Sheekh Kebabs in the Oven

Re: Sheekh Kebabs in the Oven

So, are you trying to thank me, Diva???:rolleyes:

besan bhi daala, chopped onions bhi nichchoRR ker daalay, laikin phir bhi kabab seekh per say girtey rahay. :( Kya museebat hay. Can someone tell me how they make them in the restaurants? Those are a little 'chamRRay' ki taraN but they hold together and taste good too.

Koi tau batlaaye.

Are you buying keema without fat ? Because if you are, thats no good. Buy keema from the gora store with at least 5% fat content. That will give you the hard texture and look.

Mohtarma, 5% fat only? I have been buying 80% lean which means 20% fat content. It's not the fat factor. Kuch aur chakkar hay? May be I should add pound per pound of besan. That might taste like a pakorra on a seekh but it will stick!

Mahru, do you put them on skewers or just muththi bana ker oven may?

80/20??? The last time I did that & then baked the kebabs in oven, they lost all the fat making a mess in the tray and shrunk to 1/3rd of their size. I would go with 92/8

^ I can come over and strangle you, put your fat ass on a skewer and really grill you down. What the hell man. Can we agree on the fat content first? So you are saying more fat is the reason for the breakge?

FG bhai, you were getting opinions from seasoned aunties, I didn’t wanna interfere. After all I am just an armature. :halo:

I don’t know how to get the restaurant texture but I would definitely not use an 80/20 meat. 92/8 has given me the best results. I don’t like to use eggs and have used bread crumbs to keep them together and I also brush them lightly with oil right before putting them in the oven.

When grilling I make patties, not seekh kabab kind, so don’t know how they will turn out on the grill.

Wait, let me put down the tips realised over the years through trial and error.

1. a) A bit of baking soda to improve the adhesion of the mince to the skewer
    b) Add egg
    c) add bread crumbs
    d) add besan

2. Wait at least 10 minutes for the fire to die down before putting the kebabs on the grill. Otherwise, burnt outside, raw inside.

3. Clean the grill using an onion cut in half.

4. Leave the mince in the fridge for at least 3-4 hours to let the spices blend in better.

5. Kneeding mince is unpleasant business, so a surgical glove comes in handy.

6. Use wood charcoal, it is always better than charcoal pellets. Most Persian stores have wood charcoal.

I have only tried 4 and 1c

AJ, since you don't have the guts to put the meat on a skewer, your opinions in this thread are invalid. I can't believe a Gourmet Chef like you would succumb to flats in the oven.

These aunties have no clue when it comes to hard to cook dishes such as seekh kababs. That stuff is for us men. We like to play with fire.

fg-san, your provoking comments are well received. I might just do it this weekend.

We need photos (while the kababs are being grilled and then just before coming of the skewers).

Now you are pushin it! No photos for you, until you show us your grilled kababs. :snooty:

ok guys.. both of you can fedex (overnight delivery) the kabab's to me and i'll will be more then glad to post the results.
Our fellow guppies can vote for the presentation looking at the pics..:D...Oh and please keep it mild, I don't eat too spicy :D

I am not into mild women. No Kababz for you!

In addition to the usual "binding" agents, I think I'll try the ground beef usually meant for Chili at the grocery store this weekend. Will let you guys know later if it worked or not.