Shahid Javed Burki on Pakistan lop sided economic growth///

Re: Shahid Javed Burki on Pakistan lop sided economic growth///

The construction industry still requires some degree of skill... You cant build skyscrapers in Pakistan for example because we simply dont have the skilled manpower to build highrise buildings.. That is why there are workers coming in from China for some projects.

The construction industry is still just one industry and doesnt in anyway offer jobs to the level that would enable a real dent in unemplyment.
Pakistan doesnt have anywhere near as many projects as Dubai for instance. And as far as I know, Indians make up a larger proportion of construction workers in the Emirates...
Also, the emirates is a far smaller place then Pakistan...

Maybe people should move to the cities... Perhaps they are fools, and they havent heard of the raging construction industry! Perhpas you should go and enlighten these Vilage Paindoos?!?
Moving to Urban areas isnt going to work in Pak... Pak is not like China where there is a mass exodus of people from the rural areas to the cities, because Pakistan simpy cant employ these many people... The construction boom is not so great as to allow vast emploment...
Despite this, people are still moving to cities... But you know as well as I do that cities like Karachi simply cant provide jobs for so many people and construction industry isnt going to do it.
Also, people know full well that going to urban centers isnt going to ensure employment. You have seen Pakistani cities for yourself, if the construction boom is sooooo efficiaent in providing jobs, why are there so many unemployed?
You also have to realize that simply moving to the urban centers isnt as easy as you imply. A poor villager cant and wont suddeny leave everything and to go to a city across the country, where he doesnt know anyone, and has no guarantee of empoyment or shelter... Perhaps if he had some certainty of finding work he might, but you know as well as I do that the construction boom hasnt really done anything to guarantee work.
Also, just because there is a job available, means competition for that job is also very high... With all the unemployment, what chance does some guy who has never worked in construction have in finding work as a construction worker?
Its not an assumption, its a fact. The villagers said that half the village that are ladless have NOT benefited from whatever has come to the village... No confusion there...
I know people in Pakistan who can afford a cell phone, but that doesnt mean that there life has improved.. They even have a tv! But they still struggle to send their kids to school, to afford feeding their families inspite of the ever increasing food prices... These people hardly save a dime and its all hand to mouth... Why do they have a cell phone? Because they need to stay in contact with their families and they dont have access to LAN lines.
The fact that cell phone prices and plans have come down drastically has helped... Having a cell phone and a tv isnt neccesarily a sign of prosperity... Read between the lines here... The VILAGER ARE SAYING THAT LIFE HASNT GOTTEN EASIER... I mean, are you saying that all these people are lying?!?!

1) workers from china coming for 'some' projects which means majority of projects are not those for which we need foriegn help
2) pakistani mazdoors have built high rise buildings all over middle east, they can do the same in Pakistan. When these ppl went to dubai they did not have some skyscraper building diploma youknow
3) everything requires some degree of skill, even farming.

..but it does create jobs..right, that was the point.

sure, so dubai has many more projects than pakistan, and it has hundreds of thousands of pakistani labourers there, and they are in smaller numbers compared to indian workers.
therefore even if Pakistan has lesser number of projects, since the ratio of pakistanoiworkers toindian workers in Pakistan is going to be 100:0 it offers a lot of employment for Pakistan.

people do, if you look at population stats for the last 50 years you will notice an urbanization trend.

so are you saying that the construction projects have been filled solely from urban workers? people do know, and domove for opportunities, if they can and they want to, have the right skills, motivation and opportunity.

our chowkidaar is from a village in NWFP, goes there a few times a year to see family, they have come up to see him as well, but he is one example of a village dude for hundreds of miles away who in in a city for work.

ithas been happening, for details please refer to Pak demographics from the 1950s and the most recent one and see the urban rural ratio and info on urbanization.

Pakistan has had in I/T boom too, why are so many ppl unemployed? skills, interest, effort?
now again, I am not saying that there is no issue, manufacturing activityneeds to pick up in Pakistan and companies need to learn how to run effectively, agriculture needs to do what is needed there etc etc, but the statemenbt was that no jobs have been created for unskilled workers (although for skilled workers its been a diff story right? hiring has gone up, ppl have even gone back from US and Uk and have found goos jobs) ..to show that some opportunities are there in construction atleast.

yes it is, they struggled back then, they struggle now, with expenses, and making ends meet, back then they struggled and had no tv or cell phone now they do, meaning they are able to afford it somehow.

Oh bhai... Read for yourself... This is a RANDOM village where people were picked at random.. Usually, that is how a survey is done.. I know the sample size is small, but if you have studied statistics, then the probablity of a given assumption, in this case that dictator Musharaf is unpopular in villages, being true, can be said to be far higher then and assumption that is base on NOTHING at all..
So if you can find people like Hussain and Shahid Imran, among others at random, odds are pretty good that others in the population share their sentiment...
This was infact one of the better villages... Imagine what they think in those villages where there is no development, as is the case in Balochistan, Sindh, NWFP and southern Punjab...

