Re: Sindhi cap day today
well everything of sindh is very nice and beautiful except the handful miscreants trying to create hatred amongst ourselves :)
When NWFP and Punjab are burning in the hell of terrorism. when 17 innocent children died in Prade Line Mosque, Sindh is NOT expected to celebrate the day of '' Tahfaz e Saqafat e Sindh'' ----------- At this time of mourning, we need to talk about ''Pakistaniat''
100% correct my brother im in ur favour but who will tell such ignorant pplz trying to cash the situation in their favour to divide us all? :(
:k:Well said TRD and befitting response to racist and sh1t head burning in own fire of abhorrence. You hammered nail right in to the filthy prejudiced head.
Sindhi culture is great! A lot of my relatives live in sindh heartland.
AGree with The Real Deal post :k:
And this is why Pakistan is in the **** it is in. People rather place their own cultural importance over what is good for the nation. You lot can learn something from the Americans. One loss anywhere is noted through out the country even when faires and other activities are planned.
I have heard people of Sindh complain about the attitude of Pakistan/Punjab towards them, and i can clearly see why.
For one day in the year, Sindhis want to celebrate their historic culture, peacefully and harmoniously, like cultures all over the world do.
Yet some people respond with stupid statements as seen in this thread.
It is no wonder that Sindhi groups, MQM, complain about the attitude of Punjab towards Sindh.
bay-wajaah ronay na baiTh jaya karo..
There are plenty other things in Sindh which have its root or on which the culture of Sindh is based... ignoring them and celebrating some HAT day does insult the Sindhi culture by itself... means almost 5000 old years civilization and all they are celebrating a HAT day... comeon don't insult the rich heritage of Sindhi Culture....
I have heard people of Sindh complain about the attitude of Pakistan/Punjab towards them, and i can clearly see why.
For one day in the year, Sindhis want to celebrate their historic culture, peacefully and harmoniously, like cultures all over the world do.
Yet some people respond with stupid statements as seen in this thread.
It is no wonder that Sindhi groups, MQM, complain about the attitude of Punjab towards Sindh.
Sindhi cap and ajrak are a symbol of ghairat, morality, virtue, and honour of our ancestors through adherence to core values and the strength of their character.
If we were demonstrating our ancestral symbols to highlight these values, and if we were asking our corrupt leaders to answer from where they got those huge known and documented assets in foreign countries without any known source of income we would have honoured our traditions. We have actually celebrated this day because a certain corrupt leader does not want to face the law. Wearing Sindhi topi and ajrak and carrying the pictrure of a corrupt leader we took out rallies to safeguard him from the persecution from law and calling it our cultural tradition is disgraceful!
Making our heritage a hostage in the hands of an opportunist is by no means a display of our culture!
And I request you not to give an ethnic colour to this criticism. Be ensured that every Pakistani will celebrate Sindhi topi and ajrak if it is celebrated with real values of our heritage. A dhoti day or a niswaar day if celebrated to facilitate crime would be equally condemnable!
Niden bhai,
Instead of hammering nails in each other’s head we should highlight the real core values of our ancestors. Topi and a piece of a fabric are mere symbols of these values, and without these values no topi or a piece of cloth is of any significance!
We should celebrate local traditions but not because the president wore a hat.
For me, there's nothing wrong with celebrating local culture, but using it for political purposes is disgusting.
I agree it is a unique Toapi…it allows cooling of the frontal lobe…
why not wear it every day…:k:
true kakaballi.. if you wanted to celebrate provincial culture (it is a step forward that MQM is celebrating sindhi culture) there is no call to link it to Zardari sahab. one gets the impression that people would have a lot of trouble turning out in a rally for zardari himself.. so get them to come out for the cap.
topi drama hai (sorry about that)
as for those who say nation is burning falana, dont be so alarmist. we are in this for the long haul and need as much semblance of normalcy as possible. instead of looking at the US for inspiration lets get it from the UK where what the terrorists want isnt given to them by coming to a standstill as a country.
The issue is why the day was deemed as '' youm e tahfaze saqafat e sindh''. The speeches made by PPP and JSQM reflected if someone is disgracing Sindhi Culture and they have come on roads to protest against that intention. I mean who in Pakistan is against Sindhi culture {naooz billah }. Kala Bagh Dam issue was once again highlighted unneccessarily. The politicians attempting political scoring every time!
^ agreed.... this day should not be linked with any political agenda or party, but sadly our people are sooo consumed and get side tracked so easily by these politicians. There is an opportunity to make this an eventful and peaceful day for all.
The Pakistani government is truly imposing Urdu language and Punjabi culture on all ethenicities for the last 60 years. But they don't like other ethnicities even celebrate their culture day. Very sad indeed!
Nobody dislikes anyone celebrating culture. Its just that we need not politicize it spreading hatred for other ethnicities and scoring cheap points.
I am a punjabi and I own a couple of sindhi caps, ajrak, kohati chappal, baluchi turban and I'm proud of it. I don't admire sindhi cap because it represents an ethnicity but because it is one of the many colors of our country.
The Pakistani government is truly imposing Urdu language and Punjabi culture on all ethenicities for the last 60 years. But they don't like other ethnicities even celebrate their culture day. Very sad indeed!
So, now people are even not satisfied with Urdu as National Language. Could you please suggest which language should be introduced to replace Urdu? Sindhi Pushto or ???
And how is Punjabi culture being imposed????? By Pakistani govt??? Pakistani Govt has never ever done it. Punjabi Language is NOT even taught as a must subject in schools in Punjab. In Sindh, sindhi is compulsory for Urdu speaking community as well. And nobody can impose a culture ---------- its you who develop your culture. And I think we all are imposing a culture on ourselves -- the blend of Indian and American Culture.
I am a punjabi and I own a couple of sindhi caps, ajrak, kohati chappal, baluchi turban and I'm proud of it. I don't admire sindhi cap because it represents an ethnicity but because it is one of the many colors of our country.
Good for you kakaballi. There is no harm if such cultural days are celebrated in Punjab, NWFP and Baluchistan. People from all walk of life whether local or non local can participate to honor local culture and traditions. It will also bring people closer to understand and respect each other’s cultures, thereby alleviating the ethnic bias or hatred.
For those who has started a non sense and off tangent posts by giving it a ethinic or anti pakistan flavor, pl spread your hatred sh1t in some other threads.
So, now people are even not satisfied with Urdu as National Language. Could you please suggest which language should be introduced to replace Urdu? Sindhi Pushto or ???
I would suggest the most beautiful language "Pashto" because that's the Language I speak at home.
We should celebrate local traditions but not because the president wore a hat.
For me, there's nothing wrong with celebrating local culture, but using it for political purposes is disgusting.
Right on the money
Sindhi topi day is all good but I just feel the timing was not right. It looked odd to say the least when the rest of the country is burning. Around 300 people have lost their lives in the last week alone and it showed great insensitivity towards the suffering of others. Sindhis would have earned more respect in the eyes of the people if they had cancelled this year's celebration as a mark of respect to the slain soldiers and civilians
But no they wanted to turn this into a political stunt to show strength of Sindhi support for an increasingly isolated chor aka Zardari and his corrupt government whose credibility and image have been greatly tarnished by NRO scandal
btw my stand w'd be the same on celebrating basant in these terrible and uncertain times