so who are we? british/American first or pakistani?

Re: so who are we? british/American first or pakistani?

exactly my point.

To both places I guess. I'm pretty sure you wouldn't be living in UK if you feel you don't belong here nor visiting Pakistan if you also don't see youself belonging to that part of the world. If you have strong sense of identity and faith in yourself and surroundings than what titles people every now then call you shouldn't really confuse the life out of of you. :)

I have never been through tougher security than in Saudi Arabia and Qatar etc back in 80s and 90s. I have not been to that part of the world in over a decade so dont know if its still the same. brown ppl screening the hell outta brown ppl.

What passport do you have? That is what you should call yourself! :D

I am Muslim first, then Pakistani as that is where i was born.... I am among the best and worst of Allah's creations... oh people know that I am like you and yet so unlike you... I have begun to doubt my humanity lately though....

I consider myself an American because I was born and raised here, but my parents are from Pakistan. Most people don't believe that I'm Pakistani so I never considered myself that.

British of pakistani descent

The UK is and always will be home for me

muslim i wasnt born and raise in the middle east (mainly saudi) and USA, im very much attached to Saudi but im not really attached to Pakistan much and at the same time thats the country I want to do things for and that is the culture from which i belong so i wud just say im muslim with a multicultural background...bas

And how is it affecting your relationship?

identity crises for nadz :hehe:

Will always be Pakistani.

I am a confused desi yaar

O_o

Hehe Brit chick definitely - but also Pakistani origins - I'm just very glad to be born and brought up in a country were MashAllah I have everything - and ShukerAllhumdillah no worries - I don't hate Pakistan - but more the actions of some people.

British. I agree with the uncle.. Our heritage is Pakistani but that don't define us. Before India pakistan split migrants were all Hindustani. Not today. Because tht reality no longer exists for them. I think who ever has asked this question is from Pakistan and may have moved here early on... My dad was born raised in England, so was I. So was my hubby. And so will my kids. My husband doesn't even speak a south Asian language... So we don't feel Pakistani. As for the issue of acceptance... I think you.ll find when u accept ur British (if that's what u feel u r) then so will the wider community around u. U can't stand on the outside and wonder y u not accepted... Like with any situation u have to create ur place... Not everyone will accept u straight away but in time they. U have to be sure only about itself. There was a time, the blacks were not allowed to sit front seats on buses in the US... Today a black runs the country and calls the White house home. That's becuase they accepted they r American with African ancestry.I will always put England first, it's my home and where my family is.

Why do people give so much importance to nationality?

are you serious?

Muslims, Hindus, Christians etc. has absolutely nothing to do with the British and what they did

real question i have is, which side would you take of one went to war with the other?

more then any thing you are future mothers in law... EWWWWWWW

British Pakistani. Simples. Your uncle has issues.

I love my heritage, but I'll always be British first (except when it comes to the cricket) lol!