Musharafs challenege to the media was go to ANY village in Punjab and see what they think. So are you going to deny that the author did just that and found people who didnt support Musharaf?
And im just calling a spade a spade... You sound like a Musharaf supporter to me...

:hehe::hehe::hehe:

yes we are blind cos we dnt belive ‘proof’ presented by nawaz shirff and hamed gul but belive world reupted sources like i mentioned above. :hehe:

its a shame we have people like you, you have become more anti pakistan then RAW,

i advise you to stop kidding yourself, you have become the laughting stock of Gupshup.

dude quit jumping from tangent to tangent, all this started with my saying that the article did not construction industry. I respect Burki and noted that in my firstpost noting that I have no reaosn to doubt him

I have asked you nicely on several occassions to stop this mushharf supporter or wehose supporter business, its a discussion, just because I will question something does not make me anyone's supporter. the person I do support i have publically and very openly stated already.

U want to continue in this childish behavior please be my guest. if you would rather try to discuss issues then that would be nicer. your choice.

Fine, CONSTRUCTION provides jobs. But not under the circumstances in Pakistan.
1. There arent enough projects going on in Pakistan as to provide sufficient number of jobs.. Construction jobs are isolated and such jobs are not available to all..

1. Pakistani Mazdoors working in construction in Dubai have to be trained... The Burj Dubai requires a construction engineer from America to oversee construction contantly... In some cases he had to teach people from scratch... Also, most of the workers on the Burj happened to be Indians. Perhaps with time Pakistanis will be trained sufficiently to do the work themslves, but currently they cant and hence, construction on highrises will not provide very much employment...
  2. Im glad you agree... But if people arent trained for those jobs, then no, it doesnt. Infact, that may be a problem for said industry if skilled manpower cant be generated. Also, take the example of the flyover colapse in Karachi and you can imagine how unskilled some of these people are from engineering all the way down to construction...

Construction in Pakistan is FAR less then in Dubai... Yes, Construction will rpovide some jobs, but the prob is that construction is limited, it has limited ability to soak up unemployed workers, and its isolated to certain areas of the country...

Yes, I know there is an urbanization trend... Thats the case in most countries... But the fact is that unemployment is still very high and cities like Karachi simply cant cope with it all... And, despite this urbanization, there is still a large portion of people living in the rural areas, and construction isnt going to help them.
If you look at the populations in Karachi, they tend to live among their own... Korangi etc.
Pashtuns came to Karachi and settled with their own and many came with their families... It might seem simple for you, but its not simple for people to move...
You seem to think that just by moving to the cities, people will suddenly find employment.. But that not the case and people continue to live in the rural areas, and continue to be unemployed in the cities.. Construction obviously isnt enough to employ these people.

Again, urbanization has and is occuring, but also check how many of these people have found employment? How many of these people can cities support? Karachi is collapsing under its own weight... And there are still poverty ridden people living in Karachi despite it being the countries biggest city?!?! Same thing in Lahore except Lahore hasnt absorbed as many people as Karachi.

People can afford a lot of things when they HAVE too... People can afford to have kids, they can afford to have multiple children.. They struggle to send their kids to school, they can afford to feed their kids... They can even afford some luxuries like a tv... But can they save money? Probably not... Do they often have to choose between their kids tuition over some other neccesity? Do they sometimes find they cant make ends meet and have to borrow money from friends of family? Yes to both... Fact is, that the cell phone fills a need, its not so much a luxury anymore. People are still struggling! INFLATION STILL HITS THEM HARD.. They still cant afford to send their kids to best schools or colleges... I know these people, they havent really gone anywhere.

By the way, unemployment figures are under estimated by the Pak govt, and under emploment isnt even mentioned as far as I know... Underemployment is far worse then unemployment in Pakistan from what I hear.

There is no tangent... Point is straight foward... Musharaf challenge, go to the villages... When they go to the villages, this is what they find... Maybe they need a bigger sample, but when picked at random, even a village that is better of, still has a good number of people who dont support Musharaf... Im trying to keep you on the subject here...

Touchy touchy touchy... Fine, your not a dictator supporter. Happy now? But whats to challeneg in something thats so clear cut... You can be fairly certain that given a random sampling, most people will be against Musharaf, even in a Pakistani village in Punjab.

[quote="“PaKpatriot1"”]

the good thing is that there are less ppl below poverty line than there were per estimates, still a long way to go, but atleats a move in the right direction.

Did any of the articles I provided have the name of Nawaz Sharif or Hameed Gul on them?!?!?!?
Its a shame that we have people like you who are so anti Pakistan as to support a dictator who imprisons innocent people, destroys the constitution…

Laighing stock? I dont respect you or your chamcha brethern enough to care what you think.
I suggest you learn to read and offer any sort of evidence you have to support you dictator.

and i noted that in my first post, that I dont disagree with any of that. so why try to convince me of something I am not even arguing about?

my point was on the fact that jobs are created, not as many as one would like but we have to be honest.

