sisters, hijaab for first time

is hijab to control men or to prevent women to show of their bodies
to attract men? it looks like they are brainwashed to hide thier beauty
and supress the sexuality and suddenly she becomes sex symbol
for her husband when she goes home. i dont know weather you can turn on and off your sexuality.

*Originally posted by NYAhmadi: *
The follow up question to the Shiekh should have been:

Are pictures allowed in Islam?

If you read carefully, my post said at the beginning: "Dear brothers and sisters.." I never said Ahmedis or Hindus or other non-Muslims. Only Muslims are my brothers and sisters. Please refrain from jumping into every discussion.

*Originally posted by Saif-ul-Islam: *

I’m thinking of growing a beard soon but I haven’t yet decided if I should carry on wearing western clothes or wear shalwar-kameez and a amamah (turban) because a beard would suit it more…

Is this what 'coming back to the faith' is all about ? Outward symbols ? Faith from the heart yes but please spare us the 'I want to burn my western clothes' bit - its just so shallow.

Sisters / Brothers

I can see you're all get a warm cuddly feeling from collectively growing your beards and wearing your hijabs - but I'm afraid the jury is still out as to whether either are an absolute necessity. In the end I guess it boils down to your individual interpretation and how much you are willing to be influenced by either arguement. If it makes you feel more religious, or more confident etc etc that's fine, but if you believe you're actually scoring more brownie points compared to an unbearded/unhijabd person - that's highly debateable and presumptious.

*Originally posted by Risky: *
Sisters / Brothers

I can see you're all get a warm cuddly feeling from collectively growing your beards and wearing your hijabs - but I'm afraid the jury is still out as to whether either are an absolute necessity. In the end I guess it boils down to your individual interpretation and how much you are willing to be influenced by either arguement. If it makes you feel more religious, or more confident etc etc that's fine, but if you believe you're actually scoring more brownie points compared to an unbearded/unhijabd person - that's highly debateable and presumptious.

I agree with Risky... if its only to score brownie points with Allah Mian.. over people who dont wear the hijab or have the beard.. than i think its crazy... my bro had a beard during ramzaan.. and after that he shaved it off... a lot of u may argue thats Gunnah... for its like wearing a hijab for awhile and then taknig it off... but the point is... its not Farz.. or is it? i have not read anywhere for it to say that Hijab and growing a beard is a must.. but thats my interpreation..

my faith doesnt get any weaker if i dont wear the hijab.. it grows stronger when people look down upon me and try to correct my views.. and i thank them all :) God bless their souls..

^ May Allah give you and me the right understanding of religion. By the way, do read the Quran while understanding it, as well as the Sunnah. You will learn a lot.

^ Ameen.... i hope ur not judging my knowledge... :) does my understanding of the Quran.. lead to me to agree with u?

^ No, I am not judging anybody's knowledge nor do I have a right to do so.

^ good :) so lets just agree to disagree

*Originally posted by sadzzz: *

I agree with Risky... if its only to score brownie points with Allah Mian.. over people who dont wear the hijab or have the beard.. than i think its crazy... my bro had a beard during ramzaan.. and after that he shaved it off... a lot of u may argue thats Gunnah... for its like wearing a hijab for awhile and then taknig it off... but the point is... its not Farz.. or is it? i have not read anywhere for it to say that Hijab and growing a beard is a must.. but thats my interpreation..

my faith doesnt get any weaker if i dont wear the hijab.. it grows stronger when people look down upon me and try to correct my views.. and i thank them all :) God bless their souls..

That's also true, that wearing hijab or having a beard alone don't make you a good muslim. What really counts is the intention you have for doing so and your good deeds. I know many Turqish and Maroc people here who use hijab or have beards, but either they don't pray, or they gossip behind other peoples back, look down upon others who don't use hijaab or grow a beard. That is wrong also. Wearing a hijaab or growing a beard alone doesn't make you a better muslim. It's the good intentions, the good deeds that count. NObody is a perfect muslim, but you try to do as much as you can.

sadya, like you, I hope to wear hijab someday soon, insha'Allah.

I wore a dupatta in college and it was not see-through so a lot of people thought I wore hijab, but I told them that no I dont, I just wear this cause I dont like to do my hair daily. Anyway, at some point I got very used to the dupatta to the point I'd even wear it in the house and some of my relatives thought I was a little crazy for that. However, after I left college and went to the working world, I took it off (eventhough it wasnt a hijab, like I said), and I didnt feel good about it but then I also got used to not wearing it. However, I find that my heart is inclined to wear it. There is a tremendous difference in how people treat me, when I wear it and when I dont. I prefer the treatment I get when I wear it, and insha'Allah will wear it (but next time with the intention of hijab) again.

Nobody in my home wears hijab, and they even had a problem with the dupatta at first because they felt it would draw more attention to me, but Alhumdulillah it usually brought positive attention. And I can tell you that one of my closest friends started wearing hijab after seeing me wear that regularly, (MashAllah) because she felt if I could wear it(a scarf), she can wear it. I thought that was pretty neat, that I didnt even have an intention for hijab yet someone else feels influenced by my actions, Alhumdulillah. It really makes you look at some of the verses of Qur'an about dawah, and understand the different ways its given, and the importance of it. smile

Thank You for sharing that, Munni. I think when the timing is right for you, you will do it. That's the way it should be. It should never be forced. When It's forced, you don't like it, you don't understand why, you should understand what the meaning of hijaab is, and then choose to use it. I had to use duputta, and I will say honestly I didn't like it, I always felt 'why do women have to cover, and not men'. NObody explained properly any Islamic practice we HAD to do. When you understand why, you are more likely to do it. We should set the right examples for our sisters, and children and non-muslims with our behaviour. Islam is a religion of beauty, it should not be forced but gently explained. If you do something becuase you HAVE to and you don't have the right niyaa for you were forced, you get no blessings either. You should support your decision with your heart.
I'm only learning that now.

Sadya :flower1: :flower1: Thank you so much for your reply. It made complete sense, i assure you.

Thank you for taking the time to explain all of that. Some of what you stated, i felt i could relate to in such a personal way… you’ve explained it very well and i appreciate it.

i hope one day i have that type of imaan, Insha’Allah, where i will not feel self-conscious to wear it.

Don't wear it unless you are 100% sure about it. Simple..
And don't forget, pehla parda nazar aur dil ka hota hai. Head comes later.

:k: Of course.