit to Nazir and Sami for doing their best, Sami's batting display was the one, which made this match interesting, even though his bowling is been below par, but we can do better then he is capable of.

I also think Kamal needs complete rest now, he has performed really bad, even though he deserves credit for the victory of second test match.

Would be interesting to see if Pakistan has finally thrown off the “pansy” hold RSA had over them during Hansie’s era. The Proteas were on a winning streak of more than 20 ODI wins against Pakistan at one time. AND that was in the time of Younis and Akram.

inshallah
That was for ravage. Others ignore it. He has the habit of getting to the nerves of every indian here.:D. I told him that one day i will have the revange, God willing. Nows the time. He used the same phrase when indian team lost in SA in test.

MOM and MOS - Kallis

Guys do you know what I loved there, I am not sure if anyone else noticed that.
Amla going away from the team, before they was going to throw champagne on each other.

That is what is called stay away from the evil and showing other's what you believe in. Mashallah.

Best all-rounder for last 5+ years. Presently with Gary Sobers the only 8000 run 200 wicket players. If he could get closer to the new ball he might retire with 10 000+ runs and 300 wickets.

Brilliant person to have in one’s team.

Pakistan coming up a bit short on depth, lacking class at the top of the order, and with nobody to support Asif and Kaneria reliably with the ball.

Those of you who believe that Pakistan has improved under Woolmer (not saying Woolmer is a bad coach but that he's over-rated), take a long hard look at the following stats

Three series that really mattered under Bob Woolmer

Australia white-washed 0-3 in 2004
England **lost 0-3 (technically 0-2) in 2006
**South Africa
lost 1-2 in 2007 in a close series

Can't honestly say that our fielding has improved under Woolmer plus the all-important opening dilemma remains
There is no reason to believe that Pakistan would not have achieved what Woolmer has 'achieved' under Miandad or any other coach for that matter

^ To be fair to Woolmer the last two series we had more injured than fit player.

Very good point GA, opening slot and fielding both have suffered under Woolmer. As for the bowling dept, Shoaib, Kaneria and Asif are the main strike bowlers and Bobby boy cannot claim any credit for any of them. It all boils down to talent and the ability to gel talented players and unfortunately for Pakistani cricket there has been too much of favoritism or personal dislikes and that is where Bobby has failed.

We would have lost these series under any coach. We dont have bowling depth, nor batsmen able to play overseas.

Ehsan Bhai,
Umer Gul was injured before we left Pakistan, Shoaib Malik has been injured right from the begining of this tour yet team management persisted with them, now whether that was Inzi's choice or Bob Woolmers it doesnt matter cause team management is responsible and Mr Woolmer must shoulder some responsibility.

I am pointing to the fact that in these last two series we have not been able to field our best team even once. Whoever is responsible needs to address this issue. At the start of the series in England we had Asif, Malik, Shoaib breaking down. At the start of the SA series we had Razzaq, Shoaib, Malik, and Gul unfit. When Shabbir was called up as a replacement, he was unfit. This is a joke.

Imran Khan once very rightly said that Pakistan needs a coach like Chappel, aggressive, demanding and unyielding whereas India suites Woolmer flexible, compromising and conservative. Unfortunately for Pakistan both coach and captain share the same personality attributes that basically hinders experimentation with new talent or aggressive strategies and that has been the biggest loss to Pakistan cricket. Here we are three months from the all important worldcup and we have no new talent to show for, once again we are totally dependent upon tried and tested with little hope for redemption. I can understand the old fable slow and steady wins the race that may be true for fictional stories not for the mercurial yet highly talented pakistani cricketers.

^ World cup is only about four weeks away not 3 months. :)

April is'nt it?

March 13, start.