Thank you, I simply do not like making a discussion into a personality issue, discuss points not the person. There aretoo many people on this fourm who resort to name calling or making it personal. and that serves no purpose.

Slight decrease perhaps... No where near the govts figures, which are laughable... But yeah, I will admit that there was some improvement on this account...

But when I see this improvemnt with my own eyes, and people on the steet actually begin to feel the improvement, then we can talk...
Every country where the economy has improved you can find some REAL evidence. In Pakistan, there only evidence of people improving who are already rich and have gotten richer.. The poor, have remained poor at best.

Ok, I apoligize.. Im just very passionate about the sate of the country under this two bit dictator..
My point is that jobs are created, but its not enough for Musharaf or his supporters to tout as a victory since they neglected the areas that could have truly provided some relief to the country..
Construction provides jobs goes without saying...
But Construction while it is one of those industries that has the potential, it simply doesnt employ enough people, and it isnt spread out enough to make a dent in unemployment.

i have allready given you the evidance in my first post, but you seem blind to see it.

who would you belive, a third rate chamcha or world reputed sources, or for that matter even world leading multinational companies.

shame, shame we have people who think like this,
may allah bless pakistan from them.

Burki, if you go back to his earlier wrtings, has supported Musharaf... Its only recently that he has started saying that there are problems with the economy... And he is pretty well respected in many circles.. He was after all vice President of the World Bank, and ofcourse he was former finance minister.

And its not just him, other economists, ACTUAL PEOPLE, who are educated in Economics, agree with him... People who dont have an axe to grinde with Musharaf who simply call what they see in an unbiased manner.

And this is what you said in you first post...

"Shahid Javed Burki has lost it, you can see he has put his personal problems before his country, its shame we have people like that and some posters who are ready to kiss his foot."

Where in that did you cite any kind of article or proof to back your claims?

dnt try and act smart, read my second post

Me act smart? Im to busy being the laughing stock of Gupshup to acting smart Suhaib jee...:)

Ok, so your second post was a reinterpretation, or your own spin on what Burki, the Musharaf hater, had to say...
Im not gonna paste your whole essay here... But I did go through it...
Still, what I would like is not your assesment on the article, but a challeneg to one of the conclusions that Shahid Javed Burki made.. That there are many people who have been left out of this economic bubble.
It seems you agree with me and Burki on this one, so there is nothing more to debate.

If you think Burki is wrong, then what im asking for is a credible outside source that supports your claim that all is well with the economy... You have yet to provide that...

dude can you read, i gave you the most solid proof there is availble, but you still want to belive burki.

if you think burkis buk buk is more reputed then experts such as, morgan stanly, golman sachs, meril lynch, JPmorgan, lehman brothers, etc. then you live in a dream world.

and what people are you talking about who have not benefited from then boom, the only people i can think off who have not benefted are the lazy who dnt work.
the boom has benefited everyone from the industrialist to the farmer, well atleast you have now admitted theres an economy boom. LOL

Ok yaar.. This is circular logic so where never going to reach a conclusion... I have presented my case and I can cite others to back my conclusion... I feel sorry for you.. Anyone who doesnt prescribe to your view is just engaging in "buk buk." I honestly think that person who has been both finance minister and World Bank vice president is in a better postion to asses the Pa economy then you.
The economy has boomed, Morgan Stanley will attest to that, but thats not the point. The point is that the boom has been isolated to certain groups and certain areas... And its obvious for everyone to see that the economic boom has increased not decreased the economic desparity...
If you refuse to see the ground realities, wll thats your perogative... But there many qualified economists and analysts who wouldnt agree with you...
I for one wish Pak all the best, I even hope that im wrong.. But reality is reality, and that is that Musharaf has NOT chaned the lives of the farmer or the poor in general. Denial is a dead end street buddy.

As for who hasnt benefited... Lets see... Since much of the development has been isolated to Punjab and some Urban centers, I would say that most of Balochistan, most villages in Punjab, Sindh and NWFP...
Others who havent benefited include those in the lower middle class who have to cope with rising inflation, expense of running a family etc... You sound like one of those people who's relatives all live in Islamabad of DHA and have no connection or understanding how anyone outside the walls of the DHA struggle. My family isnt rich, and many struggle despite having jobs. Many times, if we didnt send home money ourselves, they would have a hard time making ends meet.
Anyways, im done argueing with you... Lets let the card fall where they will and see who was right...

^^ the good thing you are acceptng the economical boom in certain areas. Thats a major thing. Welcome to club..... :D

PP! These days GS PA threads are suffering from shortage of contributors. If you will take these things personally and call people name. There will be no one to post counter arguments! To aap apnay dil ki bharas kahan nilogay!

"shame, shame we have people who think like this,
may allah bless pakistan from them"