Sharjah Tournament

Pak won by 217 runs

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

Do pal ka, yeh jeevan hay
Kuch karna hay tu kar guzro

I can not believe my eyes! What a win!

The Lankans will really prop up the Murli factor a lot but how much of an impact could he have had when we won so emphatically?

Pakistan won by 217 runs, what way to win I think this is another record. Way to go PAK. I am happy that my $89.99 were worth

wow...!!!the way we played the last two games I think nobody can beat us..its all about joint team effort(Ausis watch out). Nazir proved again to be a reliable batsman and I think he cemented his place as an opener still need to work out his techinique against the spinners , it will be interesting to see how Saeed Anwar fits in the squad..

Shoib akhtar has been so aggressive and economical its not even funnny! wow!

Just for those who missed the whole show:

Sharjah Cup, 2001/02, Final
Pakistan v Sri Lanka
Sharjah C.A. Stadium (day/night)
17 April 2002 (50-over match)

Result: Pakistan won by 217 runs
Series: Pakistan wins the 2001/02 Sharjah Cup

Pakistan innings (50 overs maximum)                             R   B   4  6
Imran Nazir                              b Chandana            63  61  10  1
Shahid Afridi         c Fernando         b Zoysa               14   9   0  2
+Rashid Latif         c Jayawardene      b Vaas                 0   7   0  0
Yousuf Youhana        c Fernando         b Zoysa              129 131   8  3
Inzamam-ul-Haq        run out (sub [TM Dilshan])               12  22   1  0
Younis Khan           c Atapattu         b Zoysa               66  71   3  0
Abdur Razzaq          not out                                   4   1   1  0
Wasim Akram           not out                                   0   0   0  0
Extras                (lb 3, w 2, nb 2)                         7
Total                 (6 wickets, 50 overs)                   295

DNB: *Waqar Younis, Saqlain Mushtaq, Shoaib Akhtar.

FoW: 1-25 (Shahid Afridi, 3.6 ov), 2-33 (Rashid Latif, 6.6 ov),
     3-118 (Imran Nazir, 18.3 ov), 4-136 (Inzamam-ul-Haq, 24.5 ov),
     5-291 (Younis Khan, 49.4 ov), 6-291 (Yousuf Youhana, 49.5 ov).

Bowling                      O      M      R      W
Vaas                        10      1     58      1 (1w)
Zoysa                       10      0     63      3 (1nb, 1w)
Fernando                     9      0     61      0 (1nb)
Dharmasena                   8      0     48      0
Chandana                    10      1     47      1
Jayasuriya                   3      0     15      0

Sri Lanka innings (target: 296 runs from 50 overs)              R   B   4  6
*ST Jayasuriya                       c & b Shoaib Akhtar       19  27   3  0
MS Atapattu                              b Wasim Akram          7  17   1  0
+K Sangakkara         c Rashid Latif     b Shoaib Akhtar       18  21   3  0
WPUJC Vaas            lbw                b Wasim Akram          1   4   0  0
DPMD Jayawardene                         b Waqar Younis         0   4   0  0
RP Arnold                            c & b Shoaib Akhtar       19  18   4  0
UDU Chandana          not out                                   4   8   0  0
HDPK Dharmasena       run out (Abdur Razzaq/Rashid Latif)       1   4   0  0
DNT Zoysa                                b Waqar Younis         0   1   0  0
TCB Fernando          c Rashid Latif     b Waqar Younis         0   2   0  0
M Muralitharan        absent hurt                               -
Extras                (b 1, w 3, nb 5)                          9
Total                 (all out, 16.5 overs)                    78

FoW: 1-19 (Atapattu, 4.2 ov), 2-52 (Jayasuriya, 9.3 ov),
     3-53 (Vaas, 10.3 ov), 4-53 (Sangakkara, 11.1 ov),
     5-57 (Jayawardene, 12.1 ov), 6-76 (Arnold, 15.2 ov),
     7-77 (Dharmasena, 15.6 ov), 8-78 (Zoysa, 16.3 ov),
     9-78 (Fernando, 16.5 ov).

