So why did she do it?

Re: So why did she do it?

maybe she saw them lying around, and put them in a safe place. But then she forgot where she put them.

When you started running around looking for them, she couldnt recall where she left them. In fear that you would be angry about that, ( which anyone would) she didn't tell you she moved them.

She later on prayed, and remembered where she put them. She didnt want you to know that she moved them in the first place. She she secretly put them back where they were, and said she didnt want to bother you.

I think if she really wanted to bother you, she wouldn't have bothered to put them on the window sill, and wouldn't have risked you thinking negativly about her.

Think about it, you didnt think it was her fault until she found the rings. I wouldn't start thinking any more into this, until this starts becoming a common occurance. She seems nice, being conciderate of ur studies and all.

OP your MIL's behaviour is very confusing. I cannot think of why she would do this but good on you for handling it well. Don't dwell on it much, her motives will probably never be understood and the main thing is that your husband understands what happens and is aware. Don't worry about anything else and maybe just be on your toes the next time she comes and visits.

wow shes obviously losing it. If i were you, I would be super careful around her. she cannot be trusted.

OP is a breath of fresh air in these parts. She has enough regard for her husband to show respect to his mother even if her actions seem objectionable to the OP.

That being said, I think it's a bad idea to ask for advice here. People overanalyze simple matters and come up with all kinds of wild theories which, even if you don't take them seriously, could be at the back of your mind the next time someone mistreats you.

As for this situation, I think she was just trying to teach you a hard lesson to be careful with your valuables. Maybe she overdid it a little by stretching it to 4 hours. I would've let you search for 20 minutes or so and given them back with the advice to be careful.

This is what I was talking about.

The other downside to posting about your relatives is that every aira ghaira nathoo khaira starts dissing them. I don't know how people put up with that. I might have problems with my relatives but I certainly don't like random people dissing them.

TL'DR; A usual MIL-DIL Drama. DIL is thinking too much about her MIL (can't say if whatever she is thinking is true or not since we only one know one side of the story)

OP, you don't have any evidence that your MIL hid them.
it happens that sometimes we cant see the things right in front of us. specially the tiny ones. she might have found them lying in the house somewhere.

honestly... i dont think she has anything to do with it...

its happened to me plenty of times... i wont he able to find something right infront of me... i will search and search... read innalilah hay wa inallay rajeeon and boom...look again and there it is ...

dont overthink it.

you found your stuff...move on. its a relationship that will stay with you forever...its best you keep it clean and happy.

Maybe she's just feeling neglected and craves attention? You said she lost her husband and divides her time between her children. At her age, people dream of enjoying retirement in their own paid-off home with their spouse. Since she changes homes every few months, she probably doesn't feel like she fits in anywhere (though I'm sure you've done all you can to make her feel welcome). She's probably also fearful that her kids are getting busier and busier in their own lives and don't depend on her for anything anymore.

What she did was certainly not right, and you should be careful about your things around her. But do continue to treat her with compassion. She's not in an easy place.

I couldn't have said it better than what khawateen said!

Besides, I really want to give you a big hug for being so positive and respectful overall and despite having all doubts, you are still not bad mouthing her which is a norm for majority sadly.

I think your MIL saw an opportunity and took it. She might have found them earlier into the search and decided to keep them to teach you a lesson. Seems like she wanted drama, and you didn't give her a chance. Good job!

im seriously apalled at some of the responses here. wow.

OP. you have something good and pure with your MIL, you actually sincerely like and respect her. IMHO, you arent gonna get anything positive out of posting anyting in life especially if is mil related. there are too many bitter posters here, very few will portray things in a positive light and help you get past the issue.

if you need guidance, or want to vent… blog it… or if you have friends here.. maybe pm them.

look at some of the replies here.. they dont know jack about your mil, her personality, your relationship with each other… an yet are pasing judgements on something she may not even have done :pullhair:

so seriously.. think twice before posting in law issues here… chances are you will get more riled up than anything else.

:slight_smile:

She might have done kala jadoo on Ur ring.

My husband recently lost his Thumb Support which looks like a baseball glove and me and the siblings spent around 4 hours searching for it in the whole house and he sat there smirking and saying that he has took it off and put on the couch. It was so frustrating that I can not even imagine how the relatives of the Malaysia plane would be feeling.

Any ways after 4 hours when I sat with the hubby on the couch the freaking glove was exactly at the same location where he said he had put it. I am sure it was a prank hubby is playing but he swears by it and he was also searching with us for that thing often times.

so you never know na :bummer: just take it in good faith and humor and move on

Thanks! I have toyed with this theory but she didn’t tell me for a while even after she had “found” and placed them back.

