I agree with you that it is not fair to condemn the entire Sunni populace of Pakistan for the acts of some extremists. In fact, almost everyone I know condemns this kind of hatred of fellow Pakistanis.
I criticise our successive governments - military and civilian for doing ZERO about this. Zia onwards, every govt has encouraged one group against another. Azam Tariq and his ilk were protected from action by our govt. There was no attempt to prosecute anyone for the killings in imambarghas or killings of doctors. WE all know who the culprits are, who instigated the violence, but it took a foreigner to criticize our govt for it to do something.
This is dangerous for our national integrity. For example, the current situation in the Northern Areas is troubling. Some Wahhabi/Doebandi mullahs have taken control of the local education system and are hell bent on provoking sectarian strife against Barelvis and Shias. For instance, they took a textbook and faded out the part where it extolled the sacrifices of Hazrat Ali! This is in a region where Shias are 60% majority.
There is a feeling that Deobandi haters, after they took care of the Qadyanis and Christians are now targetting Shias.
This is not good for Pakistan. We can all pretend and talk of "both sides" are doing this etc. but the truth is different.
Iqbal had rightly proteseted when God let a Mullah go into paradise.
maiN bhi haazir tha wahaN zabt-e-sokhan kar na saka
haq say jab hazrat-e-mullah ko mila hukm-e-bahist
arz ki maiN nay ilahi meri taqsiir mu-aaf
khosh na aaiN gay isay hoor-o-sharab-o-lab-o-kusht
nahiN firdos muqam-e-jadl-o-qaal-o-aqwaal
behs-o-takrar is allah kay banday ki sarisht
hai bad aamoozi-e-aqwaam-o-malil kaam is ka
aur jannat maiN na masjid na kalisa na konisht
I do apologize in advance if I've made any mistake here.
khilari I agree that this is an issue and a problem, yet when we start saying that deobandi haters type stuff, i know deobandis and i know barelvis and they have no issue with each other or shias.
the fact is that it is a political struggle, the same kind which went on in Iran but diff roles.
we can not keep creating divisions. the extremist outfits need to be disbanded fully..members prodecuted for being in hate groups and jailed, then we will see some change, the crack down has to happen, it must happen.
one person hurt, let alone killed is one too many ... and whoever has suffered more casualties or less casualties matters , but what really matters is that there should be no casualties.