Bowling                      O      M      R      W
Wasim Akram                  6      1     33      2 (5nb, 2w)
Waqar Younis                 6.5    0     33      3 (1w)
Shoaib Akhtar                4      0     11      3

** This is what I call a rout. Well Played Pakistan. Bhalley, Bhalley **

yeah agreed guys! I think this tournament was fantastic for Pak cricket in a historical perspective. The World Series Cup of 97 was amazing for us and this match ranks pretty highly as well IMO. The bowling seemed to be almost unplayable.

Question yaar when are you showing the replays in Eastern Time? I have got to see these replays. Anyways, thanks tonnes Question for the excellent coverage! It's been amazing fun!

thanks for the great coverage pristine!

btw hats off to Question Bhai for this amazing broadcast even though we missed the first hour of the first match but I still forgive him

and also in middle of the tornament his computer was heated resulting in zero live broadcast but again I still forgive him..just making you feel bad..

On the serious note Quesiton bhai you made my week ..this has been so much fun and its all cuz of you!!jitna bhi shukirya karoun kam hey

Ps: when are you gonna braodcast the NewZealnd tour ?

..just kiddin.

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited April 17, 2002).]

And Again… I think the man of the tournment is

Question

thanks a lot man!! you rock!!

The plus for Pakistan from this tournament was Imran Nazir and Shoaib. It would be good to see Saeed Anwar and Imran Nazir opening the innings in future.

And a big thanks to Question for the service he provided for the guppies.

ghareeb nay rozay rakhay aur din baRay ho gaye

Man, I finished work earlier to come home and watch the match on the internet and they finished the game so early.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

They won.

[This message has been edited by khan_sahib (edited April 17, 2002).]

ROTFL!

they’re playing the ‘bar barha bolo yarha’ song while showing the highlights on PrimeTV.

I hate it i missed the game again…

Pakistan won though

217 runs

[This message has been edited by tipz (edited April 17, 2002).]

Ya Tipz.. Me too…

By the way.. I think this is the longest thread ever posted on GS.. am I right??

Amazing performance once again by the PAKISTANIS. And I must congraz to Youhana great performance by him and yes also the rest of the Pakistani side.
Especially the bowlers did bowler very well today.

And a huge compliment to Imran Nazir, Man u go! We need more ppl like you. Keep the very stylish and effective shots coming!

Once again immaturity displayed by Afridi.

The big minus point for this tournament:

The field, ppl c'mon get working on that!

PAK Simply out played SRI LANKA.

“w*Hy is **It thaT* i*F* y*Ou kiLL* a Man in wa*R* y*Ou aRe a hEro,* but
if you k*Ill a maN* out*Side of **War you are callEd a murdeRer *?**”

Firs of all thank you guys for the appreciation. It was really a great tournament to watch I wish Pak would take every match like they did sharjah final.

I am willing to show the NZ touring PAK if People Champ could help me with the dishnetwork card(you know what I mean) It would be really nice. I did e-mail and msg him but he did not reply so far. So if he's willing to help I will broadcast for sure.

The reply will be played 7:00PM Eastern and 6:00PM Central.

[This message has been edited by Question (edited April 17, 2002).]

i don’t understand how can the game start at 11am and finish so early by 2 pm?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif

damn i miss it

thanx QUESTION for the replay...we'll surely be watchin as we missed the game but request to others who watched live to plz not watch in the evening....thanx

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Congrgulations. Pakistan Won

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/french.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

ScoreBoard as follows:
http://www.jang.com.pk/cricket/sharjah-cup2002/score.htm

**Pakistan has definitely kicked Lankans’ ass{/B]

Take Your Best Shot At Me

yousaf youhana has a century and beat the lankans by a large margin...yuppeee