Thank you for your comments guys, and for everyone else not quoted. Actually, I wasn’t looking advice. This was more along the lines of me thinking out loud about why she would have done something like that (maybe like Khawa said, I should get back to blogging).

As for those questioning whether she even did it. To me, its not about if.. its about why she did it. I know that people tend to sometimes miss things that are right in front of you, but the reason why I went into so much detail in my first post was to emphasis that I had already looked multiple times. This isn’t me trying to find something to pin on my mil who other than this has been really good to me since the wedding. Forget her, I haven’t even discussed this again with my husband ever since we first talked about it. What she did was not nice, so what is the point of bringing something embarrassing up about a parent to his son? What good would that achieve, and what good would posting something negative about my mil achieve here? So trust me, when I say that it was moved from there, it did.

Khawa, I already read “in lilah…” multiple times and gave myself breaks. This is a very small ledge we are talking about so the chance of missing two rings is very very small. Furthermore, my mil was sitting inches away having her tea there when I was on the phone with my hubby and he asked me to look in the exact spot. In front of her, i went and told him I’m looking again, and its not there. So even she saw that they weren’t there; this spot was literally inches away from her! I even pointed to that corner multiple times in front of her and told her I always keep them there.

Getting to the point why I posted it was not to draw negative attention towards her. I don’t think the tone in my post even alluded to it. I was more irked by the fact that she put it in the same place that she knew would make me suspicious of her. Even though I had turned my house upside down sans her room, I wouldn’t even for a second would have thought she had anything to do with it had they been recovered anywhere else in the house but this is a very prime spot we are talking about and she wanted me to know she had moved them. This is WHY I had posted it, because knowing the plethora of mil/dil issues posted on here, I thought maybe someone who could relate would provide some insight.

And yes, the disclaimer: this or any negative comment about her does not in any way affect my relationship with her. Luckily, I have very thick skin for that.

I think that’s what it is. However, its just seeking attention at the expense of ruining a very good relationship. I do get where she’s coming from and empathize with her. Although not financially or physically dependent on any of her kids, its just not easy to change homes or know that your expected to pack your bags and leave every few months. Not a nice feeling and I made sure she feels as welcome as she can in our house for as long as she wants.
I do appreciate all the advice :slight_smile:

This sucks lol. I’d be SO upset with him. But seriously, losing a thumb support is one thing and losing probably one of the most expensive things I own currently – not just for its market value but also because of the thought and effort my husband put into getting them-- is another. I even went through our bathroom trash! moving on though…

She wanted to teach you a lesson by hiding it and maybe causing you a bit of stress, but I don't think she realized or took the opportunity to tell thou this after your first 10-15 minutes of searching and then it went too far. Then it got to the point of oh shaista, wat 2 do naow so she just left it on the window sill. Its like those pranks that go too far and then you have to murder someone otherwise you will be like humiliated for the rest of your life. Chalo at least she didn't murder you and stuff and rings bhi mil gaye. Happiness all around yeah?

Hey Slimsie,
How are you! Man I miss all the older people on here, you, GIDSA, jaanwar, nazi! I wonder where they are now.

Yes :D happiness all around mashallah. Stepping into month 9 of marriage and its going great! you should get married too, its awesome!

Sometimes when my sis borrows my dresses and doesn’t put them back the way they were before, I take her dresses and hide them. She asks me about them and I deny having seen them. Then I watch her look for them everywhere and laugh inwardly. Some time later, I try to locate the missing dresses. But honestly, I have really bad short term memory. If I put things somewhere “safely”, chances are, I’ll never find them again. So you see, it’s not really my fault. And obviously when I myself don’t know what I did with the dresses, it’s not like I can come clean to my sis and tell her where they are? Best, if she carries on her search and find them on her own. :bummer:
maybe if at some point I recall where I hid the dresses, I will put them out in the open … in a place where I’m sure someone will notice them. :k:

Your title made it look like the thread was going to have saucy material.

Alas. :hinna:

She might have just spontaneously taken the rings to "have a closer look." She then either forgot to put them back immediately after taking a look, or you might have started looking for them (perhaps sooner than she thought you would) so she didn't feel comfortable directly give them back to you because she had taken them without asking you first.

Anyway, I would not overthink it if I were you, and it's great you otherwise have a nice relationship with her!