Shia-Sunni marriages: Do you have issue with marrying someone from different sect?

Re: Shia-Sunni marriages: Do you have issue with marrying someone from different sec

one generation back things were different, but now the tolerance has reduced a lot. I have seen shia-sunni marriages in the past, but now its becoming more of a taboo…sad but true. The issue will be in which sect will you raise your kids? there will be pressures from both sides. If one can manage this then there should be no issue.

Re: Shia-Sunni marriages: Do you have issue with marrying someone from different sec

Only if religion’s involvement in a person’s life is limited to that.

fortunately, or unfortunately, religion and its impact/involvement in one’s life is so much more than that.

Masla khulfa rashideen ka bi hai. Sunni Hazrat Abu Bakr (R.A) ko pehle khalifa mante hein aur Shia Hazrat Ali (R.A) ko.

Sunni aur Shia ke kalima, azaan, namaz, mein bhi farq hai.

Aur aise hazaron farq hein.

When it comes to marriage n spending ur whole life n raising children with someone from different sect, I have problem !

Both are v different in many things, and 6-7 differences r major of them !

I once had a Sunni Iranian friend who had a Sunni father and a Shia mother. He once showed me a drawer at his home within which he had kept all the books, pamphlets, and decorative pieces of Shia-leaning nature that his mother’s family would constantly be giving him because they were very concerned about him and his sister being Sunni instead of Shia…

i have no qualms about people marrying into different sects but personally i would not want it for myself.
i would not want to marry a shia guy because the basic religious belief they hold is quite different than mine. and even though i am not a very practicing Muslim yet i cant bring myself to accept someone whose basics are different than mine.

My maternal grandmother is part Shia with Iranian ancestry, my Sunni Grandfather loved her deeply. I personally always have so much going on in my life to care about what others do, but as far as my personal prefernce is concerned, I never thought about these issues. I have few very close Iranian Shia friends and acquaintances, but unfortunatley never got the chance to fall in love them.

No problem whatsoever

what is your friends personal being raised in both surroundings?

I would personally never marry into a family that did not respect my biological mother… In extension, how can I ever think to spend my life with a man who does not love and respect Hazrat Aisha r.a?

Bingo

Watch this insha allah

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPS7j3Lfvpc

absolutely!same here! alhamdulillah my husband is the same sect as me…but his brother(my BIL) is having a love marriage with a shia girl..which i have NO problems with as it doesnt affect our life directly!

i will also not have my kids marry into the shia sect..no bar on friendships with them though.

All respects to people from different sect. However i preferred to marry in Sunni so my wife is sunni. Long term it is better and kids aren’t confused.

What if they want to?

if they are not religious people, there should be no issues. however, if one of them becomes a **‘born again shi’a/sunni’ **then serious issues arise and married life becomes a hell.

case in point: one of my acquaintance [a sunni] married a shi’a man. they are both professionals and spent most of their lives studying and working in Canada. the husband one day became a “born again shi’a”. he wants thin gs his way. big issues in their lives now. not so good for kids growing up